BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
Stick to Clutch
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-29-2007, 09:27 PM   #1
533ogetnom
Banned
 
Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida

Posts: 1,760
iTrader: (1)

any BMW overclockers?

anyone want to shoot the shit about current PC hardware/ brag about your rigs.

right now im running an old 3700 sandiego, but im building a new rig in the coming weeks; going for either a q6600 SLACR or a E6850

hoping to run 450x8 (or 9 if i can manage it on air) 1:1

also having a custom polycarbonate case built for this one :rocks:


anyone running some crazy OCs or rigs?
533ogetnom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2007, 09:40 PM   #2
esbezee92
Lieutenant
 
esbezee92's Avatar
 
Drives: Montego 328i Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SoCal

Posts: 500
iTrader: (1)

i got a dell?
esbezee92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2007, 10:17 PM   #3
533ogetnom
Banned
 
Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida

Posts: 1,760
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by esbezee92 View Post
i got a dell?
then this isn't the thread for you
533ogetnom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-29-2007, 10:31 PM   #4
hl0m4n
Brigadier General
 
hl0m4n's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

Posts: 4,838
iTrader: (41)

you talking about oc cpu?

im running 3.73ghz 1033fsb on a simple x850 pe agp

bro got a amd fx-57 or 58 i forgot which one i used when i built his pc on a 8800.

so i got a nvidia and ati. :0
hl0m4n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-31-2007, 03:29 PM   #5
533ogetnom
Banned
 
Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida

Posts: 1,760
iTrader: (1)

http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/...Number=4378525

mmmm yummy
533ogetnom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-31-2007, 04:19 PM   #6
///Matt
United States Marine
 
///Matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 Dodge Ram 1500
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 2,749
iTrader: (8)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to ///Matt
I've got a just slightly outdated socket 939 AMD dual core 64 bit, I believe it's got the 3800+ in it right now... I had a better one but it burned up because my case doesn't cool well. =( Got a 7300gt pci-e 512mb, waiting to pick up a second for the SLi (yum). got 3gb of ram, and a 250gb harddrive.... I don't want to overclock it, since I burned one processor already, and now they aren't making any more 939's, since they've moved on.


But I think I'm gonna sell the whole thing and start from scratch. I want bigger/better/faster everything, and a water cooled cpu.
///Matt is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-03-2007, 02:20 PM   #7
hl0m4n
Brigadier General
 
hl0m4n's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

Posts: 4,838
iTrader: (41)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///Matt View Post
I've got a just slightly outdated socket 939 AMD dual core 64 bit, I believe it's got the 3800+ in it right now... I had a better one but it burned up because my case doesn't cool well. =( Got a 7300gt pci-e 512mb, waiting to pick up a second for the SLi (yum). got 3gb of ram, and a 250gb harddrive.... I don't want to overclock it, since I burned one processor already, and now they aren't making any more 939's, since they've moved on.


But I think I'm gonna sell the whole thing and start from scratch. I want bigger/better/faster everything, and a water cooled cpu.
get vapochill i currently got koolance exos on mine and waterchill on bros.
hl0m4n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 09:16 AM   #8
Josh49
Major General
 
Drives: E90 325xi
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 6,666
iTrader: (33)

weekend. I ended up buying a desktop to get more performance for my money, potential upgrades, etc. I already had wirless keyboard, mouse, monitor, etc. Bought the HP Pavilion Desktop PC (A-6130-N).

Very capable desktop I thought. 3GB of DDR2 memory, 400 GB Hard Drive. AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ (dual 2.6)

Now background. Mostly I use this computer for internet, word processing, etc. I have a beast at work to handle the rest of the stuff I do.

When I was in circuit city, I decided between getting this system and a lower one. I have a copy of Halo I bought a long time ago, and I've never really been able to run it too well on the computers I have. So I bought this desktop in the hopes that it would run Halo very very well. Well, it's not running well, or even close to well..

I spent yesterday getting the computer optimized. Turning off all the crap. Deleting the software I don't need, defragging, deleting temp files, etc. The one thing I put on there that naturally slows it down a lot is Norton Internet Security, but I want that on there.

Vista is a huge PITA btw, for anyone wondering. I'd take XP any day over this garbage.. Anyhow, Long story short, this computer is incredible for everything, blindingly fast opening documents, folders, webpages, etc.

But Halo (1) is really really choppy. Even on the lowest res. It comes with an NVIDIA® GeForce™ 6150 SE graphics with up to 632MB of video memory—128MB dedicated. I was under the assumption that this was a capable video card however after reading reviews it looks like it's just good for everyday stuff (pictures, videos, etc) and not really gaming.

So
a) should I just pick up a new video card? It seems the rest of the computer is solid enough, maybe I keep this computer and add a much more solid graphics card??
b) any recommendations on video cards?
c) One guy on a forum said to make sure the PSU was strong enough to handle whatever video card you might upgrade to. What's the easiest way to confirm how strong the PSU is, and whether or not there's enough juice to run a new card I might buy..

Overall very happy with the computer. It's awesome, especially for what I need. But if I could run Halo, or pick up the new Halo 2, and run them really seemlessly and smooth, I think I'd be even more psyched about this system.

Thanks in advance..
Josh49
__________________

E90 325XI, MYSTIC BLUE ON BLACK/ALUM, STEP, NAV, PDC, CWP, XENON, SIRIUS, ALARM, MUD GUARDS, CLEARBRA, CHROME GRILLS AND TIPS, VALENTINE 1 (HARDWIRED), HO CERAMIC 40%, 161'S, REAR FOG MOD, LUX 4.0, BLACKLINES, OEM PEDALS, MTEC FOGS, GRUPPE-M REP INTAKE. 156'S AND RUBBER MATS FOR THE WINTER.
Josh49 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 09:30 AM   #9
GraphiteBrawler
Elton John Impersonator
 
GraphiteBrawler's Avatar
 
Drives: Graphite E92 335I coupe
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Doylestown, PA

Posts: 275
iTrader: (0)

I'm not even going to look at this thread, If I do, I'll be typing up the specs for my 4, Quad core, liquid chilled, 4x 1tb in a Raid 0, gaming rigs.

Oh, and each has the new Dell 27 inch widescreen
__________________
'07 E92 335I : Sparkling Graphite /Steptronic W/paddles/Premium Package/Sport Package/Grey leather W/grey Poplar wood trim. 19" Iforged Essen, 20% tint, OEM front Lip
GraphiteBrawler is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 09:33 AM   #10
Josh49
Major General
 
Drives: E90 325xi
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 6,666
iTrader: (33)

PS on my post - I have a DVI input to my monitor, and the DVI cable as well. If said recommended graphics card had a DVI output, that would be great..
__________________

E90 325XI, MYSTIC BLUE ON BLACK/ALUM, STEP, NAV, PDC, CWP, XENON, SIRIUS, ALARM, MUD GUARDS, CLEARBRA, CHROME GRILLS AND TIPS, VALENTINE 1 (HARDWIRED), HO CERAMIC 40%, 161'S, REAR FOG MOD, LUX 4.0, BLACKLINES, OEM PEDALS, MTEC FOGS, GRUPPE-M REP INTAKE. 156'S AND RUBBER MATS FOR THE WINTER.
Josh49 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 12:57 PM   #11
533ogetnom
Banned
 
Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida

Posts: 1,760
iTrader: (1)

yea evrything that guy told you was true for the most part, he sort of left out the part where you need to make sure you can even put in a new graphics card though, it sounds to me like your card is an INTEGRATED card, which meens its permanently on the MOBO, not sure if you have a PCI-E or AGP slot to upgrade with

as for the card, you wont need anything like an 8800GTS as you will be limited by the CPU anyway

but first you need to find out if you have the expansion slots or not

how much did you pay for it by the way (and did anyone else catch the 3gb memory O_o)
533ogetnom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 12:59 PM   #12
533ogetnom
Banned
 
Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida

Posts: 1,760
iTrader: (1)

now that this thread dug up
i went with a q6600 g0, going to be sexy, aiming for 450 x 8 1:1 @ < 60 degrees (yea right)
533ogetnom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 12:59 PM   #13
noktekniq
Colonel
 
noktekniq's Avatar
 
Drives: e90
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: US

Posts: 2,032
iTrader: (3)

yeh i'm a on c2d clocked @ 3.95ghz. 90% overclock on fan
noktekniq is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 01:12 PM   #14
Josh49
Major General
 
Drives: E90 325xi
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 6,666
iTrader: (33)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 533ogetnom View Post
yea evrything that guy told you was true for the most part, he sort of left out the part where you need to make sure you can even put in a new graphics card though, it sounds to me like your card is an INTEGRATED card, which meens its permanently on the MOBO, not sure if you have a PCI-E or AGP slot to upgrade with

as for the card, you wont need anything like an 8800GTS as you will be limited by the CPU anyway

but first you need to find out if you have the expansion slots or not

how much did you pay for it by the way (and did anyone else catch the 3gb memory O_o)
Did a lot of research on my setup. The geforce 6150 se is an intregrated set. It looks like the gaming world thinks anything is crap, and to get a dedicated card. Here is a link to the computer:
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/HP-Pa...oductDetail.do

This is the video card I think I might put in:
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/eVGA-...oductDetail.do

Any way to check compatability, see if there will be enough juice for it?

Josh

PS, There is a pci-express x16 slot

as well as a pci-express x1 slot..

So it looks like slot wise I should be okay. Any way to check power?
__________________

E90 325XI, MYSTIC BLUE ON BLACK/ALUM, STEP, NAV, PDC, CWP, XENON, SIRIUS, ALARM, MUD GUARDS, CLEARBRA, CHROME GRILLS AND TIPS, VALENTINE 1 (HARDWIRED), HO CERAMIC 40%, 161'S, REAR FOG MOD, LUX 4.0, BLACKLINES, OEM PEDALS, MTEC FOGS, GRUPPE-M REP INTAKE. 156'S AND RUBBER MATS FOR THE WINTER.
Josh49 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 01:28 PM   #15
533ogetnom
Banned
 
Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida

Posts: 1,760
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh49 View Post
Did a lot of research on my setup. The geforce 6150 se is an intregrated set. It looks like the gaming world thinks anything is crap, and to get a dedicated card. Here is a link to the computer:
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/HP-Pa...oductDetail.do

This is the video card I think I might put in:
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/eVGA-...oductDetail.do

Any way to check compatability, see if there will be enough juice for it?

Josh

PS, There is a pci-express x16 slot

as well as a pci-express x1 slot..

So it looks like slot wise I should be okay. Any way to check power?

well the easiest IMO (because i dont have to to anything) would be for you to crack open the case and take the PSU out, they usually have their specs printed on them (on the top or sire thats covered by the case <_< ) and if you post those i could tell you if its enough

or if you can find a model number anywhere

other than that you could try searching for what PSU it is online and maybe get luck
533ogetnom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 01:30 PM   #16
Josh49
Major General
 
Drives: E90 325xi
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 6,666
iTrader: (33)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 533ogetnom View Post
well the easiest IMO (because i dont have to to anything) would be for you to crack open the case and take the PSU out, they usually have their specs printed on them (on the top or sire thats covered by the case <_< ) and if you post those i could tell you if its enough

or if you can find a model number anywhere

other than that you could try searching for what PSU it is online and maybe get luck
In your experience, would you think the computer would be capable of handling this video card or no.. Seems like it should be okay..
__________________

E90 325XI, MYSTIC BLUE ON BLACK/ALUM, STEP, NAV, PDC, CWP, XENON, SIRIUS, ALARM, MUD GUARDS, CLEARBRA, CHROME GRILLS AND TIPS, VALENTINE 1 (HARDWIRED), HO CERAMIC 40%, 161'S, REAR FOG MOD, LUX 4.0, BLACKLINES, OEM PEDALS, MTEC FOGS, GRUPPE-M REP INTAKE. 156'S AND RUBBER MATS FOR THE WINTER.
Josh49 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 01:45 PM   #17
533ogetnom
Banned
 
Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida

Posts: 1,760
iTrader: (1)

in my experience, i have no idea

the little experience i have with HP goes way back to a little 400mhz POS, but given that they are HP they cut corners and save money everywhere they can, so the PSU may be only enough for the PC


heres the req:
Minimum of a 350 Watt power supply.
(Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 22 Amp Amps.)


the pc SHOULD have that much as its pretty low, but again its HP you never know
533ogetnom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 01:56 PM   #18
Josh49
Major General
 
Drives: E90 325xi
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 6,666
iTrader: (33)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 533ogetnom View Post
in my experience, i have no idea

the little experience i have with HP goes way back to a little 400mhz POS, but given that they are HP they cut corners and save money everywhere they can, so the PSU may be only enough for the PC


heres the req:
Minimum of a 350 Watt power supply.
(Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 22 Amp Amps.)


the pc SHOULD have that much as its pretty low, but again its HP you never know
Found it. This is what the pc has:
250-watt (max) power supply (Zinfandel), Bestec ATX-250-12V) - 100-120VAC and 200-240VAC input (switch selectable), 50/60Hz .

Crap.
__________________

E90 325XI, MYSTIC BLUE ON BLACK/ALUM, STEP, NAV, PDC, CWP, XENON, SIRIUS, ALARM, MUD GUARDS, CLEARBRA, CHROME GRILLS AND TIPS, VALENTINE 1 (HARDWIRED), HO CERAMIC 40%, 161'S, REAR FOG MOD, LUX 4.0, BLACKLINES, OEM PEDALS, MTEC FOGS, GRUPPE-M REP INTAKE. 156'S AND RUBBER MATS FOR THE WINTER.
Josh49 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 02:00 PM   #19
533ogetnom
Banned
 
Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida

Posts: 1,760
iTrader: (1)

crap indeed, i cant believe its 250 watts... even back when i built an old 2700 thunderbird and 3200 barton i still had a 400+ watt PSU
533ogetnom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 02:01 PM   #20
533ogetnom
Banned
 
Drives: 335coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida

Posts: 1,760
iTrader: (1)

you may be able to get a new psu for as little as 50$ though
533ogetnom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 02:02 PM   #21
Josh49
Major General
 
Drives: E90 325xi
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 6,666
iTrader: (33)

Talking to an HP technician right now..
__________________

E90 325XI, MYSTIC BLUE ON BLACK/ALUM, STEP, NAV, PDC, CWP, XENON, SIRIUS, ALARM, MUD GUARDS, CLEARBRA, CHROME GRILLS AND TIPS, VALENTINE 1 (HARDWIRED), HO CERAMIC 40%, 161'S, REAR FOG MOD, LUX 4.0, BLACKLINES, OEM PEDALS, MTEC FOGS, GRUPPE-M REP INTAKE. 156'S AND RUBBER MATS FOR THE WINTER.
Josh49 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2007, 02:02 PM   #22
Josh49
Major General
 
Drives: E90 325xi
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 6,666
iTrader: (33)

Man 250 seems small, huh? There's your cost savings..
__________________

E90 325XI, MYSTIC BLUE ON BLACK/ALUM, STEP, NAV, PDC, CWP, XENON, SIRIUS, ALARM, MUD GUARDS, CLEARBRA, CHROME GRILLS AND TIPS, VALENTINE 1 (HARDWIRED), HO CERAMIC 40%, 161'S, REAR FOG MOD, LUX 4.0, BLACKLINES, OEM PEDALS, MTEC FOGS, GRUPPE-M REP INTAKE. 156'S AND RUBBER MATS FOR THE WINTER.
Josh49 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST