BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)

Mporium BMW

07-20-2015, 06:32 AM   #1
ohjay
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: 2008 E93 M3

E93 M3 roof problems

Hi everyone,

First off, I'm a rookie here so please be gentle.

I'm having continuing issues with the roof on my M3.

Had my car for 2 years now and for the first 12 months, no problems with it at all until last summer when the roof started acting up. It has been into BMW 5 times in all, the 5th time they gave me their brand new demo M4 for 2 weeks as a courtesy for the all the times I'd had to bring it in.

In the end I'm told it had a whole new wiring loom and a couple sensors were sorted in the roof and finally after 2 months of back and forth and head scratching it worked and hasn't given me problems since...until now.

Anyone who's got a convertible E93 will know the stages it goes through but for those who don't, the windows go down but not quite all the way, the roof does it's very impressive origami bit, the boot tilts back, roofs settles in, boot comes down and locks and the windows go up, the end.

Mine gets to the bit where the boot comes down and it sounds like it locks but then I get an error on the dash saying roof malfunction. Now if I'm not in a rush or can be bothered, lifting and dropping the boot again from anything between 1 and 20 times eventually will solve it and I know when it's going to play ball because there's a loud clunk and the windows go up.

I don't know what's causing the this clunk or why it has an effect on it completing the cycle. My only possiblity so far is that there are 2 spring loaded blocks in the boot that I assume the roof rests onto and the one on the drivers side isn't as smooth as the passenger but that's all I can see so far.