BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Photography/Videography
 
Strasse Wheels
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-17-2011, 07:27 PM   #353
Chewy734
Major General
United_States
165
Rep
6,792
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The1 View Post
considered it, but i find the AF systems do a pretty good job as it is.

and most of my lenses allow prefocus and manual focusing after, i'm not too worried. Sometimes i'll adjust.
Well, I didn't mean for lenses that Canon makes with AF systems. But, rather with other lenses like Zeiss where you have to MF.
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 07:29 PM   #354
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
Well, I didn't mean for lenses that Canon makes with AF systems. But, rather with other lenses like Zeiss where you have to MF.
ahhh, i see where you're going now...

no, i haven't bothered, but i have a super old Canon AE-1 that has a nice manual focus it's fun to play with from time to time.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 07:43 PM   #355
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
126
Rep
5,080
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
To kind of get back on topic...

Do any of you guys ever focus manually using an aftermarket focusing screen on your dSLR?
I've thought about it. My original SLR was a Canon AT-1. I could focus, set shutter speed and aperture, and shoot in one shift motion, mostly because of the dirt simple metering system and the split screen focus. I'd love to have a split screen focus again. I'm just not happy about taking my camera apart to do it. I might have B&H do it while I'm there next week, though. I don't think the screens are too pricey.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 07:51 PM   #356
rodi
. . .
51
Rep
2,400
Posts

 
Drives: your FACE!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta proper

iTrader: (-1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
To kind of get back on topic...

Do any of you guys ever focus manually using an aftermarket focusing screen on your dSLR?
my ex has a little D40 and only old, manual-focus lenses from the 60s and 70s. i swapped out her focusing screen for a split-screen. works amazing.

__________________
2009 135i | space grey | sport | navi | hifi | heated
dinan stage 2 software | bmw performance exhaust
kw v2 | hotchkis front sway | vmr v710

Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 07:52 PM   #357
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

does this make the auto focusing system null?
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 07:55 PM   #358
Litos
Banned
United_States
58
Rep
2,900
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 Challenger RT Junk
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Houston/Pearland

iTrader: (1)

ok, i'm home - here's the original junk




Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 07:58 PM   #359
rodi
. . .
51
Rep
2,400
Posts

 
Drives: your FACE!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta proper

iTrader: (-1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The1 View Post
does this make the auto focusing system null?
no, but if you're not always manual-focusing, it definitely can be annoying.
in addition to the mirror projecting image onto prism for your view, the image also projects through the mirror to another sensor that focuses, i think that's how it works.
__________________
2009 135i | space grey | sport | navi | hifi | heated
dinan stage 2 software | bmw performance exhaust
kw v2 | hotchkis front sway | vmr v710

Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 07:59 PM   #360
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rodi View Post
no, but if you're not always manual-focusing, it definitely can be annoying.
in addition to the mirror projecting image onto prism for your view, the image also projects through the mirror to another sensor that focuses, i think that's how it works.
interesting, may have to research some more.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 08:00 PM   #361
Chewy734
Major General
United_States
165
Rep
6,792
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rodi View Post
my ex has a little D40 and only old, manual-focus lenses from the 60s and 70s. i swapped out her focusing screen for a split-screen. works amazing.

That's cool. I've heard they take a little getting used to, but you can focus really well in low-light when AF might fail, and many times even faster than AF in good light.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The1 View Post
does this make the auto focusing system null?
I think so. AF would no longer works well with a Zeiss lens. I think the 5DMK2 has the option of removing the default focusing screen and installing a split-screen, etc. Then, in the settings you can tell the camera what focusing screen you're using so it'll provide you with the correct feedback on the LCD, etc. Not 100% sure, since I don't own a 5DMK2, but that's what I heard.

http://photographic.co/blog/canon-egd
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 08:02 PM   #362
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chewy734 View Post
That's cool. I've heard they take a little getting used to, but you can focus really well in low-light when AF might fail, and many times even faster than AF in good light.



I think so. AF would no longer work well with a Zeiss lens. I think the 5DMK2 has the option of removing the default focusing screen and installing a split-screen, etc. Then, in the settings you can tell the camera what focusing screen you're using so it'll provide you with the correct feedback on the LCD, etc. Not 100% sure, since I don't own a 5DMK2, but that's what I heard.
so basically, it's an improvement on the autofocus when it comes to the 5DII
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 08:05 PM   #363
rodi
. . .
51
Rep
2,400
Posts

 
Drives: your FACE!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta proper

iTrader: (-1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The1 View Post
so basically, it's an improvement on the autofocus when it comes to the 5DII
yep!
__________________
2009 135i | space grey | sport | navi | hifi | heated
dinan stage 2 software | bmw performance exhaust
kw v2 | hotchkis front sway | vmr v710

Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 08:08 PM   #364
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rodi View Post
yep!
might be a consideration if i dedicate my 5D specifically to portait work and keep the 7D for sports.
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 08:09 PM   #365
Chewy734
Major General
United_States
165
Rep
6,792
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

iTrader: (15)

Sadly, whenever I hear pro photogs talk about Canon vs. Nikon (as far as higher-end cameras), many of them say that the Nikons focus quicker and better overall than the Canons do, unless they are Canon fanboys. This difference in AF becomes greater under low-light conditions where the Nikons supposedly excel.

rodi, care to comment?
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 09:38 PM   #366
Weebl
Weebl wobbles but eats Pie
15
Rep
1,525
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i, 2000 740i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SF Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

Even the Canon X0D bodies you can change out the focusing screen but I don't think there is a split screen. As long as you don't have the 240k pixel screen you shouldn't need an additional screen for focus adjustment.
Now if you were planning on doing video with the Zeiss or older lenses that would be different. I think I would like to use a screen then.

Mark,
It would be cheaper just to get another AT-1 I bet.
__________________
Kevingoto.smugmug.com
2000 740i-Annalisa and 2008 335i-Weebl. Weebl may wobble but has DTC
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 09:40 PM   #367
rodi
. . .
51
Rep
2,400
Posts

 
Drives: your FACE!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta proper

iTrader: (-1)

i use a D3 for stills. and a 5DII for motion. i've used the canon for stills quite a bit and its autofocus is just not up to par to be a professional camera. even in the lowest of light, the D3 can pinpoint just about anything with its center focus point. not only that, but it's extremely fast and doesn't seek. it surprises me sometimes. even the way it'll follow what you just locked onto as you recompose. the canons just can't do that. thankfully, autofocus is not used in video. although, i have not tried the 1DIV. i'd bet that it's close to the nikon's.
__________________
2009 135i | space grey | sport | navi | hifi | heated
dinan stage 2 software | bmw performance exhaust
kw v2 | hotchkis front sway | vmr v710

Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 09:42 PM   #368
rodi
. . .
51
Rep
2,400
Posts

 
Drives: your FACE!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta proper

iTrader: (-1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weebl View Post
Even the Canon X0D bodies you can change out the focusing screen but I don't think there is a split screen. As long as you don't have the 240k pixel screen you shouldn't need an additional screen for focus adjustment.
Now if you were planning on doing video with the Zeiss or older lenses that would be different. I think I would like to use a screen then.

Mark,
It would be cheaper just to get another AT-1 I bet.
this would be pointless with video because the center of the split screen is used for focus, which means that the subject you are trying to focus on would always need to be in the center.

but why do you mention the pixel LCD screen in terms of focusing? are you using live view to shoot?
__________________
2009 135i | space grey | sport | navi | hifi | heated
dinan stage 2 software | bmw performance exhaust
kw v2 | hotchkis front sway | vmr v710

Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 09:44 PM   #369
rodi
. . .
51
Rep
2,400
Posts

 
Drives: your FACE!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta proper

iTrader: (-1)

this is the screen i bought her. it was easy to replace, although i did scratch the original screen (that was no longer needed). :\

http://www.katzeyeoptics.com/item--K...-prod_D40.html
__________________
2009 135i | space grey | sport | navi | hifi | heated
dinan stage 2 software | bmw performance exhaust
kw v2 | hotchkis front sway | vmr v710

Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 09:45 PM   #370
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
126
Rep
5,080
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weebl View Post

Mark,
It would be cheaper just to get another AT-1 I bet.
Saw one the other day on CL. I was amazed how old and dated the design looked. Loved that camera, though.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 09:50 PM   #371
Weebl
Weebl wobbles but eats Pie
15
Rep
1,525
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i, 2000 740i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SF Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

With a DSLR and video wouldn't you go with a matt screen rather than split? If there was a split screen it would be best for stills.
I will use live view for manual focusing at times but it is limited by the crappy 240k pixels I live with.

I don't think the 5DII has any focusing abilities except for blazing hot sun shots. ;-)
Doesn't it go Nikon for bodies and Canon for glass?
__________________
Kevingoto.smugmug.com
2000 740i-Annalisa and 2008 335i-Weebl. Weebl may wobble but has DTC
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 09:54 PM   #372
Weebl
Weebl wobbles but eats Pie
15
Rep
1,525
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i, 2000 740i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SF Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
Saw one the other day on CL. I was amazed how old and dated the design looked. Loved that camera, though.
My source instead of CL, you can't get ripped off.
http://www.shopgoodwill.com/viewItem.asp?ItemID=7881584

I saw a few Canon white lenses go through and one of the 50mm F0.95 lenses go for ~$1k
__________________
Kevingoto.smugmug.com
2000 740i-Annalisa and 2008 335i-Weebl. Weebl may wobble but has DTC
Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 09:56 PM   #373
rodi
. . .
51
Rep
2,400
Posts

 
Drives: your FACE!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta proper

iTrader: (-1)

matte, yes, but the VF is disengaged when in video mode. forgot about that. EVF only.

i don't think you can go wrong with glass from either manufacturer. they both have that area down pat. canon is just able to charge less. and there are some amazing lens with each company that is not available from the other. for example: the f/1.2 lenses, the 14-24 f/2.8, (until recently) the 24 and 35 primes, that bangin' 135mm from Canon.
__________________
2009 135i | space grey | sport | navi | hifi | heated
dinan stage 2 software | bmw performance exhaust
kw v2 | hotchkis front sway | vmr v710

Appreciate 0
      05-17-2011, 11:42 PM   #374
The1
Major General
Canada
56
Rep
5,127
Posts

 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rodi View Post
i use a D3 for stills. and a 5DII for motion. i've used the canon for stills quite a bit and its autofocus is just not up to par to be a professional camera. even in the lowest of light, the D3 can pinpoint just about anything with its center focus point. not only that, but it's extremely fast and doesn't seek. it surprises me sometimes. even the way it'll follow what you just locked onto as you recompose. the canons just can't do that. thankfully, autofocus is not used in video. although, i have not tried the 1DIV. i'd bet that it's close to the nikon's.
I've read that the 1DIV is supposed to follow it's targets pretty well, even if other objects get in the way it can still follow to a certain extent. I haven't experienced this myself, but all through reading. Sounds impressive.

So, if a majority of the nikons or all of them can do that, then that's very impressive and can hardly wait until canon catches up on that...
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST