BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing
 
PYSPEED
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-27-2009, 09:10 PM   #1
BimmerRob08
Major
 
BimmerRob08's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M3, Space Gray
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: KIKR (ABQ), NM

Posts: 1,255
iTrader: (0)

Had to add oil, now it's too highe??

So last week my oil level dropped from the top arrow on the meter to just 1/2 the way down to the mid-level line. My M3 oil level dropps to that amount about every 2-3,000 miles I've noticed so far and have 6700 total so I only had to add 1/2 liter of oil a while back to get the oil level back up to the top-arrow oil level.

So I added that 1/2 liter and drove it a few times this last week and the oil level never updated back up to the top arrow line. So I read through the manual and it says to add no less than a 1/2 liter or it won't get a reliable reading, did the sit level and let the engine warm up, did also the 2 second computer push on the left stick to get an oil reading and still was allways at the same level as before I added the 1/2 liter. So I added another 1/2 liter. Now it shot all the way up the the Max line and displays "Max" next to the oil level bar and it is fully lit.

So now It's obvious I added a little too much but this electronic gauge is not accurate then and misleading.
Now with pretty much a 1/2 liter of oil too much, is that enough to damage the engine? It'll slowely burn off but how much of a tolerance can the engine take? Any inputs??
BimmerRob08 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-27-2009, 09:26 PM   #2
rzm3
Moderator
 
rzm3's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA

Posts: 4,598
iTrader: (14)

so your entire bar is lit, correct?
__________________
E92 M3 DCT - AiM EVO4 Data Logger / AiM SmartyCam HD / KW Competition 2-Way / OMP ARS Racing Seats / Brembo GT 365 / Pagid Yellow RS-29 / Rear Seats Delete
rzm3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2009, 03:44 AM   #3
bmstyle71
Captain
 
bmstyle71's Avatar
 
Drives: jet black e92 m3
Join Date: May 2008
Location: tampa florida

Posts: 637
iTrader: (0)

Don't know what to tell you man. If you weren't 100% comfortable and knowledgeable doing this, maybe you shouldn't have.
bmstyle71 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2009, 05:22 AM   #4
Big Windy
Major General
 
Big Windy's Avatar
 
Drives: audi s4
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: seatac, wa

Posts: 5,118
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
It depends on how full it really is. If you really want to be safe, take it to the dealer and have them drain the thing and start over. You really have to be slow about adding oil because the gauge tolerances are really crappy.
Big Windy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2009, 06:52 AM   #5
BimmerRob08
Major
 
BimmerRob08's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M3, Space Gray
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: KIKR (ABQ), NM

Posts: 1,255
iTrader: (0)

Well I wouldn't say I'm not comfortable adding oil. This is the second time the oil has dropped 1/4 down the digital meter bar. The manual clearly explains to add 1/2 liter at a time which is what I did but knowing that the guage is sometimes not 100% accurate, it fooled me into thinking that the 1/2 liter I had added as instructed may not have been enough.

Anyway, got off the phone with BMW here a short while ago and I told them exactly what happened. They said if I actually added way to much oil then a "oil level to high" message would be shown but since it shows just "max" then it's ok. Just don't add any more as it's topped up. The tech. explained that 1/2 liters should be added at a time so the engine can register the increase in oil and needs time to settle. And I had told him that after adding oil the first time, the car sat in the garage for a few days so had plenty of time to cool and settle for an accurate reading. He said it's been known to be slightly off so the tolerance is there for expansion. Anyway, if the oil is at the "max" or top of the bar as mine is, their telling me should be ok. Thanks for your inputs fella's.
BimmerRob08 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2009, 07:01 AM   #6
Big Windy
Major General
 
Big Windy's Avatar
 
Drives: audi s4
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: seatac, wa

Posts: 5,118
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BimmerRob08 View Post
Well I wouldn't say I'm not comfortable adding oil. This is the second time the oil has dropped 1/4 down the digital meter bar. The manual clearly explains to add 1/2 liter at a time which is what I did but knowing that the guage is sometimes not 100% accurate, it fooled me into thinking that the 1/2 liter I had added as instructed may not have been enough.

Anyway, got off the phone with BMW here a short while ago and I told them exactly what happened. They said if I actually added way to much oil then a "oil level to high" message would be shown but since it shows just "max" then it's ok. Just don't add any more as it's topped up. The tech. explained that 1/2 liters should be added at a time so the engine can register the increase in oil and needs time to settle. And I had told him that after adding oil the first time, the car sat in the garage for a few days so had plenty of time to cool and settle for an accurate reading. He said it's been known to be slightly off so the tolerance is there for expansion. Anyway, if the oil is at the "max" or top of the bar as mine is, their telling me should be ok. Thanks for your inputs fella's.
Sounds like you're good!
Big Windy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-28-2009, 06:03 PM   #7
drvai
Major
 
drvai's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 AW
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: FL

Posts: 1,258
iTrader: (0)

Just add the Qt when the car tells you and avoid all this trouble.
drvai is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-29-2009, 01:32 AM   #8
BimmerRob08
Major
 
BimmerRob08's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M3, Space Gray
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: KIKR (ABQ), NM

Posts: 1,255
iTrader: (0)

yep, I just read on another post earlier about how one guy after changing oil/filter, put in 8.8liters like the book says, drove it around, let it settle and it still did not go up to the upper limit until a few drives later in the week then it finally registered correctly. I guess next time is just add the qrt or 1/2 liter as indicated and let it settle and give the system some time to measure it. I guess it's not just a matter of one drive to running temperature to get a good reading.
BimmerRob08 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-01-2009, 02:52 AM   #9
M3Lunatic
Penn-Dot's Most Wanted
 
Drives: 2008 IB E92 M3,2001 CB E46 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere near Philly

Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)

That happened to me three times when i added oil . oil level at Max.
I jacked the car up everytime it happened and unscrewed the drain bolt and let the oil pour out for 4 seconds counting to four and not real fast put the bolt back in . gets a little messy if you dont have a bucket under it and rubber gloves. that did the trick everytime . oil level OK right at the correct top level on the gauge.
Try it and take it for a 20 min drive . that should fix it.
M3Lunatic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST