BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

Mporium BMW

11-20-2013, 06:12 PM   #1
blankstar43
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2012 e92 M3

First time at VIR

Went to VIR this past weekend with the PCA Carolinas region. This is my first year tracking and have been hooked since day 1. This is my 7th event and first time at VIR. We ran the Full Course both days and had decent weather except for a little dampness on the first morning.

I had only been to Roebling Road Raceway prior to this and I really enjoyed it there, but VIR was a lot more fun and exciting. The PCA Carolinas region put on a pretty well organized event despite being confined to the South paddock.

Thought I'd share a video of my last session on day 2 to get some feedback. I ran in the Blue group all weekend and this was the only session I went out without my instructor. I know I have plenty to work on so bring on all the positive criticism .

Only mods are 18x10 TRMotorsport MT1 wheels with 275/35/18 Hankook RS3 tires, ATE Super Blue brake fluid, StopTech Street Performance Brake Pads (which were brand new before I went, but basically started to disintegrate after I started getting quicker and were almost gone by the end of day 2) and an Akrapovic Evo exhaust.

Also I don't know why the video starts by skipping several minutes into it

11-20-2013, 07:11 PM   #2
LTNYC
Private
Rep
Drives: 2011 e92 M3

Exhaust sounds great! I'd say from your speed differential that you're ready for HPDE 2 with this group.. who were u running with?

VIR is my favorite, too bad it's a 9-hr schlep for me!

Some quick tips:
turn 1: take it later than you think you can, almost a throw away to set up 2 into 3; same with turn 4... right after 4 stay all the way left to start picking up momentum for the esses.