BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > DIY Guides/ Discussions
 
GT Haus
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-26-2010, 11:20 AM   #89
JohnnyRoaster
Captain
 
JohnnyRoaster's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 Jerez Black M3 Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Outside Beantown

Posts: 942
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by H8cold View Post
Installed my alarm had it activiated, but no motion sensor? why?
I don't think the vert has a motion sensor built in for the alarm. It works in my sedan if I leave the windows down, activate the alarm and then stick my hands in the car. The siren is not very loud but enough for people close by to hear.
__________________
JohnnyRoaster is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2010, 11:25 AM   #90
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,496
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Motion sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyRoaster View Post
I don't think the vert has a motion sensor built in for the alarm. It works in my sedan if I leave the windows down, activate the alarm and then stick my hands in the car. The siren is not very loud but enough for people close by to hear.
All models have a motion sensor. In the coupe, the windows (and sunroof) must be completely closed for it to function (this is unlike my E46, where you could trigger it by sticking you arm through an open window). I'm not sure why the sedan would be different. In the convertible, the interior is monitored up to the height of the seat cushions even with the roof open (meaning it can be triggered if the roof is open and there is a falling leaf, etc.). The motion sensor can be switched off if you press the lock button on the remote immediately after first locking the car. It resets when the vehicle is unlocked.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2010, 03:12 PM   #91
aajami
Brigadier General
 
aajami's Avatar
 
Drives: Space Gray '09 E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA

Posts: 4,007
iTrader: (4)

I had the alarm activated by my dealer this morning, and it works like a charm. Great DIY.
__________________
'09 E92 M3: Space Gray, Black, Carbon Leather | ZTP 2MK ZPP 2MT 6FL | link 1 / link 2
Mods: M Performance exhaust | ZCP retrofit | Euro airbox | GTS DCT flash | 240J ECU flash | LCI Euro taillights | CRT lip | OEM alarm retrofit | Space Gray bumper plugs | BMW Performance: Mk. II spoiler / Mk. II non-electronic steering wheel / mirror caps / front grilles / side gills / intake louvers / emblem
aajami is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-15-2010, 06:44 PM   #92
DiamondGCoupe
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2010 E92 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 152
iTrader: (0)

I'm just installing the siren for now. Don't want to mess with the hood sensor or break the light area installing the motion sensor. This will at least make the doors beep on exit? And after I take it to the dealer tomorrow I can install the rest if I want at any point? Would it need to be reprogrammed?
__________________
2010 E92 M3 - Alpine White Mine on 11/2/09 CarDomain
2008 G37S Coupe - Sold
DiamondGCoupe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-16-2010, 12:23 PM   #93
Georgeair
Captain
 
Drives: '08 Melbourne E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: McKinney, TX

Posts: 757
iTrader: (2)

The light area is really a no-brainer and easy to do without risk of damage. You could be pretty hamfisted and still not bust it. Assuming the wiring is there for the hood, that should be quick as well and you shoudl just do them all. Not sure what happens when trying to program a half-installation.

Also, I thought there was an issue with the '10 cars that made putting this in after production more problematic? I could be wrong.....
__________________
Objects in mirror are slower than they appear.
Georgeair is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-17-2010, 10:08 AM   #94
B.Hallowell
Second Lieutenant
 
B.Hallowell's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 AW E92 M3 DCT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Doylestown PA

Posts: 294
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgeair View Post
The light area is really a no-brainer and easy to do without risk of damage. You could be pretty hamfisted and still not bust it. Assuming the wiring is there for the hood, that should be quick as well and you shoudl just do them all. Not sure what happens when trying to program a half-installation.

Also, I thought there was an issue with the '10 cars that made putting this in after production more problematic? I could be wrong.....
I had heard the same. I really want an alarm but with my '09 don't think I'm prewired. Anyone know if I am? I'm gonna go look for the hood switch...
__________________
Go Fast = 2009 E92 M3 DCT
Go Anywhere = 2011 Ford F150 Raptor 6.2L
B.Hallowell is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-18-2010, 11:37 AM   #95
DiamondGCoupe
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2010 E92 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 152
iTrader: (0)

You should be pre-wired in an M3 regardless of year. If it were an '08 I'd say maybe not. Any ideas if I just install the alarm and motion sensor, it will work without errors? Don't care about the hood sensor.
__________________
2010 E92 M3 - Alpine White Mine on 11/2/09 CarDomain
2008 G37S Coupe - Sold
DiamondGCoupe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-18-2010, 11:59 AM   #96
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,496
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Alarm hood switch location

Quote:
Originally Posted by Engle View Post
I had heard the same. I really want an alarm but with my '09 don't think I'm prewired. Anyone know if I am? I'm gonna go look for the hood switch...
Here is the hood switch, at the front corner of the driver's side cabin air intake housing...
Attached Images
 
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2010, 12:55 AM   #97
unclejesse1
Private First Class
 
Drives: 13 f13 M6 Sakhir, 12 GTR SS
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irvine/Pasadena

Posts: 135
iTrader: (0)

will this work for the 2010 models?
unclejesse1 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      09-10-2010, 11:22 AM   #98
elp_jc
Brigadier General
 
Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

Posts: 4,910
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by unclejesse1 View Post
will this work for the 2010 models?
If not prewired, evidenced by the hood switch pictured above, you're out of luck. The cut-off date was somewhere in '09, I believe, so some '09s were still prewired. The only option after that was to get the factory alarm, which was a stand alone option, until it became part of a package in '11 models, I think. Do a search for more precise information.

And a side comment, the hood switch is monitored even when alarm is not installed. Disconnected it on my car, and got an error; had to reconnect it again, but I rerouted the wire a different (and much better) way, without the clip that attaches it to the cover, so now I can just remove the cover when bleeding brake fluid, etc., rather than having to flip it due to that stupid wire. Good day.
elp_jc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-22-2010, 10:22 AM   #99
unclejesse1
Private First Class
 
Drives: 13 f13 M6 Sakhir, 12 GTR SS
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irvine/Pasadena

Posts: 135
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elp_jc View Post
If not prewired, evidenced by the hood switch pictured above, you're out of luck. The cut-off date was somewhere in '09, I believe, so some '09s were still prewired. The only option after that was to get the factory alarm, which was a stand alone option, until it became part of a package in '11 models, I think. Do a search for more precise information.

And a side comment, the hood switch is monitored even when alarm is not installed. Disconnected it on my car, and got an error; had to reconnect it again, but I rerouted the wire a different (and much better) way, without the clip that attaches it to the cover, so now I can just remove the cover when bleeding brake fluid, etc., rather than having to flip it due to that stupid wire. Good day.
tks for the advice
unclejesse1 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      12-31-2010, 07:59 PM   #100
douglasdriver
Registered
 
Drives: E-90
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

I have a 2006 325i, can anyone explain to me why my rear dome light housing's louvers are not cut out? Without them open there is no motion sensor. For those still looking I just bought a BMW alarm on ebay for 225.00 from a dealer. My dealer here in Chicago would not match the price. Install and programing was three hours, programing alone was two hours.
douglasdriver is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2011, 08:02 AM   #101
racedoc11
Major
 
racedoc11's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Audi RS5 & 2008 M3 E93
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA

Posts: 1,202
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2013 Audi RS5  [5.00]
2008 E93 M3  [5.00]
Installed mine 6 months ago. It took me 45 min while the dealer wanted 4 hours (3.5 installtion and 30 min activation). I ended up finding a dealer who charged me only 1 hour for activation.
racedoc11 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2011, 12:18 PM   #102
Joonsup
Lieutenant General
 
Joonsup's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3, E30 325i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bay Area

Posts: 17,311
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [4.75]
Send a message via AIM to Joonsup
so on the M3 alarm is prewired for 08s and some of 09s?
Joonsup is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      02-09-2011, 03:37 PM   #103
mainstray
NSDQ
 
mainstray's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Jersey

Posts: 322
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 E92 M3  [0.00]
Subscribed! Will be doing this soon!
mainstray is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-07-2011, 02:20 PM   #104
mdosu
Banned
 
Drives: Double Vanos'd Civic-M3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 8,517
iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
Here is the hood switch, at the front corner of the driver's side cabin air intake housing...
sorry, what are we looking at? The black things sticking out in the center of the pic?
mdosu is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      03-07-2011, 02:33 PM   #105
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,496
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdosu View Post
sorry, what are we looking at? The black things sticking out in the center of the pic?
Yes, I should have marked it - the black button to the right of the strut bolts.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350

Last edited by GregW / Oregon; 05-17-2011 at 09:49 AM.
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2011, 09:13 AM   #106
1MOREMOD
2014 Track Days - 9|Ridge 1:52:25|Pacific 1:35:72
 
1MOREMOD's Avatar
 
Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

Posts: 11,946
iTrader: (5)

hey greg im looking to do this on my 08 where is the best place to get the alarm now? i was told some 08s come with a different dome light set up that wont work with the alarm motion sensor and would require a new one at a cost of 200?
__________________

02 Tiag e46 M3|6MT|GC plates|MCS c.o.|GC bars|GC race control arms|GC bushings & bearings|BW eng. & tran. mounts|subframe kit|BW race shifter|BW Jaffster|Euro header|BW race|K&N c.a.i.|Epic race tune|Rouge pulleys|Seibon CF hood|CSL bumper|ST-40|XR-2|SS lines|half cage|Recaro profi|Profi 2 harness|BMWpedals|BW studs|
1MOREMOD is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-17-2011, 09:52 AM   #107
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,496
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by chriszeh View Post
hey greg im looking to do this on my 08 where is the best place to get the alarm now? i was told some 08s come with a different dome light set up that wont work with the alarm motion sensor and would require a new one at a cost of 200?
I have not looked for the alarm units lately - you'll have to search around. I have not heard of the difference in dome units, either - mine was a very early '08 and worked fine. Sorry I can't be more help.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2011, 12:20 AM   #108
1MOREMOD
2014 Track Days - 9|Ridge 1:52:25|Pacific 1:35:72
 
1MOREMOD's Avatar
 
Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

Posts: 11,946
iTrader: (5)

i just ordered one from circle since that was mentioned earlier in this thread. 259$ so still not too bad. got a quote of 122 for the coding at bmw seattle.
__________________

02 Tiag e46 M3|6MT|GC plates|MCS c.o.|GC bars|GC race control arms|GC bushings & bearings|BW eng. & tran. mounts|subframe kit|BW race shifter|BW Jaffster|Euro header|BW race|K&N c.a.i.|Epic race tune|Rouge pulleys|Seibon CF hood|CSL bumper|ST-40|XR-2|SS lines|half cage|Recaro profi|Profi 2 harness|BMWpedals|BW studs|
1MOREMOD is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2011, 01:20 AM   #109
The General
The General
 
The General's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.5 M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA

Posts: 483
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011.5 M3  [5.00]
what actually triggers the Alarm on the E92?
__________________
E92 M3
2011.5 AW / DCT / ZCV / ZP2 / Heated Seats (SOLD)
The General is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2011, 10:44 AM   #110
1MOREMOD
2014 Track Days - 9|Ridge 1:52:25|Pacific 1:35:72
 
1MOREMOD's Avatar
 
Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

Posts: 11,946
iTrader: (5)

i believe a door, hood or trunk being open, jacking up the vehicle to steal wheels or tow sets off the motion sensor and movement in the cabin sets it off as well.
__________________

02 Tiag e46 M3|6MT|GC plates|MCS c.o.|GC bars|GC race control arms|GC bushings & bearings|BW eng. & tran. mounts|subframe kit|BW race shifter|BW Jaffster|Euro header|BW race|K&N c.a.i.|Epic race tune|Rouge pulleys|Seibon CF hood|CSL bumper|ST-40|XR-2|SS lines|half cage|Recaro profi|Profi 2 harness|BMWpedals|BW studs|
1MOREMOD is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST