BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-27-2010, 02:16 PM   #23
SonnyJack
First Lieutenant
United_States
8
Rep
361
Posts

 
Drives: '09 E92 M3 6MT Jerez Black
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Laurel, MD

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elp_jc View Post
You can run your car with 1/4 of a gas tank; try running with 1/4 of your oil. Your analogy does not apply.
Actually the analogy does apply because I was thinking along the lines of the fact that the car alerts me when I need to think about fueling up (no real need to add fuel sooner), and it does the same when I need to add oil (no real need to add oil sooner). I understand your point, but think your comparison is off a bit as no one would run their car 3/4 low on oil. At least not KNOWINGLY!

PLEASE NOTE: I'm not slamming anyone who tops off as you do, just wanted to learn if there was actually a benefit to the car by doing so.

It seems that personal preference is the answer. Thank you sir!
Appreciate 0
      08-27-2010, 02:16 PM   #24
Gearhead999s
Major General
Gearhead999s's Avatar
93
Rep
6,814
Posts

 
Drives: F25 2.8d(wifes)F82 M4
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

13000 kms(8073 m) with about 8 trackdays and no oil added and the indicator still read at the full mark.I always do an oil change at half the indicated service milege or when winter storage happens.There is 45000 (28000miles) kms on the car.
Appreciate 0
      08-27-2010, 02:18 PM   #25
John Tanglewood
Porn Star
John Tanglewood's Avatar
48
Rep
2,151
Posts

 
Drives: 09' R8 -- 11' M3 (sold)
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Stamford, CT

iTrader: (9)

I'm at 4k, no top-off, but my level has appeared low according to the indicator since I got the 1200 mile service.
__________________

My M3 is for sale here
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2010, 02:34 AM   #26
my911fixxx
Private First Class
my911fixxx's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
177
Posts

 
Drives: "12" X5M
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lake Norman, NC

iTrader: (0)

I bought my car with 3000 miles. I have put 3500 miles on it and have had to add 1 quart 2 seperate times already. Dealership said each car is different. Should I be worried??? Starting to worry about how the car was broke in.

TIA!!!
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2010, 12:24 PM   #27
raiste
Time is the fire in which we burn.
raiste's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
161
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 M3 E92
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SC

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by my911fixxx View Post
I bought my car with 3000 miles. I have put 3500 miles on it and have had to add 1 quart 2 seperate times already. Dealership said each car is different. Should I be worried??? Starting to worry about how the car was broke in.

TIA!!!
2 quarts in 3500 miles? Normal driving? If so, that seems a little excessive to me.


.
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2010, 01:54 PM   #28
Templar
Lieutenant Colonel
Templar's Avatar
United_States
40
Rep
1,824
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: One of the coasts...

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [5.00]
I haven't had to add anything. The meter went from full to the halfway mark during my break in, but it has never asked me to add any. The dealership told me to have a quart in the trunk just in case because during the break in it MAY ask for me to add some, but it hasn't.

I have the service this weekend anyway, so I should be fine.
__________________
'11 BMW E92 ///M3 - ZCP and DCT
'13 Toyota Tundra - 4x4 Platinum CrewMax, 5.7l iForce V8
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2010, 05:49 PM   #29
elp_jc
Brigadier General
United_States
80
Rep
4,910
Posts

 
Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by my911fixxx View Post
I bought my car with 3000 miles. I have put 3500 miles on it and have had to add 1 quart 2 seperate times already.
Did you check the level when you bought it? Most likely it was pretty low already, so I bet it's more like 1L+, rather than 2. You need to monitor consumption starting from a known level. Read how to check oil properly (search is your friend), top it off to max, and then monitor consumption. With the lousy resolution of the sensor, there's no other way. Good luck.
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2010, 10:14 PM   #30
my911fixxx
Private First Class
my911fixxx's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
177
Posts

 
Drives: "12" X5M
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lake Norman, NC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elp_jc View Post
Did you check the level when you bought it? Most likely it was pretty low already, so I bet it's more like 1L+, rather than 2. You need to monitor consumption starting from a known level. Read how to check oil properly (search is your friend), top it off to max, and then monitor consumption. With the lousy resolution of the sensor, there's no other way. Good luck.
Thank You!!! I did find your post after I submitted my question. I will try this.
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2010, 11:22 PM   #31
saeedg48
Brigadier General
Iran
132
Rep
3,499
Posts

 
Drives: 12 CLS63 + 14 M6 C
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Unknown

iTrader: (1)

Every 1k
__________________


2008 M3 Sedan + TestPipes + Tune [sold]

2012 CLS63 AMG + P30 Performance Package
2014 M6 Coupe + AMS Downpipes + KW V3
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2010, 12:24 AM   #32
vinnycg
Captain
11
Rep
710
Posts

 
Drives: 2005 Infiniti G35 Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (1)

I add a half a quart roughly every 2.5k.
Appreciate 0
      09-25-2010, 06:01 AM   #33
Moe's M4
Enlisted Member
Moe's M4's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
38
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 BMW M4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Well said...
... just pure "logic", my friends. When we (humans) feel hungry, we eat. When an engine needs oil or warns you for it, fill it as needed. Keep it safe, protect your investment...
Appreciate 0
      09-25-2010, 06:02 AM   #34
Moe's M4
Enlisted Member
Moe's M4's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
38
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 BMW M4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by elp_jc View Post
Did you check the level when you bought it? Most likely it was pretty low already, so I bet it's more like 1L+, rather than 2. You need to monitor consumption starting from a known level. Read how to check oil properly (search is your friend), top it off to max, and then monitor consumption. With the lousy resolution of the sensor, there's no other way. Good luck.
Well said...
... just pure "logic", my friends. When we (humans) feel hungry, we eat. When an engine needs oil or warns you for it, fill it as needed. Keep it safe, protect your investment...
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2010, 11:35 AM   #35
sparkyg
Brigadier General
sparkyg's Avatar
Canada
47
Rep
3,493
Posts

 
Drives: EBII 2014 F31 328xi
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oil Country

iTrader: (5)

I add a 1/2 quart or so every 5-6k mi
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST