BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing
 
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-03-2009, 12:49 AM   #1
Splinter4784
414 little horsies
Splinter4784's Avatar
Armenia
10
Rep
407
Posts

Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Beverly Hills

iTrader: (2)

Oil Level

My Oil has been very low for the past 100 miles and i have not had time to take it to the dealer, is this bad for the car

How many miles until it damages the engine?
__________________
Race Precision Inc
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 01:29 AM   #2
psuwcc112
Lieutenant
psuwcc112's Avatar
United_States
41
Rep
570
Posts

Drives: 2015 YMB M4 coupe
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dublin, CA

iTrader: (3)

How low, is it lower the minimum of the oil indicator? Has the oil low warning light came on?
__________________


2015 F82 YMB M4 (Feb 28th ED, re-deliveried on Apr 18th) |My 2015 YMB M4 ED Journal
2008 E92 SSII M3 Coupe (Sold) | My long gone 2008 E92 SSII M3
2002 E39 SG 530i (Gone)
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 01:33 AM   #3
///MWorld
Second Lieutenant
///MWorld's Avatar
4
Rep
295
Posts

Drives: '08 E92 M3 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: L.A.

iTrader: (0)

Add a liter yourself!!! Takes no time at all! Cmon now.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 02:08 AM   #4
FStop7
I like cars
FStop7's Avatar
Vatican City State
107
Rep
5,058
Posts

Drives: M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newbury Park, CA

iTrader: (3)

Just go to BH BMW and get a bottle of oil
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 02:14 AM   #5
Splinter4784
414 little horsies
Splinter4784's Avatar
Armenia
10
Rep
407
Posts

Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Beverly Hills

iTrader: (2)

do i have to empty the oil pan out or sumthin

im a NOOB at this lol

how do i put the oil in?
__________________
Race Precision Inc
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 03:03 AM   #6
spyderco10
Colonel
spyderco10's Avatar
United_States
36
Rep
2,425
Posts

Drives: AW E92 M3 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI

iTrader: (0)

you'll know it's bad when the engine freezes
__________________
For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.
- John 3:16
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 03:40 AM   #7
lincoln
Lieutenant
lincoln's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
432
Posts

Drives: 2009 Melbourne Red Coupe - DCT
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seattle (Puyallup)

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Splinter4784 View Post
do i have to empty the oil pan out or sumthin

im a NOOB at this lol

how do i put the oil in?
Maybe you shouldn't have flipped off the crackhead... I bet he could of told you where to put the oil in.

1) Pull hood release
2) Open hood
3) Open oil cap (says OIL)
4) Pour oil
5) Close cap
6) Close hood
__________________
2009 Melbourne Red DCT | Black Interior | Carbon Fiber Trim | Carbon Fiber Roof | Cold Weather | Premium | Technology | 19's | Smartphone Integration | iPod |
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 03:50 AM   #8
Splinter4784
414 little horsies
Splinter4784's Avatar
Armenia
10
Rep
407
Posts

Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Beverly Hills

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lincoln View Post
Maybe you shouldn't have flipped off the crackhead... I bet he could of told you where to put the oil in.

1) Pull hood release
2) Open hood
3) Open oil cap (says OIL)
4) Pour oil
5) Close cap
6) Close hood

that story of mine must have really broken ur heart since its been like more than a month since i posted that
__________________
Race Precision Inc
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 11:01 AM   #9
FStop7
I like cars
FStop7's Avatar
Vatican City State
107
Rep
5,058
Posts

Drives: M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newbury Park, CA

iTrader: (3)

If you look in the owners manual it shows you how to add oil. Just remove the cap and pour in the bottle of oil. Assuming your car is giving you a low oil warning pour in the entire contents of a 1 liter bottle.

Make sure you pour the oil into the engine and not the windshield wiper fluid resevoir.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 11:19 AM   #10
gr8000
Major
gr8000's Avatar
Greece
23
Rep
1,172
Posts

Drives: E92 M3 - DCT
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Athens, Greece

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to gr8000
Its easy to add oil yourself but carefull with overfilling! What I do is I wait until it prompts to add 1lt, and only then I add the entire bottle. It is an advise I got from my BMW service tech and it is the easiest and safest way to top up the oil!
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 02:03 PM   #11
NPTM3
Private
0
Rep
60
Posts

Drives: for fun
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Splinter4784 View Post
do i have to empty the oil pan out or sumthin

im a NOOB at this lol

how do i put the oil in?
For a noob, you dove right into a boatload of mods... NOT that there's anything wrong with that...
__________________
________________
1999 ///M3 Coupe (Cosmos Black/Sand Beige)
2003 Turbo Carrera (Lapis/Dove Gray)
2009 ///M3 E92 (Space Gray/x-Fox Red, CF, 6MT)
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 02:09 PM   #12
Mr.Metak2you
Brigadier General
Mr.Metak2you's Avatar
133
Rep
4,769
Posts

Drives: LEXUS LS(DailyDriver)
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Astral Projecting: ∞ 23.516 -122 02.625 0242.101 ĕv'rē-hwr'

iTrader: (15)

Garage List
You have to be careful not to add the entire liter if the warning light has not turned on yet. Too much oil can damage your engine as well. Also, you have to add a minimum of .5 liters for the electronic dipstick to register the change. If you start messing around by add little by little, the dipstick will not register properly. Thank god we don't have a regular dipstick anymore.....
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 02:31 PM   #13
dcstep
Major General
United_States
93
Rep
5,222
Posts

Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Unless it tells you to add oil, don't mess with it. The capacity is 8+ quarts for a reason. Trying to keep it topped does no good and risks damage.

Dave
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 03:25 PM   #14
Splinter4784
414 little horsies
Splinter4784's Avatar
Armenia
10
Rep
407
Posts

Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Beverly Hills

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NPTM3 View Post
For a noob, you dove right into a boatload of mods... NOT that there's anything wrong with that...
lol
noob at adding oil

im gonna do it right now

its actually funny that this is my first time adding oil considering i have had 3 cars and 3 years of driving expierience
__________________
Race Precision Inc
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 03:54 PM   #15
lucid
Major General
lucid's Avatar
United_States
117
Rep
8,034
Posts

Drives: E30 M3; Expedition
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lincoln View Post
Maybe you shouldn't have flipped off the crackhead... I bet he could of told you where to put the oil in.

1) Pull hood release
2) Open hood
3) Open oil cap (says OIL)
4) Pour oil
5) Close cap
6) Close hood
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2009, 05:18 PM   #16
MrAdams
do a wheelie!!!
MrAdams's Avatar
Mexico
31
Rep
899
Posts

Drives: E90M3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by lincoln View Post
Maybe you shouldn't have flipped off the crackhead... I bet he could of told you where to put the oil in.

1) Pull hood release
2) Open hood
3) Open oil cap (says OIL)
4) Pour oil
5) Close cap
6) Close hood
get over it guy. are you homeless? was that you he flipped off?
__________________
~Adam
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2009, 12:01 AM   #17
sayemthree
Brigadier General
sayemthree's Avatar
146
Rep
4,846
Posts

Drives: bmw
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa

iTrader: (0)

always add no more th1 1/2 qt at a time. mine said add one qt. I added 1/2 , drove it and it said full. if I had added the whole qt I could have got an overfill message.
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2009, 08:19 AM   #18
Splinter4784
414 little horsies
Splinter4784's Avatar
Armenia
10
Rep
407
Posts

Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Beverly Hills

iTrader: (2)

my car said +1 qt and i added the whole quart and my car had a full reading

No overfill message or anything
__________________
Race Precision Inc
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:02 PM.




m3post
m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST