BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav

BPM

10-02-2010, 02:48 PM   #1
zimm
Rep
Drives: 335 shopping

Looking at used 08-09 M3's. Go with NAV or do my own system?

I'm researching '08-'09 M3 sedans. I'm a bit of a tech nerd when it comes to having good audio/nav systems in my vehicles. My other 2 vehicles have built in NAV/bluetooth/sat radio/back up camera and are great. One is Kenwood aftermarket, the other is a VW which I upgraded with OEM nav.

Now as far as the M3's are concerned, I hear a lot of bad about '08 navigation. The '09 cars are a bit out of my budget range. I'm stretching to afford an '08.

The big question is to go with factory nav or not? Is there an aftermarket dual-din set up for these cars to just plop in a Kenwood/garmin unit and add my own speakers/amps? The dash doesn't look like it. Can the navigation be upgraded OEM? Or should I go with no nav and stick a garmin Nuvi on the dash (which I hate to do, but whatever is best...). Should I look for a used car with premium sound, or I can buy amps/speakers and upgrade myself. I have no idea how plug and play the upgrades are for these cars, nor how "integrated" everything is.

What's the hot ticket for the best in nav and audio?
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2010, 03:21 PM   #2
JCtx
Major General
Rep
Drives: No BMW yet

I got nav because of what I'd be missing without it IMO: iDrive. I hardly use nav, but wouldn't enjoy my car nearly as much without iDrive. Plus on '08s, 'tech' was the only way to get EDC as well. Yes, that makes the car less reliable in the long run, but both options were a must for me. You need to decide what options are important to you then decide. Good luck.
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2010, 09:27 PM   #3
ersin
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 17 YMB F80 M3

Quote: