BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > Regional Forums > USA - California

BPM

11-02-2012, 11:40 AM   #1
Cboy1
Murdered out M3
Rep
Drives: 2008 E92 M3

-eas Tune, Worth It?-

So I've been lurking the forums and even asked some local guys about the idea of doing a protune on my E92 M3. As far as mods go all I have is the RPI scoops, RPI GTM race exhaust system, and a BMC race drop in filter... I have a current CEL for obviously not having any cat's, and fear that I shouldn't be running this rich per say for too long? Question is will I feel any significant gains or consistent smooth power across the powerband? I'm a firm believer in tuning but I'm new to the M3 scene so just wanted some feedback, or should I simply have someone do a reflash to clear the CEL and call it a day.
Email: charlie.kim@mckennacars.com
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2012, 01:14 PM   #2
M3PO
Colonel
Rep
Drives: '08 IB E92

To be honest, I am pretty disappointed with my Evolve tune. It made negligible gains compared to the latest OEM software (231E at the time). It didn't "feel" very different. I don't know what alot of the people on here are raving about, saying that it "transforms the car!".

That said, I would probably have Mike Benvo tune it if I could do it again.
      11-02-2012, 02:16 PM   #3
///M Power-Belgium
General
Belgium
Rep
Drives: ///M3-E92-DCT Silverstone II

Quote:
Originally Posted by M3PO View Post
To be honest, I am pretty disappointed with my Evolve tune. It made negligible gains compared to the latest OEM software (231E at the time). It didn't "feel" very different. I don't know what alot of the people on here are raving about, saying that it "transforms the car!".

I have no tune...but i am thinking also about a tune frome Mike-Benvo,
because here in Belgium we have 98-ron octane,and then there would
be match more possible (+hp+torque)