BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
GT Haus
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-27-2009, 05:19 PM   #1
xT4iw4n3zx
Private
 
Drives: 09' E90 LCI
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posts: 76
iTrader: (0)

Is it possible to access my Old Computer's HDD?

I just got a new Quad-Core Desktop. My question is, there's an old computer I have that's sitting in my closet right now and I'd like to get some data out of it. The old computer in question dates back to about 2001, maybe 2000?

My question is: Is there anyway to access my old HDD? The computer's MoBo (Mother Board) is dead. I can't even turn it on. Would there be any compatibility issues between the two computers (the old one and the new one)?

Any suggestions guys? Is software/hardware required?
xT4iw4n3zx is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 05:20 PM   #2
Mega Man
エアーマンが倒せない
 
Mega Man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 135i
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 1,946
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2009 135i  [0.00]
What OS is it running? What OS is your current PC running?
Mega Man is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 05:36 PM   #3
xT4iw4n3zx
Private
 
Drives: 09' E90 LCI
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posts: 76
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mega Man View Post
What OS is it running? What OS is your current PC running?
Old 2001 Computer: Windows XP

New Desktop: Windows Vista 64-bit
xT4iw4n3zx is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 05:55 PM   #4
Ochmonek
Nosy Neighbor
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Next Door in Riverside

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xT4iw4n3zx View Post
I just got a new Quad-Core Desktop. My question is, there's an old computer I have that's sitting in my closet right now and I'd like to get some data out of it. The old computer in question dates back to about 2001, maybe 2000?

My question is: Is there anyway to access my old HDD? The computer's MoBo (Mother Board) is dead. I can't even turn it on. Would there be any compatibility issues between the two computers (the old one and the new one)?

Any suggestions guys? Is software/hardware required?

Sure. Your old HDD is probably IDE. You just need to have an IDE controller on your new MoBo to hook it up to. If your new MoBo doesn't have one, you can get a USB to IDE adapter fairly cheap. Here's a link to one on Frys.com: Frys
Ochmonek is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 05:59 PM   #5
xT4iw4n3zx
Private
 
Drives: 09' E90 LCI
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posts: 76
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ochmonek View Post
Sure. Your old HDD is probably IDE. You just need to have an IDE controller on your new MoBo to hook it up to. If your new MoBo doesn't have one, you can get a USB to IDE adapter fairly cheap. Here's a link to one on Frys.com: Frys
You lost me >O>
What's an IDE Controller? Do most computers have this?
xT4iw4n3zx is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 06:14 PM   #6
Ochmonek
Nosy Neighbor
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Next Door in Riverside

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xT4iw4n3zx View Post
You lost me >O>
What's an IDE Controller? Do most computers have this?

IDE stands for Integrated Drive Electronics, Read about it on wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/EIDE

Newer computers are usually Serial ATA (SATA) wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sata

Your new MoBo may or may not have an IDE controller, in which case you can use the USB to IDE adapter to get your data off of the old HDD.


What MoBo do you have?? I'll look up the specs and tell you what you have.
Ochmonek is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 06:20 PM   #7
xT4iw4n3zx
Private
 
Drives: 09' E90 LCI
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posts: 76
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ochmonek View Post
IDE stands for Integrated Drive Electronics, which is connected to the MoBo via an 80-pin ribbon cable. Newer computers are usually Serial ATA (SATA) and are connected with a 7-pin cable. Your new MoBo may or may not have an IDE controller, in which case you can use the USB to IDE adapter to get your data off of the old HDD.


What MoBo do you have?? I'll look up the specs and tell you what you have.
Where do I look up what type of Mobo I have? >__>
xT4iw4n3zx is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 06:20 PM   #8
darkphantom
Banned
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers

Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom
^yup, IDE to usb. pretty sure you didn't have sata back then :P
darkphantom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 06:20 PM   #9
darkphantom
Banned
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers

Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom
Quote:
Originally Posted by xT4iw4n3zx View Post
Where do I look up what type of Mobo I have? >__>
what type of computer was it? what's the model number?

If it was custom built, you can look on the inside of the tower and look for the company name on the mobo and model #
darkphantom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 06:22 PM   #10
Ochmonek
Nosy Neighbor
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Next Door in Riverside

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkphantom View Post
^yup, IDE to usb. pretty sure you didn't have sata back then :P
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkphantom View Post
what type of computer was it? what's the model number?

If it was custom built, you can look on the inside of the tower and look for the company name on the mobo and model #
Definitely didn't have SATA back then. His new MoBo may have an IDE controller though.

If you bought it pre-built, what's the model number and manufacturer ??
Ochmonek is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 06:24 PM   #11
xT4iw4n3zx
Private
 
Drives: 09' E90 LCI
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posts: 76
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ochmonek View Post
Definitely didn't have SATA back then. His new MoBo may have an IDE controller though.

If you bought it pre-built, what's the model number and manufacturer ??
Damn, can I just say you guys are my new GoTo People LOL!
Friggin Computer Gurus I bow in your prescence!

Hewlett Packard
Model: a6700f

BTW Do I have a decent desktop? I pickd it up for 1K
xT4iw4n3zx is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 06:38 PM   #12
Ochmonek
Nosy Neighbor
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Next Door in Riverside

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xT4iw4n3zx View Post
Damn, can I just say you guys are my new GoTo People LOL!
Friggin Computer Gurus I bow in your prescence!

Hewlett Packard
Model: a6700f

BTW Do I have a decent desktop? I pickd it up for 1K
Your MoBo does have a PATA (IDE) controller. You just need to open up the case and see if there is a cable connected to it. Your HDD and DVD burner are both SATA, so there probably won't be.

It may be easier for you to just go the USB to IDE adapter route.
Ochmonek is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 06:49 PM   #13
xT4iw4n3zx
Private
 
Drives: 09' E90 LCI
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posts: 76
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ochmonek View Post
Your MoBo does have a PATA (IDE) controller. You just need to open up the case and see if there is a cable connected to it. Your HDD and DVD burner are both SATA, so there probably won't be.

It may be easier for you to just go the USB to IDE adapter route.
Okay so when I open up my Computer Case, where should I look for this wire? What does it look like? When I do find it, I can just plug in my old HDD into it, start up the comp, and access the information right?
xT4iw4n3zx is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 06:52 PM   #14
darkphantom
Banned
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers

Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom
yeah...they're about ~$30 from any computer electronics store
darkphantom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 06:52 PM   #15
darkphantom
Banned
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers

Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom


the ribbon cable is the IDE cable here, look for that.

Also, the hard drive is probably secured by 4-8 screws on either side.
darkphantom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 07:00 PM   #16
xT4iw4n3zx
Private
 
Drives: 09' E90 LCI
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posts: 76
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkphantom View Post


the ribbon cable is the IDE cable here, look for that.

Also, the hard drive is probably secured by 4-8 screws on either side.
Alright, so when I have some spare time later today I'll pop open my computer and look for that cable. Once I find it, I'll just unplug the old HDD and hook it up to this wire inside the new machine, correct?
xT4iw4n3zx is offline   Taiwan
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2009, 08:35 PM   #17
Ochmonek
Nosy Neighbor
 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Next Door in Riverside

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xT4iw4n3zx View Post
Alright, so when I have some spare time later today I'll pop open my computer and look for that cable. Once I find it, I'll just unplug the old HDD and hook it up to this wire inside the new machine, correct?

Your old computer will have the IDE drive and ribbon cable. If you remove it from your old computer, you can temporarily hook it up to the IDE controller in your new computer. HOWEVER, you probably need to go into your BIOS and see if the IDE controller is even enabled, and whether the SATA drive is set to boot first. It's possible that by hooking up the old IDE drive, it will become your "C" drive.

Like I said, it's easier to get the USB to IDE adapter. Once you get the IDE drive out of your old computer, you just hook up the adapter, power and plug it into a USB port on your new computer. Your new computer should recognize it, same as it would a thumb drive, and you can then get your data.
Ochmonek is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2009, 03:51 PM   #18
Jason@Renn-Spec
Major
 
Jason@Renn-Spec's Avatar
 
Drives: A POS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: La Puente, CA

Posts: 1,312
iTrader: (3)

Don't forget the 4 pin power cable too. Most computers these days eliminated it but seeing how your mobo still has the ide, it probably has it too. However, seeing that since you have a HP, they may have maxed it out on the amount of cables so you'll need to buy one of those splitters from mwave/fry's or sites like that.
Jason@Renn-Spec is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2009, 03:53 PM   #19
tinkj252
New Member
 
Drives: 1
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 1

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

Wink doucall

网络电话
tinkj252 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST