BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Cosmetic/Visual (Exterior + Interior) Modifications
 
Evolve Automotive
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-23-2010, 10:01 PM   #45
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,161
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio///M View Post
Do the new LCI lights retain the rear fog light option, like the originals did?
I am asking just so that we can have the knowledge and for those who have done the rear fog light switch mod.

Please let us know.

Thanks Tom!!
Yes - rear foglamp operation was still present during our component tests.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-23-2010, 11:16 PM   #46
MonteCarloM3
Banned
 
MonteCarloM3's Avatar
 
Drives: a shitty M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Uranus

Posts: 577
iTrader: (0)

For those that can't get it coded properly after installation...

Should have read more on the subject and did you really think there would not be a bulb error on the dash if coding was not done as recommended. I would recommend not buying the product unless you know someone can definitely code the vehicle properly. Pretty simple stuff.
Personally, i did not read where EAS mentioned a bulb error on the dash. Maybe this was an oversight on their part, you have to give them the benefit of the doubt. Chill a bit and wait for a BMW dealer fix or take a drive somewhere to get it done. Otherwise put the original ones back on and pray for a refund
MonteCarloM3 is offline   Uzbekistan
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2010, 12:26 AM   #47
H Bomb
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 08 M3
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: FL to NY

Posts: 1,679
iTrader: (4)

hey have you darkened them like your last ones?? if so any pics?? your other ones looked great. i am thinking of buying them from the guy you sold them to as he is selling them now for these but they are on the tad to dark side and i don't want to be pulled over all the time and for my color car might look to dark. but they came out awesome whoever painted them for you

anyhow if you have your new ones done can you post pics so we can see how they look darker.

thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by gthirtyfizle View Post
beleive it or not, I think this mod is what improves the rear of the car the most. i absolutely love mine. thank u very much EAS...
__________________
Street- 08 E92 M3- Sparkling Graphite/ Fox Red/6sp
Track- 10 CRF 250-PR2 Race Motor/Ohlins TTX Susp
Hauler- 06 Ford Skyjacker F250 4WD
H Bomb is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2010, 01:57 AM   #48
Kev
Resident Anesthesiologist
 
Kev's Avatar
 
Drives: VW bug with a misplaced engine
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle, WA

Posts: 8,815
iTrader: (24)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonteCarloM3 View Post
For those that can't get it coded properly after installation...

Should have read more on the subject and did you really think there would not be a bulb error on the dash if coding was not done as recommended. I would recommend not buying the product unless you know someone can definitely code the vehicle properly. Pretty simple stuff.
Personally, i did not read where EAS mentioned a bulb error on the dash. Maybe this was an oversight on their part, you have to give them the benefit of the doubt. Chill a bit and wait for a BMW dealer fix or take a drive somewhere to get it done. Otherwise put the original ones back on and pray for a refund
Well, anyone that has an AutoLogic should be able to do this since EAS got the coding already. They just need to give EAS a call......
__________________
kev { divinum est sedate dolorem }
Kev is offline   Hong Kong
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2010, 10:52 AM   #49
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,161
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonteCarloM3 View Post
For those that can't get it coded properly after installation...

Should have read more on the subject and did you really think there would not be a bulb error on the dash if coding was not done as recommended. I would recommend not buying the product unless you know someone can definitely code the vehicle properly. Pretty simple stuff.
Personally, i did not read where EAS mentioned a bulb error on the dash. Maybe this was an oversight on their part, you have to give them the benefit of the doubt. Chill a bit and wait for a BMW dealer fix or take a drive somewhere to get it done. Otherwise put the original ones back on and pray for a refund
Dealers will not likely offer a retrofit path, even with the upcoming BlackLines.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2010, 11:38 AM   #50
aajami
Brigadier General
 
aajami's Avatar
 
Drives: Space Gray '09 E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA

Posts: 4,007
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Dealers will not likely offer a retrofit path, even with the upcoming BlackLines.
BMW has cancelled the development of the E92 LCI Black Lines.
__________________
'09 E92 M3: Space Gray, Black, Carbon Leather | ZTP 2MK ZPP 2MT 6FL | link 1 / link 2
Mods: M Performance exhaust | ZCP retrofit | Euro airbox | GTS DCT flash | 240J ECU flash | LCI Euro taillights | CRT lip | OEM alarm retrofit | Space Gray bumper plugs | BMW Performance: Mk. II spoiler / Mk. II non-electronic steering wheel / mirror caps / front grilles / side gills / intake louvers / emblem
aajami is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2010, 12:10 PM   #51
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,496
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
LED taillight retrofit

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Dealers will not likely offer a retrofit path, even with the upcoming BlackLines.
So, I've skimmed through this thread and am interested in ordering them from you. How do I find a shop with Autologic in my area that can code them?

Thanks
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2010, 01:28 PM   #52
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,161
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
So, I've skimmed through this thread and am interested in ordering them from you. How do I find a shop with Autologic in my area that can code them?

Thanks
We would locate one for you.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2010, 01:28 PM   #53
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,161
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Here's a quick shot of VF Engineering's fighter pilot widebody M3 with the LCI upgrade:

__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-25-2010, 02:26 PM   #54
Tio///M
///M South Lead
 
Tio///M's Avatar
 
Drives: Jerez Blk / Fox Red Ext
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In Miami Serving all of SoFLA

Posts: 863
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to Tio///M Send a message via Yahoo to Tio///M
Great theme, but the Tanabe exhaust didn't do it justice. Just my honest opinion. I love the attention to detail on this fighter jet on wheels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Here's a quick shot of VF Engineering's fighter pilot widebody M3 with the LCI upgrade:

__________________
///AA ///Challenge ///MS ///EAS ///OEM ///H&R ///

MFlight!! .......NOW
///M SOUTH
on Facebook!!
FOR SALE!!
Tio///M is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-27-2010, 12:32 PM   #55
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,496
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Taillight upgrade

Ordered my kit yesterday from EAS. Will take about a week for them to get more harnesses made up. I've found a local shop with the Autologic system that thinks they can do the coding. Going to talk to them today. BMW makes it harder to do mods like this with every generation; was simple when I did my '01 E46 with the '03.5 LEDs.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-27-2010, 08:36 PM   #56
M3sicko
Captain
 
M3sicko's Avatar
 
Drives: 10' E92 M3 6MT to 13' E92 DCT
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NY

Posts: 928
iTrader: (50)

Hey guys, NO SURE if i am the first one getting this done in NY, so today i went to this shop in Huntington, Long Island(referred by Tom@eas) to do the retrofit for my new 2011 Lci tail lights, the whole process was pretty simple as they just plugged the autologic device to the car for the coding as said Tom earlier on this tread, the whole process took about 1 hr as they ran a 2nd check before i leave the shop since its their first time they are performing a retrofit for e92 M3. Now the flickering issues is completely gone at startup and the bulbs check malfunction light has disappeared in the instrument as well as the quicker blinking malfunction with the turning signals blinkers is also gone. Cant be happier with these new tails. Big thanks to Tom@eas and Ming@AT.

Here are some quick shots i took:
3rd pic they had to keep the battery alive while they perform the coding
Attached Images
    

Last edited by M3sicko; 05-30-2010 at 10:54 AM.
M3sicko is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-28-2010, 12:10 AM   #57
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,161
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3sicko View Post
Hey guys, NO SURE if i am the first one getting this done in NY, so today i went to this shop in Huntington, Long Island(referred by Tom) to do the retrofit for my new 2011 Lci tail lights, the whole process was pretty simple as they just plugged the autologic device to the car for the coding as said Tom@EAS earlier on this tread, the whole process took about 1 hr as they ran a 2nd check before i leave the shop since its their first time they are performing a retrofit for e92 M3. Now the flickering issues is completely gone at startup and the bulbs check malfunction light has disappeared in the instrument as well as the quicker blinking malfunction with the turning signals blinkers is also gone. Cant be happier with these new tails. Big thanks to Ming.

Here are some quick shots i took:
3rd pic they had to keep the battery alive while they perform the retrofit
That is a Fronius power supply (same model I use). Stable voltage is required when working with control modules to prevent voltage spikes and ruining a module.

Glad you are up to speed!
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-28-2010, 08:02 AM   #58
disruptv
Major
 
Drives: 3M
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: ny

Posts: 1,145
iTrader: (10)

Garage List
09 3m  [0.00]
thanks

Last edited by disruptv; 05-29-2010 at 10:34 PM.
disruptv is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-28-2010, 11:29 AM   #59
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,161
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by disruptv View Post
Tom

please pm me a price shipped to 11746 and a shop in my area that can do the coding...also, I have a feeling it will be the same shop m3sicko used but regardless please send me the info...

also, can you tint a portion of the tailights for me?

thanks
We cannot reply to sale questions in the thread - this is technical related only.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-28-2010, 01:20 PM   #60
slimj281
Private First Class
 
Drives: E92 cp 6-MT
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston

Posts: 117
iTrader: (0)

Any shop in houston that can do the coding??
slimj281 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-28-2010, 01:38 PM   #61
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,496
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Autologic shops

Quote:
Originally Posted by slimj281 View Post
Any shop in houston that can do the coding??
If you go to the Autologic website here http://www.autologic.us/ and use the contact form to inquire about a BMW shop with their system in your area, they will give you a list. They got back to me quickly.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-28-2010, 05:25 PM   #62
BobsM3Coupe
Captain
 
Drives: M3 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California

Posts: 862
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
If you go to the Autologic website here http://www.autologic.us/ and use the contact form to inquire about a BMW shop with their system in your area, they will give you a list. They got back to me quickly.
Seems like many of the independent service places that have the Autologic programmer don't know how to use it on any BMW cars newer than 2007.
So be careful.

In my case, looks like I'll have to take the 440 mile round trip to have Tom at EAS do it.
BobsM3Coupe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-28-2010, 07:12 PM   #63
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,496
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobsM3Coupe View Post
Seems like many of the independent service places that have the Autologic programmer don't know how to use it on any BMW cars newer than 2007.
So be careful.

In my case, looks like I'll have to take the 440 mile round trip to have Tom at EAS do it.
The shop I went to has not done it, but is confident it is straightoforward. The program is a macro so hard to mess up as long as they keep a power supply hooked up to the car.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-28-2010, 08:59 PM   #64
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,161
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobsM3Coupe View Post
Seems like many of the independent service places that have the Autologic programmer don't know how to use it on any BMW cars newer than 2007.
So be careful.

In my case, looks like I'll have to take the 440 mile round trip to have Tom at EAS do it.
Tools are only as good as the person using them.

Let me know if you should decide to take the trip to SoCal.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-29-2010, 01:47 AM   #65
BobsM3Coupe
Captain
 
Drives: M3 Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California

Posts: 862
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Tools are only as good as the person using them.

Let me know if you should decide to take the trip to SoCal.
Thanks Tom.

I called the local shop who has the Autologic scanner to see if they use a power supply during the coding of the lights. He said they shouldn't need it for the short time it should take to code the lights. Makes me even more unsure that they know what they are doing. Though they do have a good rep from folks who have had work done on their cars at this shop for over 30 years. I just feel they don't have any experience working on BMW's newer than 2006 since BMW covers all the maintenance for 4 years.
BobsM3Coupe is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-29-2010, 11:44 PM   #66
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,161
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobsM3Coupe View Post
Thanks Tom.

I called the local shop who has the Autologic scanner to see if they use a power supply during the coding of the lights. He said they shouldn't need it for the short time it should take to code the lights. Makes me even more unsure that they know what they are doing. Though they do have a good rep from folks who have had work done on their cars at this shop for over 30 years. I just feel they don't have any experience working on BMW's newer than 2006 since BMW covers all the maintenance for 4 years.
While it should be ok, it's better to be safe than sorry. We use a power supply whenever possible, it's not worth the risk if it's easily accessible.

Proper precautions have to be taken during coding, we even require customers to turn off Bluetooth on their phones in case a call comes in during the coding process.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST