BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-23-2010, 11:23 AM   #45
tha_good_life
Brigadier General
 
tha_good_life's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 JzB E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seattle

Posts: 3,900
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2010 BMW M3  [4.33]
Are the other wires (purple, green, white) for speakers? I see the set is for the woofer, remote and RCA. Can you give me more info where to send payment and how much?
tha_good_life is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2010, 12:12 PM   #46
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,836
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by bapesta206 View Post
Are the other wires (purple, green, white) for speakers? I see the set is for the woofer, remote and RCA. Can you give me more info where to send payment and how much?
The other wires in that photo are labeled for the front/rear speakers.

Use PM, please... I cannot initiate the sale using PM or I will be banned.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2010, 07:52 PM   #47
Xaeryan
Lieutenant
 
Xaeryan's Avatar
 
Drives: Sideways mostly
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hazleton, PA

Posts: 506
iTrader: (4)

Silly question (maybe): This looks like it's replacing the stock amp connection in favor of your own amp setup. Will there be a version that retains the existing amp setup, but exposes leads for remote and speakers? An intercept harness with both factory connections, like the ones I've seen from you in the past with the PAC-LOC setup?
Xaeryan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-23-2010, 08:09 PM   #48
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,836
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xaeryan View Post
Silly question (maybe): This looks like it's replacing the stock amp connection in favor of your own amp setup. Will there be a version that retains the existing amp setup, but exposes leads for remote and speakers? An intercept harness with both factory connections, like the ones I've seen from you in the past with the PAC-LOC setup?
Not for HiFi systems.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-15-2010, 12:24 PM   #49
canyondrive
New Member
 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Silicon Valley

Posts: 6
iTrader: (1)

I've been waiting for this! Glad to find. I'm still new to the forum, I can't send a PM.. Technical, do you mind initiating PM for detail? (seems I can only receive them at this moment)
canyondrive is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-15-2010, 03:09 PM   #50
shamoo
Captain
 
Drives: 2008 E92 M3
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SoCal (Irvine & LA)

Posts: 744
iTrader: (1)

Just chiming in here...

I successfully installed the JL XD600/6 amplifier in place of the OEM amplifier using Technic's harness. It was literally plug and play right. I only had to wire amp power to the battery (which was already in the trunk) and ground it.

Everything sounds great and I'm amazed at how loud the music can go. Can't wait to get some new speakers so I can really crank the thing.

THANKS TECHNIC!
__________________
2008 E92 M3 | 2007 Honda S2000 | 2001 Honda S2000 | 1997 Turbo Integra
shamoo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-15-2010, 03:10 PM   #51
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,836
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shamoo View Post
Just chiming in here...

I successfully installed the JL XD600/6 amplifier in place of the OEM amplifier using Technic's harness. It was literally plug and play right. I only had to wire amp power to the battery (which was already in the trunk) and ground it.

Everything sounds great and I'm amazed at how loud the music can go. Can't wait to get some new speakers so I can really crank the thing.

THANKS TECHNIC!
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-15-2010, 03:57 PM   #52
Robertyu
Private First Class
 
Robertyu's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Honolulu

Posts: 117
iTrader: (0)

I'm doing mine this weekend, and Technic's harness is a valuable service to this community. Nice piece, all leads labeled, and very professional.

My main challenge is mounting the 2-unit tall stack of PDX amps with processor on top, and unfortunately Technic can't save the day for me there!
Robertyu is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2010, 08:56 AM   #53
1sikbmr
Brigadier General
 
1sikbmr's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York

Posts: 3,255
iTrader: (14)

Hey technic can you explain what exactly I have to do with this. all I want to do is add a bass. Don't I just connect the RCA's but what do I do with the speaker wires? Sorry if it sounds kinda stupid
__________________

E90 ///M3 6MT Atlantis Blue - Fox red
ESS VT1-550|Gloss black grilles/Gold gills|V1 hardwire|Filled reflectors|ZHP lighted shift knob|Volk TE37 Gloss Black|Mode Carbon GT4 Lip|Umnitza V4 full blackout kit|Agency Power exhaust|Sosi x-pipe|BMW Performance Steering Wheel V1|
1sikbmr is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2010, 01:31 PM   #54
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,836
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1sikbmr View Post
Hey technic can you explain what exactly I have to do with this. all I want to do is add a bass. Don't I just connect the RCA's but what do I do with the speaker wires? Sorry if it sounds kinda stupid
This is not an "add a sub to your OEM amplifier" harness, this is to completely replace the standard, black case, OEM amp with an aftermarket amp.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2010, 03:08 PM   #55
1sikbmr
Brigadier General
 
1sikbmr's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York

Posts: 3,255
iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
This is not an "add a sub to your OEM amplifier" harness, this is to completely replace the standard, black case, OEM amp with an aftermarket amp.
oh man... all I really want to do is add a bass. How would I go about doing that.
__________________

E90 ///M3 6MT Atlantis Blue - Fox red
ESS VT1-550|Gloss black grilles/Gold gills|V1 hardwire|Filled reflectors|ZHP lighted shift knob|Volk TE37 Gloss Black|Mode Carbon GT4 Lip|Umnitza V4 full blackout kit|Agency Power exhaust|Sosi x-pipe|BMW Performance Steering Wheel V1|
1sikbmr is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-20-2010, 04:23 PM   #56
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,836
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1sikbmr View Post
oh man... all I really want to do is add a bass. How would I go about doing that.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=connector
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-21-2010, 02:47 AM   #57
quality_sound
8 tracks of madness
 
Drives: Slowly
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: At home

Posts: 2,731
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robertyu View Post
I'm doing mine this weekend, and Technic's harness is a valuable service to this community. Nice piece, all leads labeled, and very professional.

My main challenge is mounting the 2-unit tall stack of PDX amps with processor on top, and unfortunately Technic can't save the day for me there!
You can probably fit both of them without stacking them in the area where the OEM amp is. I'm pretty sure I can get both of my JL HDs in there so yours should as well. Worst case, even stacked it should be a piece of cake.
quality_sound is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-21-2010, 09:05 AM   #58
1sikbmr
Brigadier General
 
1sikbmr's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York

Posts: 3,255
iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Thanks
__________________

E90 ///M3 6MT Atlantis Blue - Fox red
ESS VT1-550|Gloss black grilles/Gold gills|V1 hardwire|Filled reflectors|ZHP lighted shift knob|Volk TE37 Gloss Black|Mode Carbon GT4 Lip|Umnitza V4 full blackout kit|Agency Power exhaust|Sosi x-pipe|BMW Performance Steering Wheel V1|
1sikbmr is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-21-2010, 11:45 PM   #59
Robertyu
Private First Class
 
Robertyu's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Honolulu

Posts: 117
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by quality_sound View Post
You can probably fit both of them without stacking them in the area where the OEM amp is. I'm pretty sure I can get both of my JL HDs in there so yours should as well. Worst case, even stacked it should be a piece of cake.
I made a type in that post. It's actually a 3-tall stack of PDXs (1.1000, 2.150, 4.150) with a processor on top. That won't fit down there, but I have a solution that will place them right above that area, and the power distribution blocks will be mounted down there. At least they should not get too hot the way I'm going to do it. I'll show some pics of it all on here when I finish up.
Robertyu is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-22-2010, 06:30 AM   #60
quality_sound
8 tracks of madness
 
Drives: Slowly
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: At home

Posts: 2,731
iTrader: (1)

So don't stack all 3. Do a double stack and the third next to the stack. I looked at the dimensions of the XD700/6 and with as much room as he had left over they should fit easily.
quality_sound is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2010, 06:40 PM   #61
MrGraphics
New Member
 
Drives: 2009 128i Sport Package
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Jose

Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)

Technic - I'd like to buy this harness, but unfortunately I cannot send you a PM (boy, this board is pretty limited.) How do we go about reaching you, since you cannot reach out to me via PM?
MrGraphics is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2010, 07:11 PM   #62
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,836
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGraphics View Post
Technic - I'd like to buy this harness, but unfortunately I cannot send you a PM (boy, this board is pretty limited.) How do we go about reaching you, since you cannot reach out to me via PM?
Use email, m3jonese@netscape.net...
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-30-2010, 01:03 AM   #63
Robertyu
Private First Class
 
Robertyu's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Honolulu

Posts: 117
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by quality_sound View Post
So don't stack all 3. Do a double stack and the third next to the stack. I looked at the dimensions of the XD700/6 and with as much room as he had left over they should fit easily.
There is no way 3 original PDX amps will fit side-by-side in there. I checked.

I am considering just mounting the 3 stacked PDX amps on a stainless plate down low in that space and buying the taller CD-Changer trunk trim (PN: 51477122411) with the access door (PN: 51477139441) as seen in Technic's post http://www.m3post.com/forums/showpos...82&postcount=3.

Technic, If I mount down lower to the bottom of that space, do you think 3 stacked PDXs will fit in there? From your photo in that post, it looks like I could even fit those 3 PDXs stacked along with the alpine processor (about an 1.5" thick) on top and still clear in there with the taller trunk trim in place. I'd still need to work out the ventilation, that's for sure, but I'm just wondering if it will clear. Sure wish I had a depth measurement of that space with the taller CD-changer trim in place so I truly know what kind of space I have to work with there.
Robertyu is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-30-2010, 03:49 AM   #64
quality_sound
8 tracks of madness
 
Drives: Slowly
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: At home

Posts: 2,731
iTrader: (1)

No, no, no, not all 3 side-by-side. A stack of two next to a single. Like this: = _ That should fit. Also, I think the PDXs might fit in the storage area where the spare is on a 3er. I'll have to do more exploring, but you might even be able to get one upright against that back wall.

The option for the changer trim would be a piece of cake. I'd go that route if I hadn't already made my enclosure and it won't fit with that side piece.
quality_sound is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-30-2010, 05:30 AM   #65
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,836
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robertyu View Post
There is no way 3 original PDX amps will fit side-by-side in there. I checked.

I am considering just mounting the 3 stacked PDX amps on a stainless plate down low in that space and buying the taller CD-Changer trunk trim (PN: 51477122411) with the access door (PN: 51477139441) as seen in Technic's post http://www.m3post.com/forums/showpos...82&postcount=3.

Technic, If I mount down lower to the bottom of that space, do you think 3 stacked PDXs will fit in there? From your photo in that post, it looks like I could even fit those 3 PDXs stacked along with the alpine processor (about an 1.5" thick) on top and still clear in there with the taller trunk trim in place. I'd still need to work out the ventilation, that's for sure, but I'm just wondering if it will clear. Sure wish I had a depth measurement of that space with the taller CD-changer trim in place so I truly know what kind of space I have to work with there.
Yes, 3 stacked PDX will fit using the CD Changer trim... from the metal floor to the top of the trim. I still have my OEM amp below my 2 stacked PDX and the OEM amp is slightly taller that the PDX.

I don't know if you can get a processor on top of the 3 stacked as well and the PDX wires and RCA cables will be very tight, though.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-30-2010, 12:30 PM   #66
808MGuy
Colonel
 
808MGuy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

Posts: 2,259
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Yes, 3 stacked PDX will fit using the CD Changer trim... from the metal floor to the top of the trim. I still have my OEM amp below my 2 stacked PDX and the OEM amp is slightly taller that the PDX.

I don't know if you can get a processor on top of the 3 stacked as well and the PDX wires and RCA cables will be very tight, though.
If this is the case, one idea might be to stack your three PDXs and then create some kind of bracket so that you could mount the processor vertically on the side of the stack of PDXs. The top of the processor would probably have to face the front of the car to make it fit. If you want easy access to the processor by the just popping the plastic cover on the CD changer trim, you could swap one PDX and the processor in that configuration. So imagine = is your stack of 3 PDXs or 2 PDXs and the processor and | is the vertically mounted processor or PDX. Your stack would look like =|
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

808MGuy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST