BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board

07-12-2009, 04:57 PM   #1
synclastica_86
Captain
Hong Kong
Rep
Drives: F32 435i, E92 M3, S550

Garage List
US Funds Only?

I've been getting pissed over this for years already. I am a student studying in the states. My parents are from Hong Kong. As a student, the majority of my spending is funded by my parents. They gave me a wallet full of supplementary credit cards and takes care of the statements. Other than that I'm near penniless. Here's the problem, many US websites only accepts cards issued by US banks. I even went as far as telling the bank in Hong Kong to change my official address to my house in PA. That still didn't work. I-tunes, Ralph Lauren, amazon music... nothing works. I love shopping online. It just seem so easy... click and the goodies just shows up on your door step a few days later. Why won't some companies accepts non-US funds? I understand why some companies won't ship internationally... but I'm not asking them to. They are just shipping to my US address.

This is even more bizarre. A few months ago my wife got a sony vaio with my Hong Kong card online. At first they called and said that the address didn't match and said that they only accept US funds. My wife was upset so I called sony and asked for the manager. After a short conversation, the manager said that she will make an exception for me. So they can indeed accept non-US funds. I just don't get why they won't.

Current: BMW F32 435iA M-Sports; BMW E92 M3, M-DCT; Mercedes W221 S550 4matic; Ford Fiesta ST; Nissan Silvia S15 Spec-R
Retired: BMW E93 323iA; BMW E85 Z4 3.0i, SMG; Lexus IS 250 AWD; Lexus GX 470; Mercedes W203 C230 Sportscoupe; Peugeot 206 S16; Peugeot 206 RC
Appreciate 0
      07-12-2009, 06:02 PM   #2
taliesen
Self Imposed Exile
Rep
Drives: 09 E90 328i