BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > DIY Guides/ Discussions
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-02-2014, 04:46 PM   #1
bonb
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: Looking for an E9X
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

DIY hardwire Escort 9500XI to E9X fuse box. (Same as my dash cam)

A lot people still asking for Escort harwire DIY even you can just use the V1 post anyways. I will post a escort 9500xi DIY here. Please do this at your own risk!!! There are good posts you can look up and follow them as well. Also, you will need less tools and easier step than some of the V1 DIYs. (no wire need to be cut). By post some of the steps from other posts, I will write them here in detail, so you don't have to jump around the post to get lost.

PS, Sorry for the phone pics and lazy work pic's mark with paint tool. lol. Should of done Photoshop

1. Shut off your car completely and remove the key from slot. Just encase if you turn on the car while install the wire and may burn some fuses or wires. That can cost you dont know how much money but you know how our M is lol.

2. Get your tools ready, I will use whatever I have but if you can get better tools, don't follow my lead.

Small flat screw driver
clamp
hardwire set from escort.
T-30 and T-22 (If I got it right.) Torx Wrench
3 amp fuse and fuse tap. (Make sure you get the ATM one, not the big one)

3. Set your tools and hardwire and double check with safety then you can start. Here is the hard wire set and fuse/tap. You can buy them from AutoZone or radio shack.

Name:  10414382_10100954620360501_4561054364123834585_n.jpg
Views: 570
Size:  47.0 KB

Name:  10404200_10100954620335551_4746183814495336457_n.jpg
Views: 559
Size:  130.4 KB

Name:  10438314_10100954619976271_2951421528212178294_n.jpg
Views: 552
Size:  136.4 KB

4. Tap the fuse into the fuse tap and put the wire connector on to the fuse tap.(Clamp it on the little blue connector comes with escort hardwire package) This will connect your power (+) wire from radar to the car fuse box. I pick the connector in the middle of the fuse tap wire, because in the future if I need to do something to it I can still use it or tape it.

Name:  1375887_10100954620275671_1981063903126094338_n.jpg
Views: 522
Size:  92.3 KB

Name:  10371735_10100954620210801_94401289427465647_n.jpg
Views: 521
Size:  129.6 KB

Do not remove the fuse that comes with the package!!!

Name:  10373619_10100954620315591_5904013956801408838_n.jpg
Views: 529
Size:  109.4 KB

5. Open the glove box and locate the fuse box behind it. (Turn the two locks in red mark) You should see the fuse box behind it. On the side of the fuse box, there is a bolt, you can mount the ground wire on there. I believe most of us did. (show in pic)

Once you are here, before anything else you want to mount the ground on first!!!


Name:  10334355_10100954620135951_4924655098757522088_n.jpg
Views: 520
Size:  167.8 KB

Name:  10401935_10100954620036151_5066948663227965291_n.jpg
Views: 640
Size:  107.6 KB

Name:  10380303_10100954620006211_7066219285017158111_n.jpg
Views: 531
Size:  52.7 KB


6. Open the fuse box and you can find a fuse map. Match the fuse number 5 (I know E9X M3 has this one empty but other bmws not sure. Assume if not used, then they are running on the same circuit)

Name:  10389014_10100954620096031_9094403856379315766_n.jpg
Views: 583
Size:  132.6 KB

Name:  10423714_10100954620076071_7578585032381543975_n.jpg
Views: 555
Size:  136.1 KB

Plug the fuse tap in to #5 and connect the phone cable to your radar to test if is working. (Of course, turn on your car, and you should push the start engine button twice to active all electrical parts in the car.)

7. Hide and run the wire. I will keep this step easy. Please follow up the pics and you should find a good place to put the button. The phone cable is not as long, you need to find a good place to stick it. I will show it on pic.

Tug the wire by the door seal with Small flat screw driver. Make sure don't poke the wire or the door seal hard. Should be an easy tug in.

Run around windshield, you can feel there is a little gap between the windshield and roof line, tug it in and run the wire until the position you want to put your radar on.

Leave little extra wire out at the side airbag location.

Open the Airbag clip (Small flat screw driver), release the bolt. then tug the wire in.

Name:  1798844_10100954619826571_878792789506408504_n.jpg
Views: 522
Size:  188.5 KB

Name:  10350436_10100954619716791_3031260361416253654_n.jpg
Views: 521
Size:  39.3 KB

Name:  10414648_10100954619582061_6416905997635602359_n.jpg
Views: 512
Size:  110.1 KB

Name:  10338341_10100954619751721_3159571670502834709_n.jpg
Views: 511
Size:  53.2 KB

Name:  10372801_10100954619616991_3642410607604954060_n.jpg
Views: 511
Size:  63.6 KB

8. Run the button:

Name:  10441132_10100954619881461_295847330536641557_n.jpg
Views: 516
Size:  106.0 KB

Name:  10441386_10100954619671881_4731320109515348804_n.jpg
Views: 515
Size:  41.9 KB

9. Remove center console if needed/wanted.

Pulled hand break on if need. Use Small flat screw driver on the end side of the center console (by e-brake), slowly lift it and make sure you are not cracking or poke in to something to leave a hard scratch mark. Then use hands gentally lift the piece, remember don't strip any wire or connector if you have iDrive.

Name:  10440660_10100954619547131_6976160747903239814_n.jpg
Views: 516
Size:  57.7 KB

Name:  10366194_10100954619502221_1082993913293215029_n.jpg
Views: 514
Size:  93.8 KB

Name:  10407009_10100954619327571_5637839469137900642_n.jpg
Views: 519
Size:  86.6 KB

Name:  10169335_10100954619447331_7842373025916639287_n.jpg
Views: 521
Size:  124.4 KB

After center console removed or opened, you can run your wire around to see which location is the best. I found a location that's by the driver side, also I would have enough space to open the ash-tray. Stick the button on, I am good to go! Also, congrats if you finished the good job!

Name:  10376834_10100954619217791_4010389851525969996_n.jpg
Views: 526
Size:  52.7 KB

Name:  10269381_10100954619182861_2535796021541263676_n.jpg
Views: 535
Size:  86.1 KB

Name:  10437433_10100954619801621_3393912403457757129_n.jpg
Views: 523
Size:  52.9 KB

If you are interest on install the dash cam, you will need the same tools and same steps. I will post a easy dash cam one up with this post included. (So, I don's have to type so many words again. Lazy a$$ me.)

Last edited by bonb; 07-02-2014 at 03:35 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2014, 04:50 PM   #2
bonb
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: Looking for an E9X
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

I will try to see if I can post bigger pics, somehow tried few times it did not work. Sorry about this. and good luck guys!
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2014, 07:31 PM   #3
bonb
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: Looking for an E9X
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Pics fixed if you have any questions feel free to ask!
Appreciate 0
      07-13-2014, 12:58 PM   #4
m3dp
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 e90
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Awesome guide!

I'm very interested in mounting my passport, but don't have a lot of experience DIYing.

You made this set up look fairly painless - would you recommend trying this as opposed to looking for a professional?

I also have DCT so I suppose that will complicate things in the center console
Appreciate 0
      07-13-2014, 10:32 PM   #5
bonb
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: Looking for an E9X
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dp View Post
Awesome guide!

I'm very interested in mounting my passport, but don't have a lot of experience DIYing.

You made this set up look fairly painless - would you recommend trying this as opposed to looking for a professional?

I also have DCT so I suppose that will complicate things in the center console
It is really easy and just follow the steps. This is my first hard wire DIY and I help couple friends already. For DCT, I think it should not be hard as you think. Plus I just run the wire at the end of it (Between gaps). You should be good without remove the center console anyways.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2014, 10:05 AM   #6
m3dp
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 e90
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Ended up using your guide to hardwire my 9500ix this past weekend.

End result is looking pretty fantastic and as you said, it was very easy!
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2014, 01:24 AM   #7
bonb
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: Looking for an E9X
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dp View Post
Ended up using your guide to hardwire my 9500ix this past weekend.

End result is looking pretty fantastic and as you said, it was very easy!
Good to hear. Enjoy the ride!
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2014, 05:29 PM   #8
Flying Ace
Captain
Flying Ace's Avatar
30
Rep
950
Posts

 
Drives: Sopwith M-Camel, E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: San Francisco, CA

iTrader: (3)

so this process will allow you to run a seemless wire so you don't always have it plugged into your cigarette lighter?
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2014, 10:27 AM   #9
rgoose18
First Lieutenant
rgoose18's Avatar
7
Rep
302
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 Audi RS 4
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (1)

Anybody have any other ideas for a stealth location of the mute button with DCT?

Excellent walk-through btw, just don't want the mute button in plain sight
__________________
2008 Audi RS4 Daytona Grey - Daily
2009 BMW M3 AW
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2014, 03:25 PM   #10
bonb
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: Looking for an E9X
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying Ace View Post
so this process will allow you to run a seemless wire so you don't always have it plugged into your cigarette lighter?
Yes and it is better than wire into the sunroof unit (If you have a sunroof).
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2014, 03:27 PM   #11
bonb
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: Looking for an E9X
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgoose18 View Post
Anybody have any other ideas for a stealth location of the mute button with DCT?

Excellent walk-through btw, just don't want the mute button in plain sight
Where are you thinking of putting it? There are few locations and some extra work for it. I did not want to make any holes on the dash or center console, otherwise, I would put it somewhere more hidden as well.
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2014, 10:16 AM   #12
Villanofun
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
217
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E92 ///M3
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Is it proper to use the same #5 fuse location for a dash cam? I want to make sure the motion detection will function.

I purchased a HP F210 but unfortunately it did not come with a hard wire kit.
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2014, 11:27 PM   #13
ZooMMM
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
226
Posts

 
Drives: Black/black E93 M
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (1)

Already hardwired for radar detector. Now where should I go to hardwire dash cam???
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2014, 02:43 PM   #14
bonb
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: Looking for an E9X
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Villanofun View Post
Is it proper to use the same #5 fuse location for a dash cam? I want to make sure the motion detection will function.

I purchased a HP F210 but unfortunately it did not come with a hard wire kit.
I just have a cheap dash cam. I think by tapping into the same slut works. For me, I had to wire the plug into the fuse box due to there has circuit board inside of the 12v plug. I will get some pics and step posted.

For the motion detection, I am not clear on which one your are saying. If is just a function comes with the dash cam, I think it will still working. If you can be more clear on that I might be able to see if I can help.
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2014, 02:46 PM   #15
bonb
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: Looking for an E9X
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZooMMM View Post
Already hardwired for radar detector. Now where should I go to hardwire dash cam???
You can do tap in. That's what I did. However, if you don's feel save to do so, you can always run a 3-5 amp fuse to any other lower voltage port (I do not recommend to use any port that fuse is bigger than 10 amp). Just make sure you have a fuse tap into the power wire for safety.
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2014, 02:47 PM   #16
bonb
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: Looking for an E9X
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

For more update, I might go for GoPro as dash cam, which might waste the use of it but it is so clear and I can unplug it to use somewhere else.
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2014, 10:17 PM   #17
Villanofun
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
217
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E92 ///M3
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonb View Post
I just have a cheap dash cam. I think by tapping into the same slut works. For me, I had to wire the plug into the fuse box due to there has circuit board inside of the 12v plug. I will get some pics and step posted.

For the motion detection, I am not clear on which one your are saying. If is just a function comes with the dash cam, I think it will still working. If you can be more clear on that I might be able to see if I can help.
I guess my real question was whether that fuse is "hot in start." I was thinking that the motion detection would require continuous power; however, the camera may have a battery for that. I cannot really find information about the function specific to the HP F210.

I also want to know whether I can splice and solder the power cable myself to add in a fuse tap. Some websites offer a kit for this with what looks like some form of power converter (https://thedashcamstore.com/product_...ni-fuse-5v.jpg) but I would like to avoid paying for that.

Last, I assume that all the fuses are ATO fuses?
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2014, 02:49 PM   #18
bonb
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
44
Posts

 
Drives: Looking for an E9X
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Villanofun View Post
I guess my real question was whether that fuse is "hot in start." I was thinking that the motion detection would require continuous power; however, the camera may have a battery for that. I cannot really find information about the function specific to the HP F210.

I also want to know whether I can splice and solder the power cable myself to add in a fuse tap. Some websites offer a kit for this with what looks like some form of power converter (https://thedashcamstore.com/product_...ni-fuse-5v.jpg) but I would like to avoid paying for that.

Last, I assume that all the fuses are ATO fuses?
I would love to pay for the kit, depends on how much. Basically, it does the same thing as you run the wire yourself. Also, some of the 12V plug has circuit board in, so make sure you check that. To answer your "hot start" question, they are the same as your detector, so you dont have to worry too much on that and just make sure you tap into the right fuse. Otherwise, good luck and if you can find more info to help you that would be better.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST