BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

Mporium BMW

05-16-2013, 12:47 PM   #1
LiM3y
Major
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: 2008 E90 M3

Amica Insurance - HPDE Coverage

This just blew me away, but my Amica Auto insurance covers me for HPDE events. As long as it is not racing, preparing for racing or time trials, I am covered. An unfortunate sequence of events lead to this being discussed with the agent, which led to her saying "I have to check with the underwriter on whether we will continue to hold your policy"...WTF...shit...dumbass......and then she calls back and relays the above information to me, stating that she was "surprised too"

Obviously, I feel like an a-hole, since I have been paying for track insurance for the last 3-4 years (I don't want to do the math), but at least I know now and can save some cash.
      05-16-2013, 12:52 PM   #2
Black Gold
Major General
Rep
Drives: M3

How did this "come up" with your agent?

No way in hell id discuss that...if I were to be in that position

Glad it ended up ok
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2013, 01:16 PM   #3
White 13
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: A 2013 Alpine White E92

Seems like a person has to ask to find out.
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2013, 02:17 PM   #4
blankstar43
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2012 e92 M3

"We do not cover any physical damage to an auto being driven in or preparing for any racing, speed or demolition
contest or stunting activity of any nature, whether or not prearranged or organized."

This is how it is worded in my policy. Not sure if I'd be covered or not, but my guess is they would fight it regardless.
      05-16-2013, 02:52 PM   #5
mid-corner fun
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: F80 M3, '22 X3MC

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiM3y View Post
...and then she calls back and relays the above information to me