BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board

05-21-2013, 10:37 AM   #1
erik2810
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: None

Career Help/Guidance

Mods my apologies in advance if this is in the wrong section. First a little background information...

I graduated in 2011 with a Finance degree and immediately entered into the work force off the strength of my resume (ALL aerospace/defense industry based). While I am very fortunate to have not only found job that quickly and one that pays well, I can't help but feel unhappy with where my career is headed. Once again, I am really thankful for the opportunity to work in something as big as the defense industry as it has allowed me to purchase my first home, my e90, and give financial breathing room to enjoy things outside of work. But in the end, I just can't fathom being in this same industry for 3, 5, 10, or 20+ years. I'm not miserable, I don't hate life, and I'm certainly not complaining. Just don't like where I'm heading.

I've always been interested in the automotive industry since I was young and still maintain that passion for it, in any/every capacity really. Motorsport, design, business, engineering; I love it all. However, due to a large early influence from parents (suggesting that the industry doesn't "pay the bills") and the wrong career path (should have went into engineering), I feel like I'm now stuck.

Now I know that nothing is "greener on the other side" but I can't help but feel that I should try, in some way or another. Anyone have any suggestions or maybe even the same notions?? I'm just ready for change and would love to hear from anyone out there that has either made the jump or felt tthe same.
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2013, 10:50 AM   #2
LuisBoston
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: '13 128i, '23 iX M60

Garage List
2023 BMW iX M60  [10.00]