BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)

EXXEL Distributions

06-29-2009, 10:34 AM   #1
DirtyJersey
Private
Rep
Drives: M3

Lag issue worse with pulley

A word of caution for those considering doing a pulley install as this is what I’ve experienced. Please note I am not an expert and I am only stating the facts as I see them and am in no way associating the actual pulley as being the problem however I am experiencing a serious issue. Furthermore, I don’t see how the pulley could have caused this but it is what it is.

Symptoms:

Immediately after my pulley install I began seeing a serious lag. The infamous lag, as it’s been discussed here in great detail was there before however it is now to the point where it is ridiculous. The lag/ hesitation is upwards of a sec or two. From what I’ve observed it happens in 1st, 2nd and 3rd gears with 2nd being the worst. It could also be occurring with the higher gears however I’m not downshifting as much in those gears so I can’t say. So, I’m driving along, I downshift into 2nd as I’m slowing down and then begin to get back on the accelerator to begin accelerating again. The car hesitates for a second or even two then lurches forward with an abrupt spike in rev/acceleration and then smooths out into gear. It did this before the pulley install but it was WAY less obvious.

When it began:

The lag was there before as I have mentioned but it is terribly worse now and I am terrified of having done something wrong to my car. I posted clues of this issue cropping up in my first thread but it’s become very evident now. I am so paranoid that I am thinking of going back (which I’m dreading doing) to stock but wanted to know if that is the only thing to do.