BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
BPM Sport
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-05-2009, 08:30 AM   #23
dogears
My master volume goes to 11
dogears's Avatar
8
Rep
424
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Space Gray M3 Sedan M-DCT
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ

iTrader: (0)

Good enough...... Case closed.

I was just itching to post that really cool looking close up picture.

Btw, I saw a dude in Philly with a red E46 with your supercharger kit. Methanol injection in trunk. It was badass!! Good stuff.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Active Autowerke View Post
It is an isolated issue that happened with one batch of belts. We have sold over 550 kits so when 15-20 have an issue it is considered isolated. I apologize for the inconvenience this caused you and I appreciate your patience as well as the OP's.
__________________
2009 Space Gray Carbon Leather E90 with DCT, Tech package, and EPS. Mods: Fabspeed 200 cell cats, Xpipe w/resonators and no secondary cats, BPM tune, Euro DCT software, Eisenmann Sport Mufflers, Vorsteiner Rear Diffuser II, SWS8 subs, JL Audio XD400 bridged 2X200W, built in radar
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2009, 06:40 AM   #24
mixja
Captain
United_States
19
Rep
783
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E90 DCT Silverstone
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Beverly Hils, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Active Autowerke View Post
Just replied to your email Justin. I will send one via UPS since apparently USPS lost it. Sorry for the trouble and thanks for your patience.
Thanks - these things happen, can't wait to get the pulley kit back on...
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2009, 07:10 AM   #25
tem0618
Private First Class
1
Rep
153
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philippines

iTrader: (4)

How do we identitfy if we need to have the belt that was shipped to us replaced? I ordered mine thru Jlevi last Feb 27?
__________________

CF hood, CF Trunk, Supersprint Exhaust (x-pipes/mufflers) Active Autowerke pulley, Active Autowerke SSK, Brembo BBK, DPE S-10
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2009, 06:58 PM   #26
SV Concepts III
Lieutenant General
262
Rep
17,021
Posts

 
Drives: BMW Duh
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Clara

iTrader: (13)

Send a message via AIM to SV Concepts III
Hi Artemis,

I will confirm with AA if you need a new belt.
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2009, 10:47 PM   #27
wolftrouble
Private First Class
6
Rep
148
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3 Sedan
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Jose, CA

iTrader: (0)

Just to close out the original topic of the thread, roommate overnighted me the belt, and a couple hours in my buddy's garage (and a blood sacrifice or two) got me back up and running again.

The new belt seems shorter (could just be my perception) and was a huge bitch to get slotted into place, but then, we weren't using what I'd call top-notch tools. Thanks again to AA for the replacement.

One aside though (and if I don't get a repsonse on this thread I'll PM): It was mentioned that this belt isn't something one can just go into an auto parts store and buy. Why not? Where CAN I buy one? Even if the old one hadn't failed, I don't like the idea of being without my M for a few days if I have a belt problem, and it sounds like, were I to lose either the belt for any reason, I have no recourse but buying a new one off AA (and waiting for it to get shipped/arrive).
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2009, 12:45 AM   #28
SV Concepts III
Lieutenant General
262
Rep
17,021
Posts

 
Drives: BMW Duh
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Clara

iTrader: (13)

Send a message via AIM to SV Concepts III
Artemis,

This only effects post 06/08 vehicles so your 11/07 car does not need a new belt.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2009, 08:28 AM   #29
dogears
My master volume goes to 11
dogears's Avatar
8
Rep
424
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Space Gray M3 Sedan M-DCT
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ

iTrader: (0)

We noticed the same thing. My mechanic, who btw runs a 6 six second 3500HP twin turboed truck, felt that the old belt was probably heating up due to some mild slippage. The new belt definately seemed short when held up and directly compared. It also was a little tighter during install.

Glad it is all working. Big relief...eh??


Quote:
Originally Posted by wolftrouble View Post
The new belt seems shorter (could just be my perception) and was a huge bitch to get slotted into place, but then, we weren't using what I'd call top-notch tools. Thanks again to AA for the replacement.
__________________
2009 Space Gray Carbon Leather E90 with DCT, Tech package, and EPS. Mods: Fabspeed 200 cell cats, Xpipe w/resonators and no secondary cats, BPM tune, Euro DCT software, Eisenmann Sport Mufflers, Vorsteiner Rear Diffuser II, SWS8 subs, JL Audio XD400 bridged 2X200W, built in radar
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2009, 09:13 AM   #30
tem0618
Private First Class
1
Rep
153
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philippines

iTrader: (4)

Nick, thanks for the quick response. That's great service!!!!
__________________

CF hood, CF Trunk, Supersprint Exhaust (x-pipes/mufflers) Active Autowerke pulley, Active Autowerke SSK, Brembo BBK, DPE S-10
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2009, 10:59 PM   #31
wolftrouble
Private First Class
6
Rep
148
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3 Sedan
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Jose, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dogears View Post
We noticed the same thing. My mechanic, who btw runs a 6 six second 3500HP twin turboed truck, felt that the old belt was probably heating up due to some mild slippage. The new belt definately seemed short when held up and directly compared. It also was a little tighter during install.

Glad it is all working. Big relief...eh??
No doubt. Just got home (~350 miles return trip) and the new belt held up just fine. Checked it for wear spots/fraying/etc. and looks like it's all good! Whew!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2009, 02:20 AM   #32
hondatrix
Enlisted Member
hondatrix's Avatar
South Africa
1
Rep
35
Posts

 
Drives: E30 , Civic, YRV.
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Africa

iTrader: (0)

Glad you got sorted, what Brand was the new belt, if I may ask.
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2009, 08:35 AM   #33
Omar@ActiveAutowerke
74
Rep
1,783
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miami

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolftrouble View Post
Just to close out the original topic of the thread, roommate overnighted me the belt, and a couple hours in my buddy's garage (and a blood sacrifice or two) got me back up and running again.

The new belt seems shorter (could just be my perception) and was a huge bitch to get slotted into place, but then, we weren't using what I'd call top-notch tools. Thanks again to AA for the replacement.

One aside though (and if I don't get a repsonse on this thread I'll PM): It was mentioned that this belt isn't something one can just go into an auto parts store and buy. Why not? Where CAN I buy one? Even if the old one hadn't failed, I don't like the idea of being without my M for a few days if I have a belt problem, and it sounds like, were I to lose either the belt for any reason, I have no recourse but buying a new one off AA (and waiting for it to get shipped/arrive).
Spare belts are available through AA.
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2009, 12:49 PM   #34
wolftrouble
Private First Class
6
Rep
148
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3 Sedan
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Jose, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Active Autowerke View Post
Spare belts are available through AA.
Oof. Ok, thanks for the heads-up... How do I buy one? Can I just PM you and get a quote? I don't see it for sale on your site...

And although I don't want to sound whiny, this does sound like... I dunno, something you should probably call out in your literature, or something. "If you buy this, you will have an AC/PS belt you will not be able to buy from an auto parts store, nor BMW, nor anywhere else but from us."

I consider belts to be almost-consumables, and it's a little scary to think that the installation of this pulley essentially makes my AC/PS replacement belt only available from a single source (at least for now?).
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2009, 01:57 PM   #35
Ben335
Captain
Ben335's Avatar
12
Rep
891
Posts

 
Drives: 09 M3 Finally here
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (2)

I just received my pulley set last week. How do I know if I got the new or old belt. In the box, there were 2 belts.
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2009, 02:45 PM   #36
Ben335
Captain
Ben335's Avatar
12
Rep
891
Posts

 
Drives: 09 M3 Finally here
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (2)

Can no one from AA answer my post from above?
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2009, 02:55 PM   #37
dogears
My master volume goes to 11
dogears's Avatar
8
Rep
424
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Space Gray M3 Sedan M-DCT
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ

iTrader: (0)

Ben, call AA. Although it may seem like I am unhappy with them, I am not. They have consistantly demonstrated superlative customer support. The belt issue was an unfortunate occurance. Call them....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben335 View Post
Can no one from AA answer my post from above?
__________________
2009 Space Gray Carbon Leather E90 with DCT, Tech package, and EPS. Mods: Fabspeed 200 cell cats, Xpipe w/resonators and no secondary cats, BPM tune, Euro DCT software, Eisenmann Sport Mufflers, Vorsteiner Rear Diffuser II, SWS8 subs, JL Audio XD400 bridged 2X200W, built in radar
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2009, 08:31 PM   #38
mvagusta
Lieutenant
4
Rep
475
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 m3 coup
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: michigan

iTrader: (1)

I have a 2008 m3 feb 2008 built. I put the two belts on. After I was done when I turn the steering wheel all the way to the right or left it slips. Now it doesn't do it. I noticed during hard launch when I'm shifting to 2nd it slips a little. Is my belt wrong or is it like that? It felt it had slack on it when i installed it. The other belt took two guys to put on.

Should i get some belt dressing and spray it? I don't want to do it again.
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2009, 12:20 AM   #39
BMWM.D.
Stupid Idiot
BMWM.D.'s Avatar
8
Rep
687
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i & C6 Grand Sport
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Santa Barbara

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mvagusta View Post
I have a 2008 m3 feb 2008 built. I put the two belts on. After I was done when I turn the steering wheel all the way to the right or left it slips. Now it doesn't do it. I noticed during hard launch when I'm shifting to 2nd it slips a little. Is my belt wrong or is it like that? It felt it had slack on it when i installed it. The other belt took two guys to put on.

Should i get some belt dressing and spray it? I don't want to do it again.

I would not recommend using any belt dressing. I would suggest calling AA for help on this one.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2009, 12:24 AM   #40
mvagusta
Lieutenant
4
Rep
475
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 m3 coup
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: michigan

iTrader: (1)

Thay repleyed so fast. Thay said I need to check install. I'll see tomorrow and call them
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2009, 01:24 AM   #41
Kev
Resident Anesthesiologist
Kev's Avatar
Hong Kong
180
Rep
8,815
Posts

 
Drives: VW bug with a misplaced engine
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (24)

Garage List
Apparently I missed my replacement belt. They sent it to my old address in Boston. The new one is on the way to Seattle.
__________________
kev { divinum est sedate dolorem }
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2009, 07:53 AM   #42
armyav8tor
n1smo
armyav8tor's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
1,447
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North Carolina

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kev View Post
Apparently I missed my replacement belt. They sent it to my old address in Boston. The new one is on the way to Seattle.
+1, mine was sent to Germany. Would have been nice to have received an email regarding the replacement belt so I could tell them I've moved. But new belt will be here tomorrow, I'll throw the pulley back in this weekend
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2009, 08:22 AM   #43
Omar@ActiveAutowerke
74
Rep
1,783
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miami

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mvagusta View Post
I have a 2008 m3 feb 2008 built. I put the two belts on. After I was done when I turn the steering wheel all the way to the right or left it slips. Now it doesn't do it. I noticed during hard launch when I'm shifting to 2nd it slips a little. Is my belt wrong or is it like that? It felt it had slack on it when i installed it. The other belt took two guys to put on.

Should i get some belt dressing and spray it? I don't want to do it again.
This is probably a routing issue. Call us when you get a chance. You can also double check here.

http://www.activeautowerke.com/insta...%20routing.jpg
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2009, 08:30 AM   #44
Omar@ActiveAutowerke
74
Rep
1,783
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miami

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben335 View Post
I just received my pulley set last week. How do I know if I got the new or old belt. In the box, there were 2 belts.
Sorry for the late response. Your belt is correct. For quickest response please call us.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST