BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-10-2010, 09:46 PM   #1
kpneverdies
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: AW M3 E92 2010
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hawaii

Posts: 354
iTrader: (0)

possible to get dvd touch screen?

hey guys, i own a m3 e92 2010 w/o navigation.
i was wondering if its possible to install dvd touch screen for this car.
since its fiber optic, i heard you need to place your original deck somewhere in the car.

thanks.
kpneverdies is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2010, 11:52 PM   #2
1sikbmr
Brigadier General
 
1sikbmr's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New York

Posts: 3,258
iTrader: (14)

It is possible. but it will require a ton of work. For one the original deck must be placed somewhere in the car and two all new speaker wires must be ran. For the most part you lose the chime when the door is open or you didn't wear your seatbelt. Be careful if you are running amps as the speaker wires that are originally ran to the deck will burn the original deck causing no sound to play from the deck.
__________________

E90 ///M3 6MT Atlantis Blue - Fox red
ESS VT1-550|Gloss black grilles/Gold gills|V1 hardwire|Filled reflectors|ZHP lighted shift knob|Volk TE37 Gloss Black|Mode Carbon GT4 Lip|Umnitza V4 full blackout kit|Agency Power exhaust|Sosi x-pipe|BMW Performance Steering Wheel V1|
1sikbmr is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-30-2010, 07:43 PM   #3
mathematics
Captain
 
mathematics's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 328i e93 alpine white
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Queens, NY

Posts: 618
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpneverdies View Post
hey guys, i own a m3 e92 2010 w/o navigation.
i was wondering if its possible to install dvd touch screen for this car.
since its fiber optic, i heard you need to place your original deck somewhere in the car.

thanks.
yes, but unless you re-locate the factory radio, you lose chimes and SOS assist. i just installed a Kenwood DN9960 in mine and totally scrapped iDrive and couldn't be happier. I did not re-locate the radio and don't think i'm going to. re-locating isn't as bad as it sounds and is very doable because i saw it done.
__________________
iPhone 5s (iTunes library/iTunes radio/Waze, etc) to Airport Express via AirPlay to Tru Technology SSLD6i via aux out of Airport Express to Helix A4S Competition. Dynaudio MD102, Esotar 1200, and MW152. Jehnert Door Cards and mid-bass'.
mathematics is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST