BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
Evolve Automotive
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-23-2011, 10:02 AM   #1
Slops
Major General
 
Slops's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 C55 AMG
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oxford

Posts: 5,360
iTrader: (2)

Upgrading PC

I bought a HP Touchsmart 600-1350 a couple months ago, and since my ps3 died i wanted to play cod black ops on this bitch.

Problem... CPU seems a bit slow and the graphics card is pretty much non-existent.

These are the current specs for it...

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport...odTypeId=12454

Here's the specs on the PC's motherboard and upgrades to it...

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport...riesId=4269984

What do you think would be the best upgrades i could do here to make me kick ass online with this bad boy...
Slops is offline   South Africa
0
Reply With Quote
      03-23-2011, 10:08 AM   #2
Freakazoid
Captain
 
Freakazoid's Avatar
 
Drives: Saturn Redline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pittsburgh

Posts: 967
iTrader: (0)

go i7 with that motherboard, find a cheap/reasonable used graphics card on ebay (look to spend about a $100, that'll be enough), and upgrade the ram....and you'd be set
Freakazoid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-23-2011, 10:12 AM   #3
Slops
Major General
 
Slops's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 C55 AMG
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oxford

Posts: 5,360
iTrader: (2)

I have the Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 370 @ 2.40GHz in it right now, and the closest comparison is the "Intel Core i7 620M Dual Core (A)" ... but would the "Intel Core i7 820QM Quad Core (C)" still work with everything else I have onboard like the integrated graphics etc?

I'm planning to use the MXM expansion slot with a graphics card but they are kinda hard to find right now
Slops is offline   South Africa
0
Reply With Quote
      03-23-2011, 10:20 AM   #4
Slops
Major General
 
Slops's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 C55 AMG
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oxford

Posts: 5,360
iTrader: (2)

Do you think this graphics card will fit my pc in the MXM slot?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Nvidia-Quadro-FX...item2a0e9d36ee
Slops is offline   South Africa
0
Reply With Quote
      03-23-2011, 10:28 AM   #5
Freakazoid
Captain
 
Freakazoid's Avatar
 
Drives: Saturn Redline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pittsburgh

Posts: 967
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sloppy View Post
I have the Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 370 @ 2.40GHz in it right now, and the closest comparison is the "Intel Core i7 620M Dual Core (A)" ... but would the "Intel Core i7 820QM Quad Core (C)" still work with everything else I have onboard like the integrated graphics etc?

I'm planning to use the MXM expansion slot with a graphics card but they are kinda hard to find right now

Yep, you wouldn't have any problems there (unless something has drastically changed with the mobile architecture). Upgrading the motherboard wouldn't necessarily be a bad thing...but I'm not sure you'd get the benefits you'd want outta it.

And depending on what you use the machine for, might want to think about a SSD disk too. Get a cheap low space one.

For your MXM question, can you check what version you have? (should be in your bios), this will be your more reliant factor here.
Freakazoid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-23-2011, 11:19 AM   #6
Slops
Major General
 
Slops's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 C55 AMG
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oxford

Posts: 5,360
iTrader: (2)

hmm... i can't seem to find a version of the mxm slot in my bios - it says its a MXM 3.0 slot though in the specs.
Slops is offline   South Africa
0
Reply With Quote
      03-24-2011, 02:41 PM   #7
Slops
Major General
 
Slops's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 C55 AMG
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oxford

Posts: 5,360
iTrader: (2)

Thanks for your help Freakazoid!
Slops is offline   South Africa
0
Reply With Quote
      03-24-2011, 02:44 PM   #8
Freakazoid
Captain
 
Freakazoid's Avatar
 
Drives: Saturn Redline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pittsburgh

Posts: 967
iTrader: (0)

with a 3.0 I'd probably get cheaper, I can try to point you in the direction of some ebay used deals if you want.
Freakazoid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-24-2011, 02:50 PM   #9
Slops
Major General
 
Slops's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 C55 AMG
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oxford

Posts: 5,360
iTrader: (2)

Thats ok, i picked this guy up just to see if it'll work.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=230570911272

My guess is that it'll supercharge the whole system since the graphics bogs the cpu down so much. I tried to play COD online and its actually not too bad, but it isn't as smooth as it should be. Currently it only has 64MB dedicated to graphics so the 512 should help out a lot. If not, then i'll upgrade to the i7 dual core and another 4Gig memmory stick.
Slops is offline   South Africa
0
Reply With Quote
      03-24-2011, 03:17 PM   #10
Freakazoid
Captain
 
Freakazoid's Avatar
 
Drives: Saturn Redline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pittsburgh

Posts: 967
iTrader: (0)

ya good idea, start with the graphics card. This should get you to a tolerable level. RAM would be the next jump. the i7 would be expensive, but would be beneficial. (and you could sell the old one)
Freakazoid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 02:31 AM   #11
.user328xi
Private
 
Drives: 07 328xi Black 4D
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Posts: 61
iTrader: (0)

I highly doubt you'll find a i7 processor for 100$
.user328xi is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 03:54 PM   #12
Slops
Major General
 
Slops's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 C55 AMG
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Oxford

Posts: 5,360
iTrader: (2)

I think the i7 is around 600 bux or so....

Also after opening it up I saw that there is a huge difference between 3.0 mxm and mxm-I .... So I wasted some money figuring this out by buying that mxm-I off of eBay! Now I have a 3.0 coming which is what the hp firebird uses.
Slops is offline   South Africa
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 05:10 PM   #13
Freakazoid
Captain
 
Freakazoid's Avatar
 
Drives: Saturn Redline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pittsburgh

Posts: 967
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by .user328xi View Post
I highly doubt you'll find a i7 processor for 100$
not saying you would by any means, I'm simply giving an alternative. the $100 figure was referring to the video card.
Freakazoid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 05:11 PM   #14
Freakazoid
Captain
 
Freakazoid's Avatar
 
Drives: Saturn Redline
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pittsburgh

Posts: 967
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sloppy View Post
I think the i7 is around 600 bux or so....

Also after opening it up I saw that there is a huge difference between 3.0 mxm and mxm-I .... So I wasted some money figuring this out by buying that mxm-I off of eBay! Now I have a 3.0 coming which is what the hp firebird uses.
ahh yea, sorry mate, after you said you bought it I only quickly opened it up and didn't pay attention to which mxm it was. Good call that you corrected your mistake though
Freakazoid is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST