BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board
 
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-18-2007, 12:23 AM   #1
Nikki
Major General
Nikki's Avatar
United_States
213
Rep
6,373
Posts

 
Drives: del Sol VTEC & Sepang Z4MC
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: OC

iTrader: (9)

lol baddassss

hahahha check it out...

my monitor has this little yellow patch of dead pixels which has been slowly spreading for the past six months. i got my computer less than a year ago so its all under warranty so i called dell like 2 days ago around 4-5pm and within an hour he's like "ok i'm sending out a new one, it will be there within 2-3 business days". so i'm like, hell yeah, they don't even want my old one. the monitor ended up showing up the next day around noon, less than 24 hours later! so i've been feeling pretty badass lately with a dual monitor setup hopefully the pixels won't keep spreading, rendering the right monitor rather useless.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Nikki

Appreciate 0
      03-18-2007, 12:50 AM   #2
1001
Captain
United_States
10
Rep
830
Posts

 
Drives: 06' 325i/08' 350z/09' 128i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San francisco

iTrader: (0)

i heard that there's a way to fix dead pixels. i think it goes something like turning the computer off and the hold the dead pixel spot with a little pressure and then ture it back on while you are still applying pressure and it should go away. i heard this from a friend cuz that's what he did and he says it works.
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2007, 12:55 AM   #3
edgarj
Captain
edgarj's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
811
Posts

 
Drives: 335i e92, PROcede, Eisen-fake
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Tennessee via PDX

iTrader: (1)

Wow. Now that's service. My frend actually had a liquid-coolant leak that fried the mother board in his dual 2.5 Power Mac G5 (3+ years old, and OUT OF APPLECARE WARRANTY for almost 2 years). He took it to one of the local Apple stores and due to the rarity of the issue they replaced it with a quad 2.6 Intel Mac Pro and even matched his 8GB of ram on the new one, which is over a grand in buffered ECC ram alone. And this is on a computer that was completely out of warranty. Insane. Dell and Apple are worth the cost premium for this type of amazing support. I have a 24" Dell at home, and I'll hope for dead pixels now. Badass indeed.
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2007, 01:33 AM   #4
ctgazer
Major General
ctgazer's Avatar
Canada
172
Rep
7,952
Posts

 
Drives: a dilapidated ride
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: canada eh!

iTrader: (10)

Garage List
2006 e90  [0.00]
Send a message via MSN to ctgazer
you should set it so that it is 1 big screen, as opposed to 2 individual ones...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2007, 01:57 AM   #5
just4kickz
boku no namae ha...
United_States
134
Rep
11,038
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BS 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: S. Bay Area, CA + Newark, NJ + ChiCity + True Blue

iTrader: (11)

Garage List
2006 E90 330i  [0.00]
get another and your officially a nerd.
__________________
looking for a PreLCI Black Sapphire e90 front bumper without license plate holes

"Akimbo shotguns. Broken wrists anyone? And don't give me that 'it's just a game' bull****. Where the **** are my akimbo interventions then?! One scope on each eye mother****er!!"
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2007, 02:21 AM   #6
edgarj
Captain
edgarj's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
811
Posts

 
Drives: 335i e92, PROcede, Eisen-fake
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Tennessee via PDX

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctgazer View Post
you should set it so that it is 1 big screen, as opposed to 2 individual ones...
It is set as two screens, only the wallpaper is duplicated. You have to split a super wide image and set each screen's wallpaper individaully on Mac OSX. On windows XP, I think, you're stuck with the same image duplicated on each screen.
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2007, 03:52 AM   #7
Kit523
Major General
Kit523's Avatar
Hong Kong
108
Rep
6,902
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 AW E90 M3
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: B.C. Vancouver

iTrader: (25)

i like ur wallpaper on ur desktop....
would you mind posting it here? so i can use it too?LOL
thanks
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2007, 09:04 AM   #8
E91 Dude
First Lieutenant
9
Rep
318
Posts

 
Drives: Car
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Location

iTrader: (2)

Since you're working with two monitors now, check out a program called UltraMon (if you haven't already). It's almost a necessity for running duals.
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2007, 09:33 AM   #9
DILLIGAF
Lieutenant
Canada
5
Rep
432
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 SG 330i ZSP MT CA
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Whitby, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to DILLIGAF
Hey Nikki, what kind of Dell Desktop did you get? I'm thinking of getting one.



On another note I've had nothing but good experiences with Dell. Yeah there is a bit of a premium on the price but you get to customize the computer to the specs you want. Plus I've owned a desktop and a laptop and havent had any problems.
__________________
2006 330i
Sparkling Graphite/Sport pkg/Comfort Access/Aluminum Pedals/35% LLumar tint/Blacklines/OEM Shortshift knob
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2007, 10:10 AM   #10
Nikki
Major General
Nikki's Avatar
United_States
213
Rep
6,373
Posts

 
Drives: del Sol VTEC & Sepang Z4MC
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: OC

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kit523 View Post
i like ur wallpaper on ur desktop....
would you mind posting it here? so i can use it too?LOL
thanks
thanks, it's on my website. http://nikki.bimmerpost.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by E91 Dude View Post
Since you're working with two monitors now, check out a program called UltraMon (if you haven't already). It's almost a necessity for running duals.
what does that do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DILLIGAF View Post
Hey Nikki, what kind of Dell Desktop did you get? I'm thinking of getting one.



On another note I've had nothing but good experiences with Dell. Yeah there is a bit of a premium on the price but you get to customize the computer to the specs you want. Plus I've owned a desktop and a laptop and havent had any problems.

it's a xps 400 but i don't know if they make that anymore.
__________________
Nikki

Appreciate 0
      03-18-2007, 10:52 AM   #11
2009BMW335
Captain
8
Rep
674
Posts

 
Drives: .
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: davie, fl

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
what kind of lighting do you have over that tank?
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2007, 11:05 AM   #12
Nikki
Major General
Nikki's Avatar
United_States
213
Rep
6,373
Posts

 
Drives: del Sol VTEC & Sepang Z4MC
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: OC

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by awesome View Post
what kind of lighting do you have over that tank?
power compact, that is just the actinic on not the daylight, they're on timers.
__________________
Nikki

Appreciate 0
      03-18-2007, 03:03 PM   #13
Nikki
Major General
Nikki's Avatar
United_States
213
Rep
6,373
Posts

 
Drives: del Sol VTEC & Sepang Z4MC
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: OC

iTrader: (9)

What was funny is I call up and I get the Indian guy who says his name is Peter, yeah yeah lol and he says "how can I help you?" and I tell him my problem and he says "It says here that your computer has been lost?"


ahhahahaha I don't know if anyone remembers but UPS "lost" my computer last year. I called Dell to get a new one and then the next day UPS shows up with the computer without any explanation of what had happened. whatever, so i call Dell to tell them I got the computer and I don't need them to ship me a new one. Then I realize that they didn't send me the Windows CD that I requested so I call back and they say "It says here that your computer has been lost?" and I told them, no no I already called to say I have it, I just need a Windows CD. I go back and forth, and to make a long story short I never got my Windows CD and everytime I called no matter how many times I said I had the computer and they said they fixed it whenever I called back they kept saying it was lost.

So apparently they thought my computer was lost for a year and never shipped me out a new one, what a bunch fo retards lol.
__________________
Nikki


Last edited by Nikki; 03-18-2007 at 03:29 PM.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST