BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-11-2010, 01:36 PM   #1
smikk02
New Member
 
Drives: '01 740i Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

BMW Computer

Hey Guys, just joined here; I've got some issues with the pc in my vehicle not turning on all the time... I've got a 150watt power supply which can be seen here: http://www.mo-co-so.com/PicoPSU150-p/mcs-atx-p150.htm
it's got a core2duo proc, 4gb ram, 250gb 2.5inch hdd, bt, wifi, etc. I know my battery has a good charge and yet it does not turn on every time the vehicle is on. I'm kinda stumped so if any of you have any suggestions I would appreciate it. Thanks.
smikk02 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-11-2010, 05:18 PM   #2
sdblue
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego

Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)

Does it turn on 100% of the time if you don't start the engine? The power supply doesn't appear to have any bypass capacitors to fill in dips in the voltage, which you would certainly see when the engine is started.
sdblue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-11-2010, 05:37 PM   #3
smikk02
New Member
 
Drives: '01 740i Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

I haven't actually tried that... I'll give it a try a few times on accessory power and then report back
smikk02 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2010, 11:04 AM   #4
smikk02
New Member
 
Drives: '01 740i Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

tried to consistently turn the computer on on accessory power all night last night and no luck... it seems to turn on every 3rd or 4th try. Any new insights?
smikk02 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2010, 11:40 AM   #5
sdblue
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego

Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)

Is there a power button on the PC get the thing to turn on, and if so, does that work?

The way PCs generally work is that when power is applied, there's a chip called the SuperIO which waits for the power to stabilize, then loads some settings from a chip called the CMOS. These settings can include things like whether to power up the rest of the system immediately or to wait for a keypress or some other event. Generally those settings are configurable in the BIOS. I'm curious as to whether your BIOS is configured for auto boot up. You might try configuring it to stay off, and then using a power button to turn it on.
sdblue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2010, 02:37 PM   #6
smikk02
New Member
 
Drives: '01 740i Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

No, no power button on the pc
smikk02 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2010, 02:40 PM   #7
smikk02
New Member
 
Drives: '01 740i Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

There is a reset button on the pc though, from what I could tell it is hardware controlled, whether the pc turns on is based on the charge of the battery...I couldn't find any settings in the bios to change the auto boot... I think that hardware control is what is causing the problem, but would like to know if it is part of the power supply or if it can be replaced separately. Thanks for the continued help.
smikk02 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-12-2010, 02:50 PM   #8
sdblue
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego

Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)

Do you have a manual or URL for the PC?
sdblue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-14-2010, 01:11 PM   #9
smikk02
New Member
 
Drives: '01 740i Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

unfortunately no, since it is a custom built machine... guess I'll just have to try replacing the power supply and control board and see if that fixes the issue. Thanks for the help.
smikk02 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-14-2010, 01:28 PM   #10
sdblue
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2007 335i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Diego

Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)

The motherboard is something off the shelf, should have a model number on the board itself, or it should be identified on the startup screen.
sdblue is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST