BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Photography/Videography
 
Lux Angel Eyes
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-04-2008, 01:42 PM   #1
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
190
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

D80 is broken, fix or replace?

not sure what is happening, but my D80 starting having a very laggy shutter during a cold day of shooting, then started falshing a 'ERR' message and the shutter is pinned shut. If I look through the viewfinder, all I see is black, and yes my lens cap is off!

I need to find out how much it would cost to fix, or should I just replace it?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2008, 03:26 PM   #2
asdflkijd
Aberry is a scammer
asdflkijd's Avatar
South Korea
132
Rep
5,507
Posts

 
Drives: SGM E92 335i, AM E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
I'm assuming the warranty is past due. You should find out if Nikon would take a look at it before they fix it? Or I can recommend searching on a Nikon forum, it might be a common issue. gl!
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2008, 11:15 PM   #3
Subw00er
Bates '08 Interlagos Launch
Subw00er's Avatar
United_States
29
Rep
1,204
Posts

 
Drives: 08e92M, 03e46M
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NY

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to Subw00er
get a d60. The software/interface in the d80 is behind now. I have a d40x and a d80 and I only use the d40x (d60 is the new version).
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2008, 11:33 PM   #4
asdflkijd
Aberry is a scammer
asdflkijd's Avatar
South Korea
132
Rep
5,507
Posts

 
Drives: SGM E92 335i, AM E90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Subw00er View Post
get a d60. The software/interface in the d80 is behind now. I have a d40x and a d80 and I only use the d40x (d60 is the new version).
I'm not sure if he'd ever be able to get used to the dinkyness of the d60. Its so small, smaller than a Xti and those are tiny compared to my 40d.
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2008, 01:34 AM   #5
kuvesh
Lieutenant
kuvesh's Avatar
Singapore
13
Rep
513
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335i juiced
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: singapore

iTrader: (1)

if under warranty, get it repaired.

if not, get the d90. it can also take video.
__________________

HAMANN FRONT APRON, SIDES, ROOF SPOILER & QUAD DIFFUSER | VORSTEINER VRS TRUNK | CSC3 ON 19 ADVAN RS | BREMBO GT BBK | BASTUCK QUAD | KW V2 | JB3 v1.3s beta | BMW PERFORMANCE STEERING WHEEL | M3 SIDE MIRRORS | M5 SMG SHIFT KNOB | BLACKOUT GRILLS | PARTIALLY SMOKED LIGHTS | WINDOW TINT
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2008, 01:48 AM   #6
TWiTCHY
Lieutenant Colonel
TWiTCHY's Avatar
United_States
35
Rep
1,762
Posts

 
Drives: '13 X3 35i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bellevue, WA

iTrader: (0)

Get it fixed if you're worried about not being able to use your older lenses on a newer Nikon. If you don't own any "old lenses" then I would go ahead and replace it.

Older lenses' autofocus sometimes don't work on the newer D60. I'm not sure if the compatibility issue was fixed on the D90.
Appreciate 0
      12-05-2008, 05:24 PM   #7
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
190
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

if I get a new body it will be the d300 or d700 <3
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2008, 07:09 PM   #8
The_Blob
Second Lieutenant
The_Blob's Avatar
54
Rep
290
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E92 335i
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Have you ever dropped the camera? Fixing the camera is expensive, it's better to buy a new one.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2008, 05:06 AM   #9
Big Windy
Major General
Big Windy's Avatar
United_States
71
Rep
5,118
Posts

 
Drives: audi s4
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: seatac, wa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
if the warranty is up, replace. D90 or D300.
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2008, 11:05 AM   #10
Alarbus
Private
0
Rep
85
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 328xi
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Philly

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TWiTCHY View Post
Get it fixed if you're worried about not being able to use your older lenses on a newer Nikon. If you don't own any "old lenses" then I would go ahead and replace it.

Older lenses' autofocus sometimes don't work on the newer D60. I'm not sure if the compatibility issue was fixed on the D90.


All Nikon lenses should work, the only issue would be that you can't put a Dx lens on a film camera. Nikon's product continuity is unparalleled.

The downside with digital cameras is that it's very rarely worth it to repair. If you look at the body only option from some place like B&H or Adorama, it'd probably be a wash.
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2008, 12:34 PM   #11
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
190
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alarbus View Post


All Nikon lenses should work, the only issue would be that you can't put a Dx lens on a film camera. Nikon's product continuity is unparalleled.

The downside with digital cameras is that it's very rarely worth it to repair. If you look at the body only option from some place like B&H or Adorama, it'd probably be a wash.
thats what i'm thinking, sucks.......not really in the budget these days to buy a 1 - 2 grand body.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2008, 12:41 PM   #12
jpsum
Major
jpsum's Avatar
United_States
47
Rep
1,089
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 TSX
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Haven area

iTrader: (4)

How many actuations does your D60 have so far? It might just need a new shutter.

The shutter should last at least 50,000 actuations.
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2008, 02:32 PM   #13
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
190
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

its a D80, and for some reason the darned thing started working today! hit the reset in the menu and then hit the shutter release and presto.....it works!

We'll see how long it takes to break this time.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST