BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > DIY Guides/ Discussions
 
PYSPEED
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-24-2008, 09:51 AM   #1
Mack211
Lieutenant
 
Mack211's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M3 - DCT
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fort Collins, CO

Posts: 493
iTrader: (0)

Need some help programming the Universal Remote...

I have an Overhead Door - legacy garage door opener that has the little homelink or whatever symbol on it. It has a rolling code so I know I have to push the learn button on the garage unit. For the life of me I am not able to sync my car buttons with the garage. I have read the manual for both the car and the garage several times and just can not get it to work. Has anyone out there got the rolling code sync to work? Can you write up a quick ‘For Dummies’ guide on how to do this?????



THANKS!!!

-Mack
__________________
2008 M3 Space Gray, Black, Syc Ant Wood Trim, DCT
2001 325ci Steel Gray - Sold
Mack211 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-24-2008, 11:10 PM   #2
rmashman
Private
 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego

Posts: 59
iTrader: (0)

I had lot's of trouble also, following the directions in the manual. My service manager did it for me by touching the garage door opener to the lower left corner of the mirror while using the procedure described.

The manual says 6 or 12 inches. Try putting it right against the mirror.

Good luck.
rmashman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-06-2008, 01:47 PM   #3
batchelorc
Lieutenant
 
batchelorc's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Killeen, TX

Posts: 501
iTrader: (0)

I had to do the rolling on mine. Just program it like you normally would. Then go inside and hit the "learning" button on the garage opener itself. Then within 30 seconds go back to the car and start hitting the button you programmed he opener to a few times until the door actions.
__________________
2008 Alpine White / Fox Red / DCT / 19"s
batchelorc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-07-2008, 07:25 PM   #4
Gemcoska
Sleepy Member, wishing I was on the road.
 
Gemcoska's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 BMW M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, CA

Posts: 272
iTrader: (0)

Okay... yeah, it was not easy for me.

Follow the directions in the manual, but if you do not get the indicators that you are supposed to then you're not doing it right.

The only trick is that the distance that you hold the remote to your rear view mirror is super fickle. I've done it several times and it was different each time. So just start with it close, try it, if it doesn't work, go out a bit further and try again. If you can figure out what direction your signal comes out of your remote, make sure you have it pointed to your rear view.

Lastly, remember that to operate it, its push and hold, not push and let go.

Good Luck.
__________________
2003 Ducati '996
2008 M3: Sparking Graphite, Red Fox Standard, 19s, Premium pkg, Tech pkg, Premium Enhanced Sound, HD Radio, Heated Front Seats.
Gemcoska is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-15-2008, 08:50 PM   #5
mdrobc13
Major
 
mdrobc13's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 BMW 550i
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: On a base somewhere near or afar!

Posts: 1,448
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2012 BMW 550i  [5.00]
Send a message via MSN to mdrobc13 Send a message via Yahoo to mdrobc13
Did mine this afternoon. Easy. Worked 1st time.
Had to hold the remotes about 1/2 inch from the mirror/openers. Don't forget to push both buttons and hold them to CLEAR the opener prior to trying to program them! Then I programmed each one seperately. I have a rolling code so you have to press the learn button on the main opener and on mine the light starts blinking....then I went to my car quickly hit the respective remote three times (the garage light blinks on my overhead openers to confirm acceptance which helps) and on the final press the openers cycle. Then repeat the process (I have two doors). Should work okay.

Good luck.
__________________
'12 F10 550i (Dinan Stage 5/Intercoolers, CF Intake, Brace, Shockware, H&R Springs, Eisenmann Race Exhaust, CF rear difuser, Giovanni "Lindo" Graphite 20")
'10 e71 X6 35iDrive SAV (Space Gray) - Gone
'06 e85 Z4 M Roadster (Black Metallic) -Gone
'08 e92 M3 coupe (Sparkling Graphite) -Gone
mdrobc13 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 03:37 PM   #6
ase2dais
//Mdicted
 
ase2dais's Avatar
 
Drives: a Cop Magnet
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 495 Ring

Posts: 9,865
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
read and manual too and some odd reason it didnt cooperate, called the Homelink 800 on the manual and she guide me thru. It works.

I hate reading manuals, makes me fall asleep.
ase2dais is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-25-2008, 07:11 PM   #7
KSMatic
New Member
 
Drives: E93 M3 6 Speed
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Montebello

Posts: 28
iTrader: (0)

took me about 5minutes to find a ladder and that was the hard part. lol
KSMatic is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-12-2009, 01:51 PM   #8
1MOREMOD
2014 Track Days - 3|Ridge 1:54:61|Pacific 1:37:36
 
1MOREMOD's Avatar
 
Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

Posts: 10,796
iTrader: (5)

thanks this thread finally helped me get mine figured out. Sweet.
__________________

02 Tiag e46 M3|6MT|GC plates|MCS c.o.|GC bars|GC race control arms|GC bushings & bearings|BW eng. & tran. mounts|subframe kit|BW race shifter|BW Jaffster|Euro header|BW race|K&N c.a.i.|Epic race tune|Rouge race pulleys|Seibon CF hood|CSL bumper|ST-40|SR34|SS lines|half cage|Recaro profi|Profi 2 harness|BMWpedals|Apex studs|
1MOREMOD is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-12-2009, 03:19 PM   #9
DevJ
Colonel
 
DevJ's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 Cayman S & IS350
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK

Posts: 2,695
iTrader: (1)

This was so hard setting up. I have no idea if its my POS garage or what. I had to program like 6 cars with it and it was horrible. I never got it to work right but I didn't spend too much time with it..got the garage guy to come and do it for me for free lol
__________________
E92 M3. SOLD
New: '14 Cayman S PDK
Incoming: GT-R Black Edition
DevJ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-13-2009, 11:26 PM   #10
Ca$hOnly
Major
 
Ca$hOnly's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: In ur fridge, eatin ur foodz

Posts: 1,072
iTrader: (5)

Why do they make this so godamn complicated. Damn Germans need to learn about making shit that's user friendly.

I still haven't figured out how to program the garage.

/rant
__________________
Ca$hOnly is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2009, 04:51 PM   #11
mach330
You don't know JACK!!!
 
mach330's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 X5 35i
Join Date: May 2005
Location: The OC

Posts: 797
iTrader: (3)

Send a message via AIM to mach330 Send a message via Yahoo to mach330
ok so i've done this a lot with different garage with my past car. i just did mine with the rolling code and i have one basic problem. the old hand held garage opener no longer works. i followed all the instructions above, but the other remotes always don't work. when i do reprogram the hand held remotes, my homelink doesn't work. wtf...

i'm doing this because my parents don't have homelink on their cars but i do. so on the times i go home and visit, i figure i'll program my car since i have extra. any suggestions why i can't keep the old remote programmed?
__________________
Rated /// M
mach330 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2009, 05:24 AM   #12
Cab5er
Colonel
 
Cab5er's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 E90 M3 & 07 TL
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fremont, Hainan

Posts: 2,338
iTrader: (22)

I programed my garage with no problem, but I added my friend's front gate today and now my garage opener doesn't work. Am I not suppose to reset for the second button? Just go ahead and try to program the second one without the resetting step? I think I erased button 1 which is my garage when I reset it to program the second one today.

edit: Got it! Was not suppose to do the reset step again.
__________________

E90 ///M3/ AW/ Fox Red

Last edited by Cab5er; 05-02-2009 at 06:41 PM.
Cab5er is offline   China
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2009, 07:55 AM   #13
Big Windy
Major General
 
Big Windy's Avatar
 
Drives: audi s4
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: seatac, wa

Posts: 5,118
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
a bit OT, but anybody have luck programming a parking garage gate? i need help. Its a Federal APD gate operated by a DoorKing Systems remote.
__________________
Big Windy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST