BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-25-2009, 07:57 PM   #1
jlaw
nuh nuh nuh gone
jlaw's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
344
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

Visited Active Autowerke for some more goodies

Went over to Active and picked up their software and short shifter. VERY pleased. With the addition of these two, I now have most of their bolt-ons - software, exhaust, pulley, shifter - X-pipe maybe later on down the road.

The software is excellent as expected. During normal driving, you wouldn't even know it was there, save for a bit snappier throttle response. During more spirited driving, it becomes most apparent through the middle RPM's. No flat spots, just feels great, very strong. Seems to pull much harder to redline. I also have the AA pulley and that definitely helps as well.

The shifter is probably the best mod I've done so far. This is how the car should have come from the factory. Gone are the long, rubbery factory shifts. Shifts are now short, solid, and precise. Shift effort is obviously increased, but it's a small price to pay for the benefits. Stick height is pretty much identical to stock, and I have no issues with hitting the iDrive knob. I would recommend this mod to anyone with the manual transmission. You don't know what you're missing.

Overall, a very satisfied customer here.
__________________

2008 E92 M3 MT6 AW/FR/Carbon | AA | VRS | Forgestar

"I like paying taxes. With them I buy civilization." - Oliver Wendell Holmes
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2009, 08:09 PM   #2
boostedtwin
Sheriff
boostedtwin's Avatar
44
Rep
1,458
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 1M // 2008 GT3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Brazil/Miami

iTrader: (10)

Garage List
07 335i  [0.00]
07 335i  [0.00]
Good to hear. I'm planning on getting short shifter and pulley next to complete my AA bolt-on mods.
__________________
2012 1M / TechTec Custom Map Tune / AA FMIC / Agency Power Charge Pipe & BOV / Agency Power Downpipes & Mid Pipe / Custom Race Open Exhaust / Clutchmasters FX300 Racing Clutch / AFE Dual Intake System / H&R Coilovers / H&R Spacers / CDV Delete / Black Grills / CF Performance Spoiler & Mirrors / Sprint Booster / Feuer Orange Calipers
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2009, 09:04 PM   #3
COR Photographer
Private First Class
7
Rep
187
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Great to hear!!!
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2009, 10:16 PM   #4
camaross305
camaross305's Avatar
50
Rep
1,825
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: gainesville fl

iTrader: (20)

Nice man..... You need to get that x pipe it sounds sick with that and your catback!
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2009, 10:35 PM   #5
ChitownM3
Lieutenant
10
Rep
489
Posts

 
Drives: 2001 SS Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Burbs of Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Question for you, I got my AA software installed last week. I'm up in Chicago and I don't drive my car in the winter, so I just started it up. On the first startup I got an engine malfunction error and a DSC malfunction. I then turned the car off and turned it back on and the messages were gone. Did you get anything like this?
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2009, 10:37 PM   #6
SlammedR8
Brigadier General
SlammedR8's Avatar
Canada
121
Rep
4,937
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Audi R8 V10 +2013 Audi S4
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to SlammedR8
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChitownM3 View Post
Question for you, I got my AA software installed last week. I'm up in Chicago and I don't drive my car in the winter, so I just started it up. On the first startup I got an engine malfunction error and a DSC malfunction. I then turned the car off and turned it back on and the messages were gone. Did you get anything like this?
i havent heard that before
__________________
2010 Audi R8 V10 Coupe 6MT-White on Red
GMG Exhaust | H&R Springs | H&R Spacers | Carbonio Intake | UniTronic ECU Upgrade| 15% Tints/50% Windshield|LED License Plate
2013 Range Rover Sport-Black on Black
Stock with 15% Tint & 50% Windshield
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2009, 10:42 PM   #7
ChitownM3
Lieutenant
10
Rep
489
Posts

 
Drives: 2001 SS Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Burbs of Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slammedm3 View Post
i havent heard that before
Neither have I.
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2009, 10:43 PM   #8
camaross305
camaross305's Avatar
50
Rep
1,825
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: gainesville fl

iTrader: (20)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChitownM3 View Post
Question for you, I got my AA software installed last week. I'm up in Chicago and I don't drive my car in the winter, so I just started it up. On the first startup I got an engine malfunction error and a DSC malfunction. I then turned the car off and turned it back on and the messages were gone. Did you get anything like this?
call active im sure they will take care of ya
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2009, 10:54 PM   #9
ChitownM3
Lieutenant
10
Rep
489
Posts

 
Drives: 2001 SS Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Burbs of Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by camaross305 View Post
call active im sure they will take care of ya
I just sent them an email, I'm not that worried since the messages are gone now. Obviously the computer and car have to learn each other again, just wondering if anybody else ever got this message.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2009, 01:30 AM   #10
schnell325
Bored at work....
schnell325's Avatar
Canada
43
Rep
3,875
Posts

 
Drives: '08 M3,'11 335xi
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: BC

iTrader: (5)

I did....now no issue at all. I assume the car just had to learn the ECU like you thought.
__________________
'08 M3: AA G2L3, Catless X-Pipe & Sig Series Rear. AP rods. TC Kline EDC Coil Overs. MRF Alum Sub Frame Bushings. TMS Delrin Diff'l Bushings. BFI Motor Mounts. Recaro PP. BMW Perf Steering Wheel. P3 Gauge. PS Overflow Kit. APEX ARC-8 18"x9.5"/10.5". Conti Slicks 275/35F 305/30R. Stoptech Pads/SS Lines. Cantrell Brake Ducts.
http://5252motorsports.blogspot.ca/2...3-sleeper.html
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2009, 08:03 AM   #11
ChitownM3
Lieutenant
10
Rep
489
Posts

 
Drives: 2001 SS Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Burbs of Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by schnell325 View Post
I did....now no issue at all. I assume the car just had to learn the ECU like you thought.
Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2009, 10:46 AM   #12
jlaw
nuh nuh nuh gone
jlaw's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
344
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Miami, FL

iTrader: (0)

To answer your question ChitownM3 - no, I never had any issues like that. However, my software was done with the ECU in the car since I went to AA. It may simply be related to putting the ECU back in the car for the first time after reprogramming.
__________________

2008 E92 M3 MT6 AW/FR/Carbon | AA | VRS | Forgestar

"I like paying taxes. With them I buy civilization." - Oliver Wendell Holmes
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2009, 10:49 AM   #13
Omar@ActiveAutowerke
74
Rep
1,783
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miami

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlaw View Post
It may simply be related to putting the ECU back in the car for the first time after reprogramming.
This is correct. This may happen on initial startup on an M5,M6 and the new M3.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2009, 12:56 PM   #14
SV Concepts III
Lieutenant General
262
Rep
17,021
Posts

 
Drives: BMW Duh
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Clara

iTrader: (13)

Send a message via AIM to SV Concepts III
Nice to hear, the Active guys are great to work with and produce a solid product.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2009, 05:18 PM   #15
ChitownM3
Lieutenant
10
Rep
489
Posts

 
Drives: 2001 SS Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Burbs of Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Man, I just can't wait till it gets warmer up here so I can finally take the car out.
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2009, 10:04 AM   #16
Omar@ActiveAutowerke
74
Rep
1,783
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miami

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlaw View Post
Went over to Active and picked up their software and short shifter. VERY pleased. With the addition of these two, I now have most of their bolt-ons - software, exhaust, pulley, shifter - X-pipe maybe later on down the road.

The software is excellent as expected. During normal driving, you wouldn't even know it was there, save for a bit snappier throttle response. During more spirited driving, it becomes most apparent through the middle RPM's. No flat spots, just feels great, very strong. Seems to pull much harder to redline. I also have the AA pulley and that definitely helps as well.

The shifter is probably the best mod I've done so far. This is how the car should have come from the factory. Gone are the long, rubbery factory shifts. Shifts are now short, solid, and precise. Shift effort is obviously increased, but it's a small price to pay for the benefits. Stick height is pretty much identical to stock, and I have no issues with hitting the iDrive knob. I would recommend this mod to anyone with the manual transmission. You don't know what you're missing.

Overall, a very satisfied customer here.
Hey J,

Happy to hear you are pleased with the mods, thats an amazing car you have there. Thanks again and enjoy in good health.

Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST