BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wheels + Tires Sponsored by The Tire Rack
  TireRack

KEEP M3POST ALIVE BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER LINK!

10-08-2009, 04:51 PM   #1
Echo M3
Major
No_Country
Rep
Drives: E90 M3

Winter tires - do I need them?

First off, apologies for posting something previously discussed. I tried looking through old threads, but I am still confused about the issue.

I have a '10 M3 sedan on order (delivery imminent) with '19s and I live in the NYC region. Can anyone comment on how necessary winters are? This is my first winter in NYC so I am a little new to the city, although I do have winter weather experience (lived in MA for 5 years, albeit with a 4wd car). My m3 is a DD, so I have to use it about 5 times/week. If there is a freak storm, I can always drive in early to work or stay late, or even cab it. But I can't afford to do that TOO frequently (I'm about 15 miles from work, which in the city is pretty darn far)- hopefully not more than a few times. Could I survive on the performance tires or is this being dangerously ignorant?

Thanks in advance for any and all advice
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2009, 04:56 PM   #2
DP8
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 08 E90 M3

I doubt winters in NYC are all that different from MA (I live in MA currently). If you are actually going to be driving to work you definitely need winter tires!

The PS2's are horrible in the cold even when the ground is relatively dry. Traction was very bad (scary bad) driving to get my PS2s replaced with my winter set when there may have only been 1 to 2 inches on the ground. I am going to get my winters on earlier this year. I have dunlop wintersports which worked well last year. You can't really go wrong with either those or blizzaks.

Last edited by DP8; 10-08-2009 at 04:57 PM.. Reason: added "can't"
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2009, 05:01 PM   #3
psuwcc112
Major