BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-13-2010, 11:18 AM   #1
pesh
Private First Class
United_States
14
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: 2015 Black M4 Convertible
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Send a message via Yahoo to pesh Send a message via Skype™ to pesh
Removing Satellite Radio Option in Menu?

My M3 has the Sirius Satellite Radio option, however, now that the trial period is up, I have no plans to get a subscription. Is there any way to remove the Satellite Radio option from my Radio Listing in Menu? I'd rather only see things that are available to me, instead of clicking on Satellite Radio and seeing a bunch of $ signs indicating i need to buy. Even if it would be simply greyed out, would be fine an that it would get skipped over as your jog the iDrive dial...

Thanks,
Pesh
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 11:47 AM   #2
foosh
Major
foosh's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
1,314
Posts

Drives: 2008 M3 E93
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Annapolis, MD

iTrader: (0)

No. Not unless you want to risk a major meltdown by hacking into the system and trying to reprogram it. If you're smart, you'll ignore it.

Moreover, the next owner might well want to renew the subscription, and you're messing with your resale value, even if you manage to avoid screwing up the car.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 12:45 PM   #3
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
361
Rep
11,960
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pesh View Post
My M3 has the Sirius Satellite Radio option, however, now that the trial period is up, I have no plans to get a subscription. Is there any way to remove the Satellite Radio option from my Radio Listing in Menu? I'd rather only see things that are available to me, instead of clicking on Satellite Radio and seeing a bunch of $ signs indicating i need to buy. Even if it would be simply greyed out, would be fine an that it would get skipped over as your jog the iDrive dial...

Thanks,
Pesh
You could do what you are asking for by coding the unit to not recognize the Satellite Radio especifically, but a dealer cannot do that. Only an Autologic shop could, and probably is going to cost you the price of the module itself to perform that particular coding.

You could try unplugging the Sat module and see what happens as well.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 01:59 PM   #4
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
706
Rep
11,735
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (15)

Garage List
2010 BMW M3  [0.00]
2015 BMW M4  [2.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
You could do what you are asking for by coding the unit to not recognize the Satellite Radio especifically, but a dealer cannot do that. Only an Autologic shop could, and probably is going to cost you the price of the module itself to perform that particular coding.

You could try unplugging the Sat module and see what happens as well.
If the module is unplugged, he will need a diagnostic loop to restore the MOST ring. This is #7 in this image:



Afterwards, Sirius will disappear from the iDrive menu.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 02:04 PM   #5
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
361
Rep
11,960
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
If the module is unplugged, he will need a diagnostic loop to restore the MOST ring. This is #7 in this image:



Afterwards, Sirius will disappear from the iDrive menu.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 02:06 PM   #6
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
157
Rep
6,560
Posts

Drives: 2015 Alfa Romeo 4C LE
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
i did what Tom suggested and its gone from my list of inputs
cost me about $25 for the parts
i used part #7 and #12
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 05:09 PM   #7
roycemek
Private First Class
7
Rep
181
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burbank

iTrader: (4)

Where are those items in the picture above located? Was the mod easy? Pardon my ignorance but what is the "MOST ring" or what does "MOST" refer to?

Thanks,
Royce M
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 05:11 PM   #8
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
706
Rep
11,735
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (15)

Garage List
2010 BMW M3  [0.00]
2015 BMW M4  [2.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by roycemek View Post
Where are those items in the picture above located? Was the mod easy? Pardon my ignorance but what is the "MOST ring" or what does "MOST" refer to?

Thanks,
Royce M
MOST is the fiber optic ring used for audio in Sirius.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2010, 05:29 PM   #9
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
157
Rep
6,560
Posts

Drives: 2015 Alfa Romeo 4C LE
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by roycemek View Post
Where are those items in the picture above located? Was the mod easy? Pardon my ignorance but what is the "MOST ring" or what does "MOST" refer to?

Thanks,
Royce M
well easier for you than for me since i will tell you how
it took about 15 min



you need to pull out the plug circled in the picture
remove the optical fiber cable from it
which is the wire that is covered in a black ribbed (for her pleasure) plastic
and insert that into item # 12 which is basically an empty plug
and inset item #7 into the plug
basically what you are doing is taking the optical fiber cable out of the Sirius module and plugging in #7 which is sort of a u-turn for the light
so the light comes out, gets turned around and goes back in
thereby completing the circuit
when you are done make sure to zip tie or use velcro ties or something to tie up the optical cable and the pink plug, so they don't vibrate or touch something else

the cool thing is if the next owner wants Sirius
he just needs to pick up a module from ebay or from this forum
and plugs it in and he's set
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2010, 08:36 PM   #10
roycemek
Private First Class
7
Rep
181
Posts

Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burbank

iTrader: (4)

Wow. That does look really easy. Thanks for the pics too. I'm going to try and order those two parts this week.

Thanks,
Royce M
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2010, 09:18 PM   #11
elp_jc
Brigadier General
United_States
89
Rep
4,910
Posts

Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

iTrader: (0)

Have a comment. First, why not use the 'touch' keys to invoke CD, radio, AUX, and whatever else you play? And finally, you always have the weather alert channel active, in case you ever need it. Not worth messing with it IMO, but to each his own. Just a suggestion. Take care.
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2010, 04:33 PM   #12
Patrys@BimmerTech
Lieutenant Colonel
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
Poland
125
Rep
1,702
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarei View Post
i did what Tom suggested and its gone from my list of inputs
cost me about $25 for the parts
i used part #7 and #12
Could you please post the PN of #7 ?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2010, 07:56 PM   #13
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
157
Rep
6,560
Posts

Drives: 2015 Alfa Romeo 4C LE
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...78&hg=61&fg=15

part number 61136917978
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2010, 07:56 PM   #14
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
157
Rep
6,560
Posts

Drives: 2015 Alfa Romeo 4C LE
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
see this link for more info
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=sat+radio
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2010, 04:49 AM   #15
Patrys@BimmerTech
Lieutenant Colonel
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
Poland
125
Rep
1,702
Posts

Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarei View Post
Many thanks.
The P/Ns are: #12: 61136917978, #7: 61136917541
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:55 AM.




m3post
m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST