BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board
 
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-28-2011, 11:58 AM   #1
hl0m4n
Brigadier General
 
hl0m4n's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

Posts: 4,843
iTrader: (42)

Question 1TB+ External Hard Drive Reliability?

i have a 250gb wd external hard drive which i have used for 5 years and is finally full. i have had no issues with the drive whatso ever and still runs like a champ.

with these new 1tb+ external hard drives it really seems to be hit or miss and more size = more chances of something failing. im leaning towards wd again and their element 1.5tb hard drive for $70. only thing i don't like about it is there is no activity light.

i looked at fantom but really, the company aint that big and the drive doesn't seem to be reliable.

any recomendations/thoughts?
__________________
Cars: 07 335i ► 09 328i ► 11 328xi ► 13 M3
Reviews: 335i Supersprint Exhaust, C/F Trim Wrap, Alcantara Boots, VMR V710, Saikou Michi OCC, Royal Steering Wheel
For Sale:
Want To Buy:
hl0m4n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 12:02 PM   #2
JayKay335i
Banned
 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

Posts: 5,047
iTrader: (1)

WD is always a solid choice. The bigger the drive, the more shit you lose when it fails. Everything fails eventually. My most important stuff (my documents folder) I save to a cloud based service. Then run time machine onto a 500G 2.5" portable drive. Then I've got another 1TB drive for my PC to backup movies, music, media server shit.
JayKay335i is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 12:06 PM   #3
solefald
Nigerian Prince
 
solefald's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 F25
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 2,171
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
'11 BMW F25  [0.00]
I bought a 1.5Tb Seagate FreeAgents couple of years ago on a crazy sale at Fry's for $100.
Still works fine.
__________________
solefald is offline   Vatican City State
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 12:09 PM   #4
Feyd
Major
 
Feyd's Avatar
 
Drives: a DEEZZULL
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 1,241
iTrader: (2)

I just got a Seagate free agent 1.5TB USB 3.0 drive a week or so back... Don't have a ton of experience with it yet, but seems to be working really well for me so far. There was an instant rebate at Office Depot and I paid something like $130 OTD. I needed it in a hurry which is why I went to a brick and mortar store.. Probably can find it for less online.

http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/pro...ble-hard-drive

I just have it plugged directly into my Netgear router for use as network backup. I was (and still am until I can transfer the data to the new drive) using a 500 GB Apple time-capsule. I've been wanting to phase it out for a while because it has always been buggy, has shitty transfer speeds, and runs as hot as the sun (heats up my media cabinet and crashes my fucking cable box).

Anyway... Seagate FTMFW (until I know better. LOL)
Feyd is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 12:11 PM   #5
JayKay335i
Banned
 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

Posts: 5,047
iTrader: (1)

Also remember that most 3.5" will also require a power source

2.5" if you want to go portable.
JayKay335i is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 12:16 PM   #6
solefald
Nigerian Prince
 
solefald's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 F25
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 2,171
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
'11 BMW F25  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feyd View Post
I was (and still am until I can transfer the data to the new drive) using a 500 GB Apple time-capsule. I've been wanting to phase it out for a while because it has always been buggy, has shitty transfer speeds, and runs as hot as the sun (heats up my media cabinet and crashes my fucking cable box).
Hot as hell... yes.
All other comments - lolwut?
__________________
solefald is offline   Vatican City State
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 12:26 PM   #7
CollinsE90
Where my bitches
 
CollinsE90's Avatar
 
Drives: Cadillac coupe deville
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: street corner checking profits

Posts: 1,927
iTrader: (0)

I have a 1 TB WD portable, works fine and has a light that blinks when running. Only issue I had with it is because it is so big my xbox wouldn't recognize it, so I had to dual format it with a FAT32 folder to play movies(Thanks to a certain member on here)
__________________
CollinsE90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 12:27 PM   #8
Feyd
Major
 
Feyd's Avatar
 
Drives: a DEEZZULL
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 1,241
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by solefald View Post
Hot as hell... yes.
All other comments - lolwut?
?
Feyd is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 12:28 PM   #9
JayKay335i
Banned
 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

Posts: 5,047
iTrader: (1)

Even PS3 only supports fat32 from what I've seen. Fat 32 only supports up to 4gig file sizes. Doesn't help with 6-15g bluray files. Gay.
JayKay335i is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 12:29 PM   #10
BTM
Banned
 
Drives: A///MERICAN!!!
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: A///MERICA!!!

Posts: 10,314
iTrader: (11)

Garage List
Have 2TB WD Sharespaces at home and work, only had for a year or so but have been reliable thus far.
BTM is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 12:39 PM   #11
solefald
Nigerian Prince
 
solefald's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 F25
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 2,171
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
'11 BMW F25  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feyd View Post
?
i've had a TC and a bunch of my friends are using them also. Being the guy they usually call with computer issues, I am yet to hear a single complaint about TC being buggy or any throughput issues. [And yes, I am aware that the early batch had power supply problems, but I did not encounter any of the faulty ones yet].

The only reason I sold my TC's is to upgrade to Synology DS410, because i wanted RAID5 and larger capacity.
__________________
solefald is offline   Vatican City State
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 12:39 PM   #12
CollinsE90
Where my bitches
 
CollinsE90's Avatar
 
Drives: Cadillac coupe deville
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: street corner checking profits

Posts: 1,927
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayKay335i View Post
Even PS3 only supports fat32 from what I've seen. Fat 32 only supports up to 4gig file sizes. Doesn't help with 6-15g bluray files. Gay.
Mine supports more than 4gig files, I have up to 8 gig TV seasons, but only can get 32 total gigs worth of playable files, so I made a 32gig folder to put stuff I was about to watch, and another huge folder just for storage
__________________
CollinsE90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 12:44 PM   #13
JayKay335i
Banned
 
Drives: ///M323 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota; its best DUHHHHHH

Posts: 5,047
iTrader: (1)

Just run ps3mediaserver.
JayKay335i is offline   Egypt
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 01:13 PM   #14
Feyd
Major
 
Feyd's Avatar
 
Drives: a DEEZZULL
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 1,241
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by solefald View Post
i've had a TC and a bunch of my friends are using them also. Being the guy they usually call with computer issues, I am yet to hear a single complaint about TC being buggy or any throughput issues. [And yes, I am aware that the early batch had power supply problems, but I did not encounter any of the faulty ones yet].

The only reason I sold my TC's is to upgrade to Synology DS410, because i wanted RAID5 and larger capacity.

Oh man... it is fucking painful to transfer large files/directories to or from my TC. Direct wired/wireless/anything... we're talking like 1-3 MB per second MAX.

I've read up on forums.. updated firmware/cables/routers/changed computers, etc... nothing has helped speed things up.
Feyd is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 01:20 PM   #15
The_DDub
Not gonna mod the engine
 
The_DDub's Avatar
 
Drives: Like a Boss, hard and fast
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fremont, CA

Posts: 315
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
2007 328i Sedan  [0.00]
I have such bad experiences with external HDDs, I don't ever put critical data on them UNLESS I know it is somewhere else safe.

Carbonite.com FTW.
__________________
Monaco Blue E90 328i with Nav, Sport, Premium and Comfort Access packages, 6FL with iPod cable
SAE spec Depo with HIDs and HID fogs
Depo AE replacement Album
The_DDub is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 01:44 PM   #16
rodi
. . .
 
Drives: your FACE!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta proper

Posts: 2,400
iTrader: (-1)

that elements 1.5tb drive does have an activity light. I have one of them and three elements 2tb drives for redundancy backup of all my video projects.
__________________
2009 135i | space grey | sport | navi | hifi | heated
dinan stage 2 software | bmw performance exhaust
kw v2 | hotchkis front sway | vmr v710

rodi is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 01:56 PM   #17
ragingclue
One cam is enough
 
ragingclue's Avatar
 
Drives: VF
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mulletville

Posts: 6,774
iTrader: (1)

I've had a couple bad run-ins with Seagate drives and have used exclusively WD ever since. I don't know if they've gotten better (Seagate) in the past few years since I stopped using them, or if my failures were an isolated incident, but the impression I've received from guys I've talked to who see a lot of drives is that WD hold up better. Also, I don't like 2.5" externals unless the portability is a big thing. I've had bad experiences with those and failure rates higher and more severe than externals with the 3.5" non-USB-powered drives. I guess I just hate the notion of trying to power a HDD out of a USB connection.
ragingclue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 01:58 PM   #18
ddigangi
'Murica
 
ddigangi's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 E90 330i
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 597
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2006 E90 330i  [0.00]
i use a first generation 1tb western digital and i have never been happier

i keep all of my...

-photos
-videos
-design resources
-fonts
blah blah blah

about 800 gigs or so
__________________
Web developer at @ Apartments.com, digital media director, budding entrepreneur, technology guru and marketing nut with an affliction for the finer things in life.

I blog at http://ddigangi.com
ddigangi is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 02:02 PM   #19
solefald
Nigerian Prince
 
solefald's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 F25
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 2,171
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
'11 BMW F25  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feyd View Post
Oh man... it is fucking painful to transfer large files/directories to or from my TC. Direct wired/wireless/anything... we're talking like 1-3 MB per second MAX.

I've read up on forums.. updated firmware/cables/routers/changed computers, etc... nothing has helped speed things up.
That is ODD... Perhaps a bad drive?
Have to tried re-initializing it through the AirPort Utility?
What happens of you hook up a USB drive and share that? Same performance issue?


I have never seen an issue like that.
__________________
solefald is offline   Vatican City State
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 03:12 PM   #20
.:bHd:.
Major
 
.:bHd:.'s Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i MT
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: So Cal

Posts: 1,149
iTrader: (0)

If you're scared about the hard drive failing just get a 2TB that supports raid 1. It will mirror the exact same data so if one of the drives fail, you still have the other one.
__________________

.:bHd:. is offline   Armenia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 03:37 PM   #21
Feyd
Major
 
Feyd's Avatar
 
Drives: a DEEZZULL
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 1,241
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by solefald View Post
That is ODD... Perhaps a bad drive?
Have to tried re-initializing it through the AirPort Utility?
What happens of you hook up a USB drive and share that? Same performance issue?


I have never seen an issue like that.

I have tried everything... and other drives work well actually.


It's clearly the Timecapsule and I tried to get it replaced/repaired, etc. a couple years ago but eventually gave up trying to get things resolved through Apple. FWIW it's one of the first gen versions. I'm sure the newer ones work way better.
Feyd is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-28-2011, 04:39 PM   #22
hl0m4n
Brigadier General
 
hl0m4n's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY

Posts: 4,843
iTrader: (42)

Quote:
Originally Posted by .:bHd:. View Post
If you're scared about the hard drive failing just get a 2TB that supports raid 1. It will mirror the exact same data so if one of the drives fail, you still have the other one.
^ what is the drive called as i can't seem to find it on newegg...

if the drive does fail, is there anyway to get the data on it back or is it completely gone?

im thinking i should get x2 500gb externals as to just one big 1.5tb drive.

i dont like the external drives with on/off switch cause i think each time you do it it puts a strain on the drive. i like wd as they turn on/off with the computer and when not in use just goes in sleep mode.
__________________
Cars: 07 335i ► 09 328i ► 11 328xi ► 13 M3
Reviews: 335i Supersprint Exhaust, C/F Trim Wrap, Alcantara Boots, VMR V710, Saikou Michi OCC, Royal Steering Wheel
For Sale:
Want To Buy:
hl0m4n is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
solefad is a bitch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST