BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > DIY Guides/ Discussions
 
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-02-2009, 09:14 PM   #89
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
United_States
136
Rep
7,647
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by sehrgut View Post
Amasing writeup, I will be doing my oilchange this weekend. I have always done all the oilchanges myself on my previous cars and this will be my first on a E92 M3 so I'm a bit thrilled but also kinda nervous because theres no dipstick and I'm a bit concerned about the service light after I've changed the oil.

Do I have to reset it manually or will the car automaticly pick up that I've changed the oil?
If you are doing a mid-point change (e.g., 7k miles) you should not reset the light. If you are doing a regular change, why (free with maintenance plan).
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2009, 03:47 AM   #90
sehrgut
Major
sehrgut's Avatar
17
Rep
1,033
Posts

 
Drives: emthree
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: socal

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
If you are doing a mid-point change (e.g., 7k miles) you should not reset the light. If you are doing a regular change, why (free with maintenance plan).
Yes correct, I'm at 6580 miles right now and about to change oil so its just a mid-point before the 15000 general service.
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2009, 09:36 AM   #91
montreal red
chris
montreal red's Avatar
Canada
146
Rep
12,127
Posts

 
Drives: White Boat
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (31)

Send a message via MSN to montreal red
Quote:
Originally Posted by sehrgut View Post
Yes correct, I'm at 6580 miles right now and about to change oil so its just a mid-point before the 15000 general service.
in that case, do not reset the oil change light. otherwise your next service would be even further away. just change the oil and filter and leave the computers alone.
__________________

Current: 2013 F10 M5 & 2013 GLK350
997.1 GT3RS (gone)
2009 WRX STI (gone)
e92 M3 (gone)
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2009, 10:23 PM   #92
sehrgut
Major
sehrgut's Avatar
17
Rep
1,033
Posts

 
Drives: emthree
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: socal

iTrader: (1)

thanks, I did leave the ecu alone after i changed the oil.
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2009, 02:26 AM   #93
sehrgut
Major
sehrgut's Avatar
17
Rep
1,033
Posts

 
Drives: emthree
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: socal

iTrader: (1)

damnit i have a restraint passanger malfunction code and with that on I can't seem to check the oillevel?!?!? How fast does it take the oil level sensor for your car to read the level by the way?
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2009, 06:07 PM   #94
garek
Second Lieutenant
garek's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
287
Posts

 
Drives: 09 E90 M3 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arizona

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sehrgut View Post
damnit i have a restraint passanger malfunction code and with that on I can't seem to check the oillevel?!?!? How fast does it take the oil level sensor for your car to read the level by the way?
Once the engine is at normal operating temp, about a minute.
__________________
///M3 E90 '09 Le Mans Blue | DCT | Silver Novillo | Tech | Prem | 19"s | Prem Sound | iPod
StopTech BBK | Volk VR.G2 | H&R Sport Springs
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2009, 06:16 PM   #95
garek
Second Lieutenant
garek's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
287
Posts

 
Drives: 09 E90 M3 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arizona

iTrader: (0)

First, thanks everyone for all of the info posted here. It was really useful info.

I just changed my oil, 5086 miles, and I noticed a couple of things that differ from the original write up.

1. So far as I could tell, my drain plugs were identical. One of them, the one farther towards the front of the car, did have a blue dot written using a marker, just like you can see in the pics posted by GregW.
http://www.m3post.com/forums/showpos...7&postcount=21

2. It took 35 NM of torque to loosen my drain plugs, rather than the 18 NM and 10 NM suggested in the original write up. Consequently, I tightened both drain plugs to 35 NM. Actually, when I saw the 18 NM and 10 NM, that seemed quite low to me, and 35 NM is more like what I would expect.
__________________
///M3 E90 '09 Le Mans Blue | DCT | Silver Novillo | Tech | Prem | 19"s | Prem Sound | iPod
StopTech BBK | Volk VR.G2 | H&R Sport Springs
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2009, 06:26 PM   #96
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
United_States
136
Rep
7,647
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by garek View Post
2. It took 35 NM of torque to loosen my drain plugs, rather than the 18 NM and 10 NM suggested in the original write up. Consequently, I tightened both drain plugs to 35 NM. Actually, when I saw the 18 NM and 10 NM, that seemed quite low to me, and 35 NM is more like what I would expect.
I would not assume the loosening torque equals the correct tightening toque. It often takes more to break a fastener free than its specified tightening torque.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2009, 06:51 PM   #97
elp_jc
Brigadier General
United_States
80
Rep
4,910
Posts

 
Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by garek View Post
Consequently, I tightened both drain plugs to 35 NM.
That's A LOT man . I always tighten all drain plugs by hand, but if you're not familiar with that feel, don't use more than factory specs, which are already on the high side IMO. You DON'T want to strip the threads on this car's oil pan, believe me. Take care.
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2009, 07:30 PM   #98
garek
Second Lieutenant
garek's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
287
Posts

 
Drives: 09 E90 M3 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Arizona

iTrader: (0)

Oops. Thanks for the correction guys.
__________________
///M3 E90 '09 Le Mans Blue | DCT | Silver Novillo | Tech | Prem | 19"s | Prem Sound | iPod
StopTech BBK | Volk VR.G2 | H&R Sport Springs
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2009, 07:45 PM   #99
montreal red
chris
montreal red's Avatar
Canada
146
Rep
12,127
Posts

 
Drives: White Boat
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (31)

Send a message via MSN to montreal red
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
I would not assume the loosening torque equals the correct tightening toque. It often takes more to break a fastener free than its specified tightening torque.
+1
if you tighten something to a certain torque, its always going to take more to loosen the same bolt. esp if that bolt has been left in place for a while. this is because oxidation occurs on the threads.. so there is some 'sticking' of the bolt and to the bolt hole. this applies to wheel nuts as well.. never over tighten them!
__________________

Current: 2013 F10 M5 & 2013 GLK350
997.1 GT3RS (gone)
2009 WRX STI (gone)
e92 M3 (gone)
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2010, 09:31 PM   #100
sard
Major
81
Rep
1,330
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to sard
Hi, finally got my car to 7200 miles so I decided to change the oil.

I let it drain out for about an hour. Initially I put in 8 bottles and drove it. It took about 15 minutes of driving before it read. It gave me the warning of "oil below minimum". So I pulled over and poured another half bottle. This time it took about 7 minutes before giving me "oil below minum warning so I pulled over and poured in another half bottle. After 15 minutes of driving it finally wound up in the middle of the meter. Grand total = 9 bottles. I'll drive it around a few days and see if it remains there and drop in 1/4 bottle more oil if it does.



__________________

E92 M3 - DCT - 20" BBS LM-R - KW Clubsport - Akrapovic Exhaust - Powerchip Tune - Arkym Aero Kit - HID Halo
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2010, 10:18 PM   #101
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
United_States
136
Rep
7,647
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Oil capacity

Quote:
Originally Posted by sard View Post
Grand total = 9 bottles. I'll drive it around a few days and see if it remains there and drop in 1/4 bottle more oil if it does.
Not sure why you would put in more thant the stated capacity of 8.8 liters. The electronic system sucks and is slow to react. Trust that the capacity is 8.8L and do not put in more no matter what it says.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2010, 10:47 PM   #102
sard
Major
81
Rep
1,330
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to sard
GregW, so if I put 9 liters in.. I'll more than likely damage the engine?
__________________

E92 M3 - DCT - 20" BBS LM-R - KW Clubsport - Akrapovic Exhaust - Powerchip Tune - Arkym Aero Kit - HID Halo
Appreciate 0
      01-01-2010, 11:29 PM   #103
Georgeair
Captain
10
Rep
757
Posts

 
Drives: '08 Melbourne E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: McKinney, TX

iTrader: (2)

You guys sliding up underneath a floor jack are making my heart hurt.......
__________________
Objects in mirror are slower than they appear.
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2010, 01:21 AM   #104
elp_jc
Brigadier General
United_States
80
Rep
4,910
Posts

 
Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sard View Post
GregW, so if I put 9 liters in.. I'll more than likely damage the engine?
No. Plus if you overfilled the engine sensor would tell you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
Trust that the capacity is 8.8L and do not put in more no matter what it says.
Depends how long you drain it man. Mine took 9.3 liters to read full, but tech left it draining (both sumps) while at lunch. And sensor is consistent (didn't say 'accurate' since it's graduated in 1/4-lt increments) once engine/oil is at full operating temperature, and done correctly (idling on a flat surface, etc). Take care.
Appreciate 0
      01-02-2010, 02:29 AM   #105
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
United_States
136
Rep
7,647
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by sard View Post
GregW, so if I put 9 liters in.. I'll more than likely damage the engine?
No, that is not a major overfill.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2010, 01:13 AM   #106
sard
Major
81
Rep
1,330
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to sard
Ok, I've gone for 3 drives, also hit the reset button on the stalk on some of them and it remains at the half way mark. I'd say I'm good to go.
__________________

E92 M3 - DCT - 20" BBS LM-R - KW Clubsport - Akrapovic Exhaust - Powerchip Tune - Arkym Aero Kit - HID Halo
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2010, 05:27 PM   #107
rzm3
Moderator
rzm3's Avatar
224
Rep
4,603
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Georgeair View Post
You guys sliding up underneath a floor jack are making my heart hurt.......
yeah guys use jack stands!
__________________
E92 M3 DCT - AiM EVO4 Data Logger / AiM SmartyCam HD / KW Competition 2-Way / OMP ARS Racing Seats / Brembo GT 365 / Pagid Yellow RS-29 / Rear Seats Delete
Appreciate 0
      01-03-2010, 08:41 PM   #108
sard
Major
81
Rep
1,330
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to sard
The pictures were taken as I was finishing up. Although the side front jack points were on the floor jacks, I did put jack stands underneath the car as I was working on it.
__________________

E92 M3 - DCT - 20" BBS LM-R - KW Clubsport - Akrapovic Exhaust - Powerchip Tune - Arkym Aero Kit - HID Halo
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2010, 04:30 PM   #109
TOOMANYCARS
Second Lieutenant
TOOMANYCARS's Avatar
2
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: V.O.W

iTrader: (0)

Sorry to bring this thread back up, I'd just changed the oil on mine and did some math, 8.8L equals to 9.29 quarts of oil, so Sard, you should be fine with pouring in the whole 9 bottles of oil.
__________________
Everything is work in progress.
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2010, 05:03 PM   #110
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
United_States
136
Rep
7,647
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Oil change

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOOMANYCARS View Post
Sorry to bring this thread back up, I'd just changed the oil on mine and did some math, 8.8L equals to 9.29 quarts of oil, so Sard, you should be fine with pouring in the whole 9 bottles of oil.
Not sure I follow your logic - 9 bottles = 9 liters, which is 0.2L overfill.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST