BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-02-2009, 11:49 PM   #1
Splinter4784
414 little horsies
 
Splinter4784's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Beverly Hills

Posts: 407
iTrader: (2)

Oil Level

My Oil has been very low for the past 100 miles and i have not had time to take it to the dealer, is this bad for the car

How many miles until it damages the engine?
__________________
Race Precision Inc
Splinter4784 is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 12:29 AM   #2
psuwcc112
Lieutenant
 
psuwcc112's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 SSII M3 coupe
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: North CA

Posts: 440
iTrader: (3)

How low, is it lower the minimum of the oil indicator? Has the oil low warning light came on?
__________________
psuwcc112 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 12:33 AM   #3
///MWorld
Second Lieutenant
 
///MWorld's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E92 M3 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: L.A.

Posts: 295
iTrader: (0)

Add a liter yourself!!! Takes no time at all! Cmon now.
///MWorld is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 01:08 AM   #4
FStop7
I like cars
 
FStop7's Avatar
 
Drives: M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newbury Park, CA

Posts: 5,059
iTrader: (3)

Just go to BH BMW and get a bottle of oil
__________________
FStop7 is offline   Vatican City State
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 01:14 AM   #5
Splinter4784
414 little horsies
 
Splinter4784's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Beverly Hills

Posts: 407
iTrader: (2)

do i have to empty the oil pan out or sumthin

im a NOOB at this lol

how do i put the oil in?
__________________
Race Precision Inc
Splinter4784 is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 02:03 AM   #6
spyderco10
Colonel
 
spyderco10's Avatar
 
Drives: AW E92 M3 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI

Posts: 2,425
iTrader: (0)

you'll know it's bad when the engine freezes
__________________
For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.
- John 3:16
spyderco10 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 02:40 AM   #7
lincoln
Lieutenant
 
lincoln's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 Melbourne Red Coupe - DCT
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle (Puyallup)

Posts: 433
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Splinter4784 View Post
do i have to empty the oil pan out or sumthin

im a NOOB at this lol

how do i put the oil in?
Maybe you shouldn't have flipped off the crackhead... I bet he could of told you where to put the oil in.

1) Pull hood release
2) Open hood
3) Open oil cap (says OIL)
4) Pour oil
5) Close cap
6) Close hood
__________________
2009 Melbourne Red DCT | Black Interior | Carbon Fiber Trim | Carbon Fiber Roof | Cold Weather | Premium | Technology | 19's | Smartphone Integration | iPod |
lincoln is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 02:50 AM   #8
Splinter4784
414 little horsies
 
Splinter4784's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Beverly Hills

Posts: 407
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lincoln View Post
Maybe you shouldn't have flipped off the crackhead... I bet he could of told you where to put the oil in.

1) Pull hood release
2) Open hood
3) Open oil cap (says OIL)
4) Pour oil
5) Close cap
6) Close hood

that story of mine must have really broken ur heart since its been like more than a month since i posted that
__________________
Race Precision Inc
Splinter4784 is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 10:01 AM   #9
FStop7
I like cars
 
FStop7's Avatar
 
Drives: M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newbury Park, CA

Posts: 5,059
iTrader: (3)

If you look in the owners manual it shows you how to add oil. Just remove the cap and pour in the bottle of oil. Assuming your car is giving you a low oil warning pour in the entire contents of a 1 liter bottle.

Make sure you pour the oil into the engine and not the windshield wiper fluid resevoir.
__________________
FStop7 is offline   Vatican City State
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 10:19 AM   #10
gr8000
Major
 
gr8000's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 - DCT
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Athens, Greece

Posts: 1,171
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to gr8000
Its easy to add oil yourself but carefull with overfilling! What I do is I wait until it prompts to add 1lt, and only then I add the entire bottle. It is an advise I got from my BMW service tech and it is the easiest and safest way to top up the oil!
gr8000 is offline   Greece
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 01:03 PM   #11
NPTM3
Private
 
Drives: for fun
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island, NY

Posts: 60
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Splinter4784 View Post
do i have to empty the oil pan out or sumthin

im a NOOB at this lol

how do i put the oil in?
For a noob, you dove right into a boatload of mods... NOT that there's anything wrong with that...
__________________
________________
1999 ///M3 Coupe (Cosmos Black/Sand Beige)
2003 Turbo Carrera (Lapis/Dove Gray)
2009 ///M3 E92 (Space Gray/x-Fox Red, CF, 6MT)
NPTM3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 01:09 PM   #12
Mr.Metak2you
Brigadier General
 
Mr.Metak2you's Avatar
 
Drives: LEXUS LS(DailyDriver)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Astral Projecting: ∞ 23.516 -122 02.625 0242.101 ĕv'rē-hwr'

Posts: 4,747
iTrader: (15)

Garage List
You have to be careful not to add the entire liter if the warning light has not turned on yet. Too much oil can damage your engine as well. Also, you have to add a minimum of .5 liters for the electronic dipstick to register the change. If you start messing around by add little by little, the dipstick will not register properly. Thank god we don't have a regular dipstick anymore.....
__________________
Mr.Metak2you is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 01:31 PM   #13
dcstep
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

Posts: 4,836
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Unless it tells you to add oil, don't mess with it. The capacity is 8+ quarts for a reason. Trying to keep it topped does no good and risks damage.

Dave
__________________
dcstep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 02:25 PM   #14
Splinter4784
414 little horsies
 
Splinter4784's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Beverly Hills

Posts: 407
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NPTM3 View Post
For a noob, you dove right into a boatload of mods... NOT that there's anything wrong with that...
lol
noob at adding oil

im gonna do it right now

its actually funny that this is my first time adding oil considering i have had 3 cars and 3 years of driving expierience
__________________
Race Precision Inc
Splinter4784 is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 02:54 PM   #15
lucid
Major General
 
lucid's Avatar
 
Drives: E30 M3; Expedition
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA

Posts: 8,034
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lincoln View Post
Maybe you shouldn't have flipped off the crackhead... I bet he could of told you where to put the oil in.

1) Pull hood release
2) Open hood
3) Open oil cap (says OIL)
4) Pour oil
5) Close cap
6) Close hood
__________________
lucid is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2009, 04:18 PM   #16
MrAdams
do a wheelie!!!
 
MrAdams's Avatar
 
Drives: E90M3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 899
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by lincoln View Post
Maybe you shouldn't have flipped off the crackhead... I bet he could of told you where to put the oil in.

1) Pull hood release
2) Open hood
3) Open oil cap (says OIL)
4) Pour oil
5) Close cap
6) Close hood
get over it guy. are you homeless? was that you he flipped off?
__________________
~Adam
MrAdams is offline   Mexico
0
Reply With Quote
      03-16-2009, 11:01 PM   #17
sayemthree
Brigadier General
 
sayemthree's Avatar
 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa

Posts: 4,845
iTrader: (0)

always add no more th1 1/2 qt at a time. mine said add one qt. I added 1/2 , drove it and it said full. if I had added the whole qt I could have got an overfill message.
sayemthree is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-17-2009, 07:19 AM   #18
Splinter4784
414 little horsies
 
Splinter4784's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Beverly Hills

Posts: 407
iTrader: (2)

my car said +1 qt and i added the whole quart and my car had a full reading

No overfill message or anything
__________________
Race Precision Inc
Splinter4784 is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST