BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-05-2009, 02:12 PM   #1
2fast0
Private
6
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: 09 M3 Coup AW
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: STL, MO

iTrader: (0)

Trying to add an AMP and two Subs

I have the standard audio in my coupe. can someone tell me where the factory amp is located for me to tap into to use high level inputs on my amp?

and where the battery is located....I'm so lost with this car. my first german car. always had japanese cars before.

and i'll try searching, but can someone send me a link to the wiring diagram for the amp and show me which wire can be tapped for remote turn on.

Thanks so much
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2009, 02:25 PM   #2
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
172
Rep
11,192
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fast0 View Post
I have the standard audio in my coupe. can someone tell me where the factory amp is located for me to tap into to use high level inputs on my amp?

and where the battery is located....I'm so lost with this car. my first german car. always had japanese cars before.

and i'll try searching, but can someone send me a link to the wiring diagram for the amp and show me which wire can be tapped for remote turn on.

Thanks so much
Your system is HiFi...
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138949
http://www.fdebrus.be/car/hifi.jpg


Amp is on the left side of the trunk under the plastic lid, the battery is on the right side under the tool kit.
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2009, 03:24 PM   #3
2fast0
Private
6
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: 09 M3 Coup AW
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: STL, MO

iTrader: (0)

wow thank you!! that's so clear. I guess the good thing about battery in rear is that I dont have to run 15ft of power cable and drill through the firewall. sweet.

um, I didnt see a remote wire in that post. any ideas for that?
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2009, 05:03 PM   #4
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
172
Rep
11,192
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fast0 View Post
wow thank you!! that's so clear. I guess the good thing about battery in rear is that I dont have to run 15ft of power cable and drill through the firewall. sweet.

um, I didnt see a remote wire in that post. any ideas for that?
... it is the thin black wire in the OEM amp connector...
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2009, 06:46 PM   #5
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
130
Rep
6,481
Posts

 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
so its as easy as tapping into the remote wire, speaker wires and power from the battery and ground?
no having to deal with error messages etc?
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2009, 07:32 PM   #6
808MGuy
Colonel
808MGuy's Avatar
49
Rep
2,287
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarei View Post
so its as easy as tapping into the remote wire, speaker wires and power from the battery and ground?
no having to deal with error messages etc?
Since we're talking about the hi-fi system and not the premium system, I would lean towards tapping the line level signal before the amp instead of the speaker level signal after the amp.
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

Appreciate 0
      04-05-2009, 07:47 PM   #7
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
172
Rep
11,192
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 808MGuy View Post
Since we're talking about the hi-fi system and not the premium system, I would lean towards tapping the line level signal before the amp instead of the speaker level signal after the amp.
The problem with that is that a specific differential input amp/line output converter will be required, something that drastically reduces the variety of possible aftermarket components to achieve this simple sub add-on.
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2009, 10:01 PM   #8
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
130
Rep
6,481
Posts

 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
that's what i meant
to unplug the connector going to the amp
and tapping into that
thereby bypassing the amp alltogether
not just for the subs
but for front and rear speakers
can't i take the input wires going to the amp into RCAs?
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2009, 10:31 PM   #9
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
172
Rep
11,192
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarei View Post
that's what i meant
to unplug the connector going to the amp
and tapping into that
thereby bypassing the amp alltogether
not just for the subs
but for front and rear speakers
can't i take the input wires going to the amp into RCAs?
You might want to start your own thread, as the OP only wants to add a sub to his system. What you want is to replace the OEM amp...
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2009, 11:08 PM   #10
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
130
Rep
6,481
Posts

 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
oh
i only the read the part about adding an amp and i clicked the thread
sorry OP
didn't mean to side track your thread
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2009, 06:48 AM   #11
mikewads
Lieutenant
mikewads's Avatar
22
Rep
470
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 M3 Coupe DCT
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarei View Post
oh
i only the read the part about adding an amp and i clicked the thread
sorry OP
didn't mean to side track your thread
Please start a new thread. I am also interested in bypassing the amp.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2009, 06:39 PM   #12
2fast0
Private
6
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: 09 M3 Coup AW
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: STL, MO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
... it is the thin black wire in the OEM amp connector...
If I just tap the thin black wire for remote turn on, those color coded speaker wires for my high level input to my amp, ground to the body of the car and power cables to the battery, will I set off any error msgs or mess with the electronics of this car?

anyone with the above set up had any problems with electronics malfunctioning and maybe bad bass quality with this set up?
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2009, 06:42 PM   #13
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
172
Rep
11,192
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2fast0 View Post
If I just tap the thin black wire for remote turn on, those color coded speaker wires for my high level input to my amp, ground to the body of the car and power cables to the battery, will I set off any error msgs or mess with the electronics of this car?

anyone with the above set up had any problems with electronics malfunctioning and maybe bad bass quality with this set up?
No.

You might use a fuse/relay with the remote turn on wire for protection, though.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2009, 08:39 PM   #14
2fast0
Private
6
Rep
83
Posts

 
Drives: 09 M3 Coup AW
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: STL, MO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
No.

You might use a fuse/relay with the remote turn on wire for protection, though.
what's the function of that
i mean i'll have a fuse for the power cable, close to the battery
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST