BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Photography/Videography

05-01-2010, 03:44 PM   #1
PNF
Colonel
Taiwan
Rep
Drives: 15' YMB F80 M3

Recmmend a nice tripod?

I am looking for some tripod as I found out a few nights ago, my cheap manfrotto tripod cant stand the weight of my camera. it can, but not really sturdy.

So, I guess it is time for me to invest in a nicer set of Tripod

I am not a professional photographer.. just an amateur trying to become a serious amateur in the future.

I hope to keep the budget under $400 with a tripod + head..

I know the good ones would cost upwards of $800-1500... but not ready to spend that much yet..

Looking for a good compromise of weight/size and price.

Prefer CF or Aluminum as I'll probably take it around with me on hikng trips this year.

Anyone?

Thanks

2008 E92 335i (sold)
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2010, 04:53 PM   #2
Travishksar
Second Lieutenant
Hong Kong
Rep
Drives: BMW M4

Garage List
2015 BMW M4  [0.00]
08 335xi  [10.00]
I have a brand new Gitzo 1541t bought on April 26, 2010. It can handle a DSLR with a lens up to 70-200mm. I am selling it for $540 shipped. I know it's not within your budget. I am just here to give you a heads up.

Good luck!
Steve
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2010, 10:21 PM   #3
scollins
Bootleggin' 'n Gunrunnin'
Rep
Drives: 2024 X3 M40i

My wife bought me the Vanguard Alta Pro 284CT for my birthday, and so far I've been really happy with it. Not as light as a comparable Gitzo, but at $330 from B&H, quite a bit cheaper.

It has twist-locks legs (I like them), rubber feet with retractable spikes and a removable/reversible center column that you can also set at various angles. Combine that with the legs that will go nearly flat, and you have a very low minimum height. It also has a built in spirit level. Sadly, my ballhead does not...