BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wheels + Tires Sponsored by The Tire Rack
  TireRack

KEEP M3POST ALIVE BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER LINK!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-21-2009, 07:30 AM   #1
MrHarris
yodog
MrHarris's Avatar
United_States
77
Rep
5,037
Posts

 
Drives: '86 Corolla
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Diamond Bar, Ca

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2009 BMW  [5.00]
Send a message via AIM to MrHarris
Installed new wheels --> TPMS?

I just installed some aftermarket wheels that didn't have the TPMS valve stems. Is there a way to get rid of the TPMS light on my dash with not actually having the TPMS valve stems on my car?
__________________

2009 E92 M3 | Alpine White | Black Extended | Advan RS | Turner Test Pipes | Dinan Axle-Back | OETuning | Eibach Springs | UUC SSK | VRS Front Lip | VRS Type I Diffuser | Matte Black | RPi Scoops | MS Filter | Yokohama AD08 | F1 Pinnacle
Special Thanks: Gintani | OETuning | eAs
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2009, 10:17 AM   #2
KKSigua
Can't wait for the i8
KKSigua's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
1,117
Posts

 
Drives: Sophisto Grey i8 Pure Impulse
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Indianapolis

iTrader: (4)

Dont think so
__________________
i8 Sophisto Grey w/ Frozen Blue i Accents, Pure Impulse World Package
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2009, 11:21 AM   #3
TTBear
Lieutenant
TTBear's Avatar
Canada
24
Rep
578
Posts

 
Drives: '09 LP560, '14 M235i, '12 X6M
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canada

iTrader: (6)

If you're really driven, you might want to try this:

http://clublexus.com/forums/is-secon...pipe-bomb.html


Cool way around the system, I thought. Keep in mind, it is illegal to do so.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2009, 12:11 PM   #4
JMARS
Not Baned
Brazil
21
Rep
1,287
Posts

 
Drives: Single-T WTCC e90
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Boca Raton, FL

iTrader: (5)

Maybe I'm missing something here...just one of those litlle tanks per car/4 wheels? But then you still need a TPMS, most people sell their stock wheels usually with them in it.

Just get the Sensors installed in your new rims, I think I saw TireRack had them on sale for like $150 for all 4 or something like that.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2009, 04:52 PM   #5
TTBear
Lieutenant
TTBear's Avatar
Canada
24
Rep
578
Posts

 
Drives: '09 LP560, '14 M235i, '12 X6M
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canada

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEMarsal View Post
Maybe I'm missing something here...just one of those litlle tanks per car/4 wheels? But then you still need a TPMS, most people sell their stock wheels usually with them in it.

Just get the Sensors installed in your new rims, I think I saw TireRack had them on sale for like $150 for all 4 or something like that.
Ideally, one would simply install the sensors. The OP didn't state which wheels he installed. Not all wheels will accept the sensors (the TPMS sensor stem is wider than a regular valve stem, I believe).
And yes, all 4 sensors will fit inside the pipe, easily. I'm not saying I'd do it, but if one were to purchase wheels that do not accept TPMS, e.g. cheap winter wheels, it might be a way to go.
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2009, 06:55 PM   #6
SlammedR8
Brigadier General
SlammedR8's Avatar
Canada
121
Rep
4,937
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Audi R8 V10 +2013 Audi S4
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to SlammedR8
I have a set for sale...if you want em!
PM me, make me an offer!
Original BMW
__________________
2010 Audi R8 V10 Coupe 6MT-White on Red
GMG Exhaust | H&R Springs | H&R Spacers | Carbonio Intake | UniTronic ECU Upgrade| 15% Tints/50% Windshield|LED License Plate
2013 Range Rover Sport-Black on Black
Stock with 15% Tint & 50% Windshield
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2009, 08:30 PM   #7
MrHarris
yodog
MrHarris's Avatar
United_States
77
Rep
5,037
Posts

 
Drives: '86 Corolla
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Diamond Bar, Ca

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2009 BMW  [5.00]
Send a message via AIM to MrHarris
I put on a set of Advan RS, can these accept TPMS sensors?
__________________

2009 E92 M3 | Alpine White | Black Extended | Advan RS | Turner Test Pipes | Dinan Axle-Back | OETuning | Eibach Springs | UUC SSK | VRS Front Lip | VRS Type I Diffuser | Matte Black | RPi Scoops | MS Filter | Yokohama AD08 | F1 Pinnacle
Special Thanks: Gintani | OETuning | eAs
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2009, 10:52 AM   #8
phattbam
SF Krew
phattbam's Avatar
United_States
75
Rep
5,591
Posts

 
Drives: //M
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SonicMS

iTrader: (21)

I thought I read or heard somewhere that BMWs have sensors at each corner that monitors the pressure. if you put all the sensors together then each corner will still have empty readings therefore triggering the notification of low pressure.
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2009, 03:04 AM   #9
interlago_m3
Private
United_States
2
Rep
90
Posts

 
Drives: M3 E92/ E60
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 M3  [5.00]
06 E60  [0.00]
Im having the same problem. But the problem is the place where suppose to put the TPMS is totally different to the original rims. It is in the middle of the rims (3 pcs FORGED). Anyone knows wat i can do??? i saw something like this

http://www.360bc.com/

Will it works??
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2009, 10:45 AM   #10
phattbam
SF Krew
phattbam's Avatar
United_States
75
Rep
5,591
Posts

 
Drives: //M
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SonicMS

iTrader: (21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by interlago_m3 View Post
Im having the same problem. But the problem is the place where suppose to put the TPMS is totally different to the original rims. It is in the middle of the rims (3 pcs FORGED). Anyone knows wat i can do??? i saw something like this

http://www.360bc.com/

Will it works??
on my setup. I have a second opening just for the TPMS to be inserted. no leaks or issues and the sensors work fine.
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2009, 03:18 PM   #11
TonyTone
Major
TonyTone's Avatar
United_States
49
Rep
1,186
Posts

 
Drives: M3 VERT
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to TonyTone
OP,
I dont believe there is a way to avoid TPMS light from coming on without sensors being inactive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by interlago_m3 View Post
Im having the same problem. But the problem is the place where suppose to put the TPMS is totally different to the original rims. It is in the middle of the rims (3 pcs FORGED). Anyone knows wat i can do??? i saw something like this

http://www.360bc.com/

Will it works??
Its a great idea when they created the design. The problem is when you have your local tire shop that does not know much about low profile tires and they dismount without realizing the TPMS is there. I have seen this happens many times where they crack the valvestem in halve or possible damage to the TPMS could happpen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by phattbam View Post
on my setup. I have a second opening just for the TPMS to be inserted. no leaks or issues and the sensors work fine.
This would be the ideal way to mount TPMS. Another option would be to strap the TPMS as HRE was the creator of this style...

Hope this helps
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2009, 12:26 AM   #12
McLuVan
Lieutenant General
McLuVan's Avatar
Vietnam
144
Rep
13,120
Posts

 
Drives: ///M3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Socal~818~

iTrader: (1)

if you do not want to deal with uninstalling and installing them after a wheel change, you can do this

1. buy 4 tpms sensors
2. fabricate a tube from home depot consisting of a tube, and end caps
3. drill a hole for a stem cap on one end
4. place the stem cap in the hole
5. put all four tpms sensors in the tube and seal it with pvc...glue? lol
6. pump the tube to about 30-40psi and throw it in the trunk
and that's all lol
end product looks like this
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2009, 02:28 AM   #13
SlammedR8
Brigadier General
SlammedR8's Avatar
Canada
121
Rep
4,937
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Audi R8 V10 +2013 Audi S4
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to SlammedR8
Glad we Canadians dont have to deal with TPMS, Canadian M3s use a different technology, a far better one at that!

The sensors are on the suspension of the car, not the rim itself so it doesnt what wheels are on it. they always work!
__________________
2010 Audi R8 V10 Coupe 6MT-White on Red
GMG Exhaust | H&R Springs | H&R Spacers | Carbonio Intake | UniTronic ECU Upgrade| 15% Tints/50% Windshield|LED License Plate
2013 Range Rover Sport-Black on Black
Stock with 15% Tint & 50% Windshield
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2009, 01:10 PM   #14
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
United_States
137
Rep
7,647
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
TPMS in Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by slammedm3 View Post
Glad we Canadians dont have to deal with TPMS, Canadian M3s use a different technology, a far better one at that!

The sensors are on the suspension of the car, not the rim itself so it doesnt what wheels are on it. they always work!
They are not on the suspension. Like the old E46, yours uses wheel rotation speed data from the ABS system to calculate tire pressure indirectly. Not necessarily a better system, but simpler.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2009, 01:22 PM   #15
Kev
Resident Anesthesiologist
Kev's Avatar
Hong Kong
180
Rep
8,815
Posts

 
Drives: VW bug with a misplaced engine
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (24)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
They are not on the suspension. Like the old E46, yours uses wheel rotation speed data from the ABS system to calculate tire pressure indirectly. Not necessarily a better system, but simpler.
+1, it's not better, just a different system. They have been using that system in Mercedes Benz as well. My old E55 had the same passive tire pressure loss system based on ABS calculation and wheel rotation. I had the OEM TPM system retrofitted on my car and it showed the actual PSIs on the multifunction display, which is pretty handy for going to the strip.
__________________
kev { divinum est sedate dolorem }
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2009, 10:44 PM   #16
Ryan@IND
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Ryan@IND's Avatar
United_States
245
Rep
4,263
Posts


 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (16)

Send a message via AIM to Ryan@IND Send a message via Skype™ to Ryan@IND
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHarris View Post
I put on a set of Advan RS, can these accept TPMS sensors?

they definitely take in the BMW TPMS. We use both the BMW part numbers and the non-BMW TR stuff. Both are made by Beru and installing them is painless and so much better than getting the warning lights all the time.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2009, 11:11 PM   #17
King Tut
NASA SpecE30 Racer
King Tut's Avatar
United_States
34
Rep
1,310
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 Honda S2000 TT3
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to King Tut
I installed Tire Rack TPMS sensors in my Volk TE37s with no issues. It did suck how many weights they had to add to the wheel to offset the extra weight of the sensor, but I am glad that I have them.
__________________
King Tut
2012 BMW M3 Individual: Sold lsb.ridedomain.com
1987 BMW 325is SpecE30: spece30.ridedomain.com
2009 BMW M3 Coupe: Sold e92.ridedomain.com
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2009, 01:08 AM   #18
spyderco10
Colonel
spyderco10's Avatar
United_States
34
Rep
2,425
Posts

 
Drives: AW E92 M3 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Honolulu, HI

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHarris View Post
I just installed some aftermarket wheels that didn't have the TPMS valve stems. Is there a way to get rid of the TPMS light on my dash with not actually having the TPMS valve stems on my car?
This should take care of it

Name:  45gap8le.jpg
Views: 1632
Size:  16.0 KB
__________________
“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”
- John 3:16
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2009, 01:38 AM   #19
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
328
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHarris View Post
I just installed some aftermarket wheels that didn't have the TPMS valve stems. Is there a way to get rid of the TPMS light on my dash with not actually having the TPMS valve stems on my car?
It can be coded out, but installing sensors would be the better route to go.

We have them in stock if you cannot get a set from your dealer.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2009, 01:42 AM   #20
Sticky
Banned
United_States
30
Rep
2,244
Posts

 
Drives: E92 Jerez DCT M3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Anaheim Hills / Malibu

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
It can be coded out, but installing sensors would be the better route to go.

We have them in stock if you cannot get a set from your dealer.
I'm starting to get sick of the light, found the TPMS kit on your site, I'll probably pick it up in the next few weeks.

Is it compatible with HRE C90's? Assuming it is, just wanted to make sure.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2009, 01:48 AM   #21
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
328
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sticky View Post
I'm starting to get sick of the light, found the TPMS kit on your site, I'll probably pick it up in the next few weeks.

Is it compatible with HRE C90's? Assuming it is, just wanted to make sure.
Can't see why not, I would confirm with HRE to be 100% sure.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2009, 01:51 AM   #22
tightie
JOSH SHOKRI.
tightie's Avatar
United_States
153
Rep
5,775
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 F80 YMB M3
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: los angeles, california.

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [3.95]
Quote:
Originally Posted by McLuVan View Post
if you do not want to deal with uninstalling and installing them after a wheel change, you can do this

1. buy 4 tpms sensors
2. fabricate a tube from home depot consisting of a tube, and end caps
3. drill a hole for a stem cap on one end
4. place the stem cap in the hole
5. put all four tpms sensors in the tube and seal it with pvc...glue? lol
6. pump the tube to about 30-40psi and throw it in the trunk
and that's all lol
end product looks like this
who the hell would actually do that
__________________
15 YMB F80 M3 | iND Painted Front Reflectors, Painted Side Marker Set, Rear Painted Emblem & Front Grill Surround| KW 3 Way Clubsport | Gintani Downpipes | Macht Schnell Stud Conversion Kit | JB4 | Too many wheels to list
*Track Day: December 19 @ Willow Springs Raceway
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST