BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
INDustry distribution
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-25-2009, 04:02 PM   #1
marwan
Lieutenant
 
marwan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 ZCP E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UAE

Posts: 403
iTrader: (0)

Question iPod Touch Y-Cable

me and i buddy of mine got the iPod Touch Y-V=Cable and for some reason we both have the same problem, and that is the sounds comes out form one side of the speaker unless we mess adjust the cable that goes into the iPod....which is securely fit btw, when i wiggle it a bit i get stereo sound, but the slightest touch when i pace it in the glove compartment it screws up again! it drove us insane! do we have broken wires? is anyone sufferinf from the same problem? i'll call BMW tomorrow and show it to them.

btw, the iPod classic cable(regular cable that comes with the iPod works perfectly well.

and last, will BMW ever implement a search function for iPods like in the new 2009 4 door M3 with the new iDrive? kindla like searhing for a cantact, you select the leter and it filters it out.

thanks!
marwan is offline   United Arab Emirates
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2009, 04:14 PM   #2
Monkeycheese101
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2008 m3
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: bay area

Posts: 101
iTrader: (0)

you need to get the converter piece. It turns the end of the wire (ipod side) into a headphone piece. Sorry I forget what its called. Its about 10 bucks at best buy. Same thing happened to me with the iphone.
Monkeycheese101 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2009, 04:56 PM   #3
marwan
Lieutenant
 
marwan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 ZCP E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UAE

Posts: 403
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkeycheese101 View Post
you need to get the converter piece. It turns the end of the wire (ipod side) into a headphone piece. Sorry I forget what its called. Its about 10 bucks at best buy. Same thing happened to me with the iphone.

you mean this send station? i have it and it doesn't work with my iPod touch, but then again i only use the 3.5 wire with it, should i be using the USB cable as well as the 3.5mm jack to make it work work, connecting both to the Dock of coure?
marwan is offline   United Arab Emirates
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2009, 05:08 PM   #4
southlight
Moderator / European Editor
 
southlight's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany

Posts: 6,748
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by marwan View Post
you mean this send station? i have it and it doesn't work with my iPod touch, but then again i only use the 3.5 wire with it, should i be using the USB cable as well as the 3.5mm jack to make it work work, connecting both to the Dock of coure?
Yes, you should. The audio jack (3.5mm) transmitts the audio while the USB connection controls the iPod touch.


Best regards, south
__________________
Those forums...WHY NOT?


JOIN THE 6MT CLUB GROUP
southlight is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2009, 05:13 PM   #5
marwan
Lieutenant
 
marwan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 ZCP E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UAE

Posts: 403
iTrader: (0)

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by southlight View Post
Yes, you should. The audio jack (3.5mm) transmitts the audio while the USB connection controls the iPod touch.


Best regards, south
excellent, i have all of the pieces the BMW one(which was expensive was loose like mad, and the sound kept break up on mine and my friends., shifting from left to right.

thanks for the heads up pal!
marwan is offline   United Arab Emirates
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2009, 05:49 PM   #6
Eliminator
First Lieutenant
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M3 SSII 6M, '87 911
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Michigan

Posts: 311
iTrader: (0)

My cables from bmw work very well.
Eliminator is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2009, 06:24 PM   #7
lizak187
Lizak187
 
Drives: 2004 bmw 325ci/2008m3 coup
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Boston Massachusetts

Posts: 505
iTrader: (0)

had to have the cable that came with the car replaced 3 times from bmw...the slightest touch and the sounds would be all over the place it drove me insaneeeeeeeee.....took the dealer 4 days to figure out the problem.....hmmmmmm
lizak187 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2009, 07:26 PM   #8
MMMorish
Just call me J.J. McClure
 
MMMorish's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 & C4 Corvette
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto

Posts: 2,836
iTrader: (5)

My touch works great in my car with the stock cables provided.
__________________
MODS: Meisterschaft GT Racing Exhaust / BMC Air Filter / UUC SSK & DSSR (Modded)/ RPI Scoops / Passport SRX Hardwired / Custom Wrap 3M Clearbra / 20% Tint / 50% Windshield Tint / Key Hole Delete / Matted Out Accessories / VRS Type II Diffuser / Smoked Reflectors / Euphoria 6K LED Interior Lights / Rear Fog Light Mod / 6000K HID's / 6500K LUX H8 Angel Eyes / RDash License Plate LED Kit / LED Xenon Reverse Lights
"M3 drivers have no friends"
MMMorish is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-25-2009, 07:38 PM   #9
Adonislike
Captain
 
Drives: Toyota Insight/Honda Prius
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southern California

Posts: 842
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMMorish View Post
My touch works great in my car with the stock cables provided.
+1. Its the damn cradle I just got that is the problem
Adonislike is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2009, 10:27 AM   #10
abbood
New Member
 
Drives: E92 M3 2008
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UAE

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

do u mean the 6fl cable ?
abbood is offline   United Arab Emirates
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2009, 06:02 PM   #11
Patricius
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 04 325xi, 05 M3 cpe, 08 M3 cpe
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Posts: 532
iTrader: (0)

I'm having the same issue. Going to see if the dealer will swap it out for a fresh one... Not sure why they made the Y-cable so freaking long. 3" would have been plenty.
Patricius is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST