BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)

Mporium BMW

12-06-2023, 03:46 PM   #1
M3MorganAUS
Rep
Drives: BMW E90 M3 M-DCT

Intermittent rattle/knock after cold start when idling

Hi Guys,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I have recently purchased my dream car; a E90 LCI M3 M-DCT. The car has developed a rotational rattle/knock that can be heard in the cabin after cold start when idling. The noise is not present at cold start, only at idle after cold start. Happens intermittently. Monday it was present, Tuesday and Wednesday it was absent, but today it was present. The noise goes away after driving. Could is be Cam/VANOS gear related?

I've tried searching the forum and nothing lines up with what I am experiencing. Ive listened for rod knock (take the car slowly up to 3000rpm 3 times etc.)

I'm relatively new to the car, I love it. However I have never owned a car like it so everything is quite new.
Appreciate 0
      12-07-2023, 04:46 PM   #2
Mr. BMW
Major
Rep
Drives: 2012 E92 M3

Garage List
2012 M3  [0.00]
2006 330i  [0.00]
2018 Jeep Grand Che ...  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3MorganAUS View Post
Hi Guys,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I have recently purchased my dream car; a E90 LCI M3 M-DCT. The car has developed a rotational rattle/knock that can be heard in the cabin after cold start when idling. The noise is not present at cold start, only at idle after cold start. Happens intermittently. Monday it was present, Tuesday and Wednesday it was absent, but today it was present. The noise goes away after driving. Could is be Cam/VANOS gear related?

I've tried searching the forum and nothing lines up with what I am experiencing. Ive listened for rod knock (take the car slowly up to 3000rpm 3 times etc.)

I'm relatively new to the car, I love it. However I have never owned a car like it so everything is quite new.