BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-06-2009, 10:33 AM   #1
darkcloud
Colonel
 
darkcloud's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 VW JSW
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: cleveland, oh

Posts: 2,387
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to darkcloud
Linksys Wireless N router no speaka to Xbox360

I have a newer Wireless N router (WRT-300N) that doesn't want to communicate with my Xbox360. I had the wireless adapter and it would see the network but fail connecting no mater what I did. If I run a Ethernet wire I get the same ending. I did some reading around and found a couple flimsy explanations but figured I would ask here. Maybe someone is smarter then I and can get them to want to speak to each other. Oh I returned the wireless adapter so I will only hard wire now. The router is a whole 2 feet away anyways.

Any help?
__________________

retired 06 E90 325i

New: 09 VW Platinum Grey Jetta Sportwagen 2.0T SEL w/DSG, panoramic sunroof and Ipod adapter
darkcloud is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2009, 11:53 AM   #2
Crimson92
Smiling Politely
 
Crimson92's Avatar
 
Drives: Like a boss
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Whales Vagina

Posts: 28,574
iTrader: (3)

try a firmware update on the router....worked for me on my linksys
__________________
Quote:
Some people are like slinkies...not really good for much but you can't help but smile when you see one tumble down the stairs"
Crimson92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2009, 12:11 PM   #3
darkcloud
Colonel
 
darkcloud's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 VW JSW
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: cleveland, oh

Posts: 2,387
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to darkcloud
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson92 View Post
try a firmware update on the router....worked for me on my linksys
I know this will sounds dumb, but can I get a quick walk through on how to do that. I don't normally mess with the router since I realized how bitchy it can be.
__________________

retired 06 E90 325i

New: 09 VW Platinum Grey Jetta Sportwagen 2.0T SEL w/DSG, panoramic sunroof and Ipod adapter
darkcloud is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2009, 12:52 PM   #4
Crimson92
Smiling Politely
 
Crimson92's Avatar
 
Drives: Like a boss
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Whales Vagina

Posts: 28,574
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkcloud View Post
I know this will sounds dumb, but can I get a quick walk through on how to do that. I don't normally mess with the router since I realized how bitchy it can be.
go to the linksys website...find your router


look under downloads or updates( something like that)

download the driver and place it somewhere where you can find it...like your desktop.

go into the routers admin page...usually for linksys its 192.168.0.1

find something along the lines of setup or admin or system(again, something like that)


there will be a place where you can browse for the update


this update will wipe out all your settings so have your account information hand(if you have dsl) i think cable it finds the settings on its own.



you can also find the manual online for updating
__________________
Quote:
Some people are like slinkies...not really good for much but you can't help but smile when you see one tumble down the stairs"
Crimson92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2009, 12:54 PM   #5
D1911
Private First Class
 
D1911's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 S2k
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada

Posts: 116
iTrader: (0)

Go here and download the appropriate firmware for your specific router and follow the directions.

http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...ypage=download
D1911 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2009, 01:28 PM   #6
Crimson92
Smiling Politely
 
Crimson92's Avatar
 
Drives: Like a boss
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Whales Vagina

Posts: 28,574
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by D1911 View Post
Go here and download the appropriate firmware for your specific router and follow the directions.

http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satel...ypage=download
you did what i didnt want to.......but yes...those instructions will be much better than mine
__________________
Quote:
Some people are like slinkies...not really good for much but you can't help but smile when you see one tumble down the stairs"
Crimson92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2009, 01:40 PM   #7
Icedog_16
No Member
 
Icedog_16's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 335is
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa, FL

Posts: 427
iTrader: (1)

You can do it through the LELA software if that came with your router. I found that I couldn't get my PS3 to communicate with WPA encryption and had to go with WEP, which worked.
Icedog_16 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2009, 01:53 PM   #8
Neurorad
Major
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Drives: 330xi 6MT Blk/Blk SP
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Location, Location

Posts: 1,208
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icedog_16 View Post
You can do it through the LELA software if that came with your router. I found that I couldn't get my PS3 to communicate with WPA encryption and had to go with WEP, which worked.
I used the Linksys LELA software yesterday, to set up a home network.

A jar of mayonnaise could use this software, it was so easy.

My router didn't come with the software, had to hunt around online to find it: Link halfway down the page

http://forums.linksys.com/linksys/bo...essage.id=1536

Newer routers get this LELA software bundled.
Neurorad is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2009, 04:20 PM   #9
darkcloud
Colonel
 
darkcloud's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 VW JSW
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: cleveland, oh

Posts: 2,387
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to darkcloud
^^ I pm'd you back.

I also just realized that my router came with the LELA software to help set up a network. That's not the problem. My network is secured and works fine. My 360 just won't connect even when hard wired.

If you do a google search with my router and xbox 360 this seems to be a known issue. Just there are so many fixes and speculations it's hard to know which is right. I was just hoping someone happened to have the same router and got theirs to work.
__________________

retired 06 E90 325i

New: 09 VW Platinum Grey Jetta Sportwagen 2.0T SEL w/DSG, panoramic sunroof and Ipod adapter
darkcloud is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-27-2009, 02:58 PM   #10
brocken
Captain
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Seattle, WA

Posts: 605
iTrader: (5)

If you've already checked the security settings have you tried adding the MAC address of your Xbox to the router?
I have an older Linksys so I don't have direct experience to give you.
I'm guessing other computers connect directly without problems?
brocken is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-15-2009, 12:14 PM   #11
Neurorad
Major
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Drives: 330xi 6MT Blk/Blk SP
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Location, Location

Posts: 1,208
iTrader: (0)

The Linksys LELA software isn't just for wireless, and not only for security.

I used it to add an additional hardwired computer to my home network - worked flawlessly.

Did you try it?
Neurorad is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-05-2009, 12:22 PM   #12
Year's_End
Local Jabroni
 
Year's_End's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St. Pete, FL

Posts: 12,030
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by defg373 View Post
Anya Hindmarch,Replica,AAAA,High QualityReplica High Quality Anya Hindmarch bag, Anya Hindmarch handbags on sale,it is available for wholesale business and retail business.Happy Shopping.
wat wat wat
__________________
E92 335i: Space Grey|Coral Red|Aluminum Trim

Hold out for the BRZ STI or... Rocket Bunny FRS. Update: Scratch that. I've got a 2015 5.0/6MT with my name on it.
Year's_End is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST