BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
INDustry distribution
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-29-2008, 11:56 PM   #1
wuufer001
Colonel
 
wuufer001's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 E90 M/T
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: DFW, TX//Taiwan//South Africa

Posts: 2,303
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 325i  [4.67]
Memory stick help

i got the sony ericsson k850i camera phone and it only came with a 512mb MS M2, was wondering if i put in a 8gb will it make the phone run slow?
__________________
wuufer001 is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      05-30-2008, 05:00 AM   #2
hks786
Major General
 
Drives: *
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK

Posts: 5,347
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wuufer001 View Post
i got the sony ericsson k850i camera phone and it only came with a 512mb MS M2, was wondering if i put in a 8gb will it make the phone run slow?
I would say probably yes. In my experience, when people put in high capacity memory in phones and store a lot of things the phone starts to run slow. Even simple menu functions lag and take time to load.

Anyone else think so too?
__________________
hks786 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-30-2008, 09:24 AM   #3
UncleWede
Long Time Admirer, First Time Owner
 
UncleWede's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i Arctic
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oxnard, CA

Posts: 2,272
iTrader: (0)

I just got my first phone with a memory card that I could store things. I put one picture via the phone camera, about 50 contacts, and my USC Fight Song ringer. Things have already slowed down, from "boot-up" to menu choices. I didn't have the BT synched yet, not sure if the voice command is just slow in general, or slower with the extra data. It's only the standard 256 card.
UncleWede is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-30-2008, 12:13 PM   #4
wuufer001
Colonel
 
wuufer001's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 E90 M/T
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: DFW, TX//Taiwan//South Africa

Posts: 2,303
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 325i  [4.67]
i previously had the sony K810i with 1gb M2 and nokia N80 with 2 GB micro SD but it seemed like they were running fine, just worried that maybe 8GB might be too much for the phone to handle.
__________________
wuufer001 is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      05-30-2008, 01:13 PM   #5
hks786
Major General
 
Drives: *
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK

Posts: 5,347
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wuufer001 View Post
i previously had the sony K810i with 1gb M2 and nokia N80 with 2 GB micro SD but it seemed like they were running fine, just worried that maybe 8GB might be too much for the phone to handle.
Yeah not all phones will suffer. Some come standard with fairly big memory and obviously can handle it. IMO it might be an issue for your phone because 8GB is very big compared to 1 or 2GB memory.
__________________
hks786 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-30-2008, 04:05 PM   #6
Year's_End
Local Jabroni
 
Year's_End's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: St. Pete, FL

Posts: 12,032
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hks786 View Post
I would say probably yes. In my experience, when people put in high capacity memory in phones and store a lot of things the phone starts to run slow. Even simple menu functions lag and take time to load.

Anyone else think so too?
Um, YES. My BB Pearl has slowed to a crawl now that I have stored so much onto its memory card.
__________________
E92 335i: Space Grey|Coral Red|Aluminum Trim

Hold out for the BRZ STI or... Rocket Bunny FRS. Update: Scratch that. I've got a 2015 5.0/6MT with my name on it.
Year's_End is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-30-2008, 04:51 PM   #7
wuufer001
Colonel
 
wuufer001's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 E90 M/T
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: DFW, TX//Taiwan//South Africa

Posts: 2,303
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2006 325i  [4.67]
cause since its a 5mp camera i was thinking that i won't have to carry a digicam everywhere. well if it might mess up the performance then i might try the 4 gb first to see how it goes
__________________
wuufer001 is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      05-30-2008, 10:13 PM   #8
ska325xi
Major General
 
ska325xi's Avatar
 
Drives: 325XI
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Boston

Posts: 7,797
iTrader: (28)

Garage List
2006 325xi  [0.00]
yea..it does, same to my phone and my gf's phone

maybe there's not enough cache..ok, didn't mean to get technical in here
ska325xi is offline   Hong Kong
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST