BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques
 
GT Haus
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-10-2009, 12:34 PM   #1
wolftrouble
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 M3 Sedan
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 148
iTrader: (0)

Track pre-launch checklist

I was wondering if anyone else had a checklist (real or mental) they go through when tracking their M. Part of this is also my curiosity about whether I can 'pre-set' any of these things (some I know you can't, like the M button). Usually just before I head to the grid I do/check:
  • M-Mode activated (EDC to stiffest, Power mode on)
  • DSC off
  • iDrive display off
  • E-brake fully off (yes, I know it warns you, but I always check)
  • Seatbelt tight (I have a CG-Lock, so cinch down really hard on it at this point)
  • Center console info display off (I used to keep this on velocity, in addition to the regular speedo, but realized it updates too slowly to be accurate under hard driving)
  • Gas level ok
  • Temperature ok (this is as much to check if it's too cold as too hot, since redline won't be where I expect if it's chilly)
  • Mirrors aligned properly
  • One last glance at the floor to make sure nothing fell down there, just in case.
  • Pedals work as expected (feel like they have the right weight, not too stiff or too soft, etc.)
  • Cycle through 1-6 with clutch depressed, making sure action is smooth.

Note this is the 'sitting in the car' checklist, other tech stuff (tire pressure most importantly) isn't what I'm talking about here and should be done before getting on the grid.
__________________
wolftrouble is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-10-2009, 01:01 PM   #2
lucid
Major General
 
lucid's Avatar
 
Drives: E30 M3; Expedition
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA

Posts: 8,034
iTrader: (0)

Nice checklist.

I use the "normal" throttle setting on the track. Gives me more control over the throttle input coming out of turns.

I also:

1. double-check to see that the wheels are still properly torqued (88 ft lbs)
2. double-check tire pressure
3. visually inspect brake pad thickness
__________________
lucid is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2009, 10:06 PM   #3
Dascamel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Dascamel's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 e92 M3, 2010 e91 328i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bakersfield, CA

Posts: 1,662
iTrader: (0)

Why turn the i-drive screen off?
__________________
2008 E92 M3 Jerez Black,DCT,Fox Red ext,Prem,Tech,19", ipod/usb, CF roof and trim
2010 E91 328i Space Gray,Black int, M sport, most options
2007 Montego Blue 335i (retired)
Dascamel is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-12-2009, 08:10 AM   #4
V1.47fan
Major
 
V1.47fan's Avatar
 
Drives: Bay M Vee
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NATIONWIDE

Posts: 1,110
iTrader: (0)

Power,DSC Off (non tech pack car). Throttle control is very hard to achieve with the Power button on.

At least half a tank of gas to help with traction...for a car with a low torque engine it's surprisingly easy to break traction with the Power On.
__________________
V1.47fan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-12-2009, 04:40 PM   #5
lugnut
First Lieutenant
 
lugnut's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E92 M3 Space/Fox
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Springfield, NJ

Posts: 344
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dascamel View Post
Why turn the i-drive screen off?
On a track it serves no purpose, except as a possible distraction.
__________________
12 E70 X5d Black Saphire/ Tobacco
08 E92 M3 SG/Fox Red Gintani Race, RG63
09 E90 335xi Crimson/Saddle 02 E46 M3 Cab Imola/Black (Sold-RIP)97 E36 Z3 1.9 Atlanta Blue/Tan (Sold)
lugnut is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 11:40 PM   #6
wolftrouble
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 M3 Sedan
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 148
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lugnut View Post
On a track it serves no purpose, except as a possible distraction.
Exactly. There's nothing there that has information you need to see on the track, all it can do is distract you.

Similar reason why I set the center LCD console to nothing: I used to have it on velocity, but the sample rate is too low. I realized I was glancing at it rather than the speedo coming into turns, and when accelerating/braking hard the speed shown may be the speed you were going a second ago. If I'm going to into a turn and I have a specific attack speed in mind I need to know the speed I'm going, not the speed I WAS going a second ago.
__________________
wolftrouble is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST