BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > M3 vs....

EXXEL Distributions

04-17-2010, 08:38 AM   #1
Cabinetman
Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2015 GMC Sierra

Goodbye M3. Hello GT-R!

Last fall I purchased a 2010 E90 M3 to replace a 2008 Lexus IS-F. I had dreamed of owning an M3 since the early 90's when I was given a chance to drive an E30 M3.

Unfortunately the reality of owning a M3 wasn't what I had hoped. Please don't get me wrong, the M is an amazing car. It does a great job of being practical enough for everyday use yet still feel special when the opportunity comes to push it. If I was going to daily drive a performance car it would be hard to pick something better than the M. However, I found that I wasn't daily driving my M3. Being a small business owner I didn't feel comfortable driving my car to work. I prefer to keep a low profile there. This regulated the M to weekend toy. For me, the M is just a bit too civilized for a weekend toy. I realize mods could have changed this, however I'm somewhat mod adverse.

Enter the 2011 Nissan GT-R. This is a car the has had my attention since day one. I'm a sucker for technology and the GT-R delivers in spades. The comfort and refinement of the M3 are missing, but you can't help but get a smile on your face when you climb into the Nissan. As an extra bonus the car will help you keep to a diet because the seats are pretty tight.

Once I've had the Nissan for a bit I will be better able to determine just how great, or not, the GT-R is. At this point I'm still in the honeymoon period. In a few months I will be able to better know if the GT-R can better meet my wants than the M3 did.

Here are a few pics of my new toy. I'm sorry for the quality. The weather outside sucks today so I was regulated to garage pics.

Appreciate 0
      04-17-2010, 08:42 AM   #2
FusionM
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: .