BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > DIY Guides/ Discussions
 
GT Haus
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-26-2010, 12:20 PM   #89
JohnnyRoaster
Captain
JohnnyRoaster's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
944
Posts

Drives: 09 Jerez Black M3 Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Outside Beantown

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by H8cold View Post
Installed my alarm had it activiated, but no motion sensor? why?
I don't think the vert has a motion sensor built in for the alarm. It works in my sedan if I leave the windows down, activate the alarm and then stick my hands in the car. The siren is not very loud but enough for people close by to hear.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2010, 12:25 PM   #90
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
United_States
162
Rep
7,750
Posts

Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Motion sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyRoaster View Post
I don't think the vert has a motion sensor built in for the alarm. It works in my sedan if I leave the windows down, activate the alarm and then stick my hands in the car. The siren is not very loud but enough for people close by to hear.
All models have a motion sensor. In the coupe, the windows (and sunroof) must be completely closed for it to function (this is unlike my E46, where you could trigger it by sticking you arm through an open window). I'm not sure why the sedan would be different. In the convertible, the interior is monitored up to the height of the seat cushions even with the roof open (meaning it can be triggered if the roof is open and there is a falling leaf, etc.). The motion sensor can be switched off if you press the lock button on the remote immediately after first locking the car. It resets when the vehicle is unlocked.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2010, 04:12 PM   #91
aajami
Brigadier General
aajami's Avatar
United_States
114
Rep
4,301
Posts

Drives: Space Gray '09 E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA

iTrader: (4)

I had the alarm activated by my dealer this morning, and it works like a charm. Great DIY.
__________________
'09 E92 M3: Space Gray, Black, Carbon Leather | ZTP 2MK ZPP 2MT 6FL | link 1 / link 2
Mods: M Performance exhaust | ZCP retrofit | Euro airbox | GTS DCT flash | JPN 240 ECU flash | Euro LCI taillights | CRT lip | OEM alarm retrofit | Space Gray bumper plugs | BMW Performance: Mk. II spoiler / Mk. II non-electronic steering wheel / mirror caps / front grilles / side gills / intake louvers / emblem
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2010, 07:44 PM   #92
DiamondGCoupe
Private First Class
United_States
6
Rep
162
Posts

Drives: 2015 F28 M4
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (0)

I'm just installing the siren for now. Don't want to mess with the hood sensor or break the light area installing the motion sensor. This will at least make the doors beep on exit? And after I take it to the dealer tomorrow I can install the rest if I want at any point? Would it need to be reprogrammed?
__________________
2015 F82 M4 - Yas Marina
2010 E92 M3 - Alpine White - Sold
2008 G37S Coupe - Sold
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2010, 01:23 PM   #93
Georgeair
Captain
10
Rep
757
Posts

Drives: '08 Melbourne E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: McKinney, TX

iTrader: (2)

The light area is really a no-brainer and easy to do without risk of damage. You could be pretty hamfisted and still not bust it. Assuming the wiring is there for the hood, that should be quick as well and you shoudl just do them all. Not sure what happens when trying to program a half-installation.

Also, I thought there was an issue with the '10 cars that made putting this in after production more problematic? I could be wrong.....
__________________
Objects in mirror are slower than they appear.
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2010, 11:08 AM   #94
B.Hallowell
Second Lieutenant
B.Hallowell's Avatar
10
Rep
294
Posts

Drives: 2009 AW E92 M3 DCT
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Doylestown PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgeair View Post
The light area is really a no-brainer and easy to do without risk of damage. You could be pretty hamfisted and still not bust it. Assuming the wiring is there for the hood, that should be quick as well and you shoudl just do them all. Not sure what happens when trying to program a half-installation.

Also, I thought there was an issue with the '10 cars that made putting this in after production more problematic? I could be wrong.....
I had heard the same. I really want an alarm but with my '09 don't think I'm prewired. Anyone know if I am? I'm gonna go look for the hood switch...
__________________
Go Fast = 2009 E92 M3 DCT
Go Anywhere = 2011 Ford F150 Raptor 6.2L
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2010, 12:37 PM   #95
DiamondGCoupe
Private First Class
United_States
6
Rep
162
Posts

Drives: 2015 F28 M4
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (0)

You should be pre-wired in an M3 regardless of year. If it were an '08 I'd say maybe not. Any ideas if I just install the alarm and motion sensor, it will work without errors? Don't care about the hood sensor.
__________________
2015 F82 M4 - Yas Marina
2010 E92 M3 - Alpine White - Sold
2008 G37S Coupe - Sold
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2010, 12:59 PM   #96
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
United_States
162
Rep
7,750
Posts

Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Alarm hood switch location

Quote:
Originally Posted by Engle View Post
I had heard the same. I really want an alarm but with my '09 don't think I'm prewired. Anyone know if I am? I'm gonna go look for the hood switch...
Here is the hood switch, at the front corner of the driver's side cabin air intake housing...
Attached Images
 
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2010, 01:55 AM   #97
unclejesse1
Private First Class
Philippines
1
Rep
135
Posts

Drives: 13 f13 M6 Sakhir, 12 GTR SS
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irvine/Pasadena

iTrader: (0)

will this work for the 2010 models?
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2010, 12:22 PM   #98
elp_jc
Brigadier General
United_States
83
Rep
4,910
Posts

Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by unclejesse1 View Post
will this work for the 2010 models?
If not prewired, evidenced by the hood switch pictured above, you're out of luck. The cut-off date was somewhere in '09, I believe, so some '09s were still prewired. The only option after that was to get the factory alarm, which was a stand alone option, until it became part of a package in '11 models, I think. Do a search for more precise information.

And a side comment, the hood switch is monitored even when alarm is not installed. Disconnected it on my car, and got an error; had to reconnect it again, but I rerouted the wire a different (and much better) way, without the clip that attaches it to the cover, so now I can just remove the cover when bleeding brake fluid, etc., rather than having to flip it due to that stupid wire. Good day.
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2010, 11:22 AM   #99
unclejesse1
Private First Class
Philippines
1
Rep
135
Posts

Drives: 13 f13 M6 Sakhir, 12 GTR SS
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irvine/Pasadena

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elp_jc View Post
If not prewired, evidenced by the hood switch pictured above, you're out of luck. The cut-off date was somewhere in '09, I believe, so some '09s were still prewired. The only option after that was to get the factory alarm, which was a stand alone option, until it became part of a package in '11 models, I think. Do a search for more precise information.

And a side comment, the hood switch is monitored even when alarm is not installed. Disconnected it on my car, and got an error; had to reconnect it again, but I rerouted the wire a different (and much better) way, without the clip that attaches it to the cover, so now I can just remove the cover when bleeding brake fluid, etc., rather than having to flip it due to that stupid wire. Good day.
tks for the advice
Appreciate 0
      12-31-2010, 08:59 PM   #100
douglasdriver
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: E-90
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

I have a 2006 325i, can anyone explain to me why my rear dome light housing's louvers are not cut out? Without them open there is no motion sensor. For those still looking I just bought a BMW alarm on ebay for 225.00 from a dealer. My dealer here in Chicago would not match the price. Install and programing was three hours, programing alone was two hours.
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2011, 09:02 AM   #101
Race_Doc11
Major
Race_Doc11's Avatar
United_States
32
Rep
1,315
Posts

Drives: 2013 Audi RS5 & 08 M3 E93 SOLD
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2013 Audi RS5  [5.00]
2008 E93 M3  [5.00]
Installed mine 6 months ago. It took me 45 min while the dealer wanted 4 hours (3.5 installtion and 30 min activation). I ended up finding a dealer who charged me only 1 hour for activation.
Appreciate 0
      01-06-2011, 01:18 PM   #102
Joonsup
Lieutenant General
Joonsup's Avatar
South Korea
197
Rep
17,311
Posts

Drives: E92 M3, E30 325i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [4.75]
Send a message via AIM to Joonsup
so on the M3 alarm is prewired for 08s and some of 09s?
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2011, 04:37 PM   #103
mainstray
NSDQ
mainstray's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
328
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Jersey

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 E92 M3  [0.00]
Subscribed! Will be doing this soon!
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2011, 03:20 PM   #104
mdosu
Banned
No_Country
127
Rep
8,517
Posts

Drives: Double Vanos'd Civic-M3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
Here is the hood switch, at the front corner of the driver's side cabin air intake housing...
sorry, what are we looking at? The black things sticking out in the center of the pic?
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2011, 03:33 PM   #105
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
United_States
162
Rep
7,750
Posts

Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdosu View Post
sorry, what are we looking at? The black things sticking out in the center of the pic?
Yes, I should have marked it - the black button to the right of the strut bolts.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350

Last edited by GregW / Oregon; 05-17-2011 at 10:49 AM.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 10:13 AM   #106
1MOREMOD
2015 Track Days - 5|Ridge 1:52:24|Pacific 1:35:72
1MOREMOD's Avatar
United_States
253
Rep
14,162
Posts

Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

iTrader: (5)

hey greg im looking to do this on my 08 where is the best place to get the alarm now? i was told some 08s come with a different dome light set up that wont work with the alarm motion sensor and would require a new one at a cost of 200?
__________________

02 Tiag e46 M3|6MT|GC plates|MCS c.o.|GC bars|GC race control arms|GC bushings|BW eng. & tran. mounts|subframe kit|BW race shifter|BW Jaffster|Euro header|BW exhaust|K&N c.a.i.|Epic race tune|Rouge pulleys|Seibon CF hood|CSL bumper|apr gt 250 & splitter|ST-40|XR-2|SS lines|half cage|Recaro profi|Profi 2 harness|BMWpedals|BW studs|
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 10:52 AM   #107
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
United_States
162
Rep
7,750
Posts

Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by chriszeh View Post
hey greg im looking to do this on my 08 where is the best place to get the alarm now? i was told some 08s come with a different dome light set up that wont work with the alarm motion sensor and would require a new one at a cost of 200?
I have not looked for the alarm units lately - you'll have to search around. I have not heard of the difference in dome units, either - mine was a very early '08 and worked fine. Sorry I can't be more help.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2011, 01:20 AM   #108
1MOREMOD
2015 Track Days - 5|Ridge 1:52:24|Pacific 1:35:72
1MOREMOD's Avatar
United_States
253
Rep
14,162
Posts

Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

iTrader: (5)

i just ordered one from circle since that was mentioned earlier in this thread. 259$ so still not too bad. got a quote of 122 for the coding at bmw seattle.
__________________

02 Tiag e46 M3|6MT|GC plates|MCS c.o.|GC bars|GC race control arms|GC bushings|BW eng. & tran. mounts|subframe kit|BW race shifter|BW Jaffster|Euro header|BW exhaust|K&N c.a.i.|Epic race tune|Rouge pulleys|Seibon CF hood|CSL bumper|apr gt 250 & splitter|ST-40|XR-2|SS lines|half cage|Recaro profi|Profi 2 harness|BMWpedals|BW studs|
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2011, 02:20 AM   #109
The General
The General
The General's Avatar
8
Rep
486
Posts

Drives: 2011.5 M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NJ

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011.5 M3  [5.00]
what actually triggers the Alarm on the E92?
__________________
E92 M3
2011.5 AW / DCT / ZCV / ZP2 / Heated Seats (SOLD)
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2011, 11:44 AM   #110
1MOREMOD
2015 Track Days - 5|Ridge 1:52:24|Pacific 1:35:72
1MOREMOD's Avatar
United_States
253
Rep
14,162
Posts

Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

iTrader: (5)

i believe a door, hood or trunk being open, jacking up the vehicle to steal wheels or tow sets off the motion sensor and movement in the cabin sets it off as well.
__________________

02 Tiag e46 M3|6MT|GC plates|MCS c.o.|GC bars|GC race control arms|GC bushings|BW eng. & tran. mounts|subframe kit|BW race shifter|BW Jaffster|Euro header|BW exhaust|K&N c.a.i.|Epic race tune|Rouge pulleys|Seibon CF hood|CSL bumper|apr gt 250 & splitter|ST-40|XR-2|SS lines|half cage|Recaro profi|Profi 2 harness|BMWpedals|BW studs|
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:06 PM.




m3post
m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST