BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wheels + Tires Sponsored by The Tire Rack
  TireRack

KEEP M3POST ALIVE BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER LINK!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-03-2010, 11:29 AM   #1
1MOREMOD
2014 Track Days - 11|Ridge 1:52:24|Pacific 1:35:72
 
1MOREMOD's Avatar
 
Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

Posts: 12,384
iTrader: (5)

tpms

what type are our tmps stock? are they battery or non-battery? how long do they last. just got a set of wheels from eas with tpms. do i have to do anything special when switching between wheels? just reset the tpms system to the new pressures i would assume.
__________________

02 Tiag e46 M3|6MT|GC plates|MCS c.o.|GC bars|GC race control arms|GC bushings|BW eng. & tran. mounts|subframe kit|BW race shifter|BW Jaffster|Euro header|BW exhaust|K&N c.a.i.|Epic race tune|Rouge pulleys|Seibon CF hood|CSL bumper|ST-40|XR-2|SS lines|half cage|Recaro profi|Profi 2 harness|BMWpedals|BW studs|
1MOREMOD is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2010, 12:43 PM   #2
Ben335
Captain
 
Ben335's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 M3 Finally here
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Virginia

Posts: 891
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriszeh View Post
what type are our tmps stock? are they battery or non-battery? how long do they last. just got a set of wheels from eas with tpms. do i have to do anything special when switching between wheels? just reset the tpms system to the new pressures i would assume.
All you have to do is reset the TMPS system in the car. The car will pick up whatever frequency the TMPS that are mounted on your car are running at.
__________________
09 SG E90, Black on Carbon Leather, Tech, Premium, Cold, iPod, Premium Sound, 19s, OEM Alarm, PDC, Moonroof, Sirius
Eisenmann Sport / Eibach Springs / 35% F1 Pinnacle Tint / Macht Schnell Air Filter / LUX Angel Eyes / Black Grill / AA Pulley / Powerchip Stage II Tune / Fabspeed X-Pipe & HFC / RAC Monolites RG63
Ben335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2010, 01:14 PM   #3
ff1600
Private
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Near Sears Point

Posts: 54
iTrader: (0)

What happens when there are two sets of pressure sensors on board - wheels on the car and another set of wheels with tires mounted in the trunk/back seat?
ff1600 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2010, 01:36 PM   #4
Ben335
Captain
 
Ben335's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 M3 Finally here
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Virginia

Posts: 891
iTrader: (2)

The receivers are located in the wheel well area. Tires located in the trunk would not be picked up by the receivers.
__________________
09 SG E90, Black on Carbon Leather, Tech, Premium, Cold, iPod, Premium Sound, 19s, OEM Alarm, PDC, Moonroof, Sirius
Eisenmann Sport / Eibach Springs / 35% F1 Pinnacle Tint / Macht Schnell Air Filter / LUX Angel Eyes / Black Grill / AA Pulley / Powerchip Stage II Tune / Fabspeed X-Pipe & HFC / RAC Monolites RG63
Ben335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2010, 01:47 PM   #5
elp_jc
Brigadier General
 
Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

Posts: 4,910
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ff1600 View Post
What happens when there are two sets of pressure sensors on board - wheels on the car and another set of wheels with tires mounted in the trunk/back seat?
Sensors don't transmit unless the wheel is turning at a certain rate .

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben335 View Post
All you have to do is reset the TMPS system in the car.
Really? No need for dealer to code the sensors??? Hope you're not confusing it with the button on the console, which is the 'flat tire warning' reset, which was designed before TPMS was mandated.

This is the first time I've heard that, and just want to make sure. Some cars have the capability for 2 sets of sensors, with a corresponding switch (usually inside the glove box). This is awesome news if true . Oh, and are you talking about '08/'09 cars, or '10? Thx.
elp_jc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2010, 01:49 PM   #6
Ben335
Captain
 
Ben335's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 M3 Finally here
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Virginia

Posts: 891
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elp_jc View Post
Really? No need for dealer to code the sensors??? This is the first time I've heard that, and just want to make sure. Some cars have the capability for 2 sets of sensors, with a corresponding switch (usually inside the glove box). This is awesome news if true . Oh, and are you talking about '08/'09 cars, or '10? Thx.
On my 09 car. I have 2 sets of TPMS. One that came with my OEM 19 inch wheels and the new ones that I put on my RAC wheels that are on the car now. All I had to do when I put the RAC wheels on it reset the TPMS via iDrive and it worked perfectly.

The TPMS does not need to be coded to the car. It is pretty much plug and play as long as you have the correct TPMS for the year of the car. I understand BMW changed the TPMS for MY10.
__________________
09 SG E90, Black on Carbon Leather, Tech, Premium, Cold, iPod, Premium Sound, 19s, OEM Alarm, PDC, Moonroof, Sirius
Eisenmann Sport / Eibach Springs / 35% F1 Pinnacle Tint / Macht Schnell Air Filter / LUX Angel Eyes / Black Grill / AA Pulley / Powerchip Stage II Tune / Fabspeed X-Pipe & HFC / RAC Monolites RG63
Ben335 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2010, 01:52 PM   #7
elp_jc
Brigadier General
 
Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

Posts: 4,910
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben335 View Post
All I had to do when I put the RAC wheels on it reset the TPMS via iDrive and it worked perfectly.
That's awesome; thanks. When it comes the time to change sensors, it's nice to know you don't have to go to a dealer, like on most other cars. Take care.
elp_jc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST