BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
Strasse Wheels
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-08-2009, 09:15 AM   #1
ecksreturns
Commander-in-Chief
 
ecksreturns's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E92 M3,2013 M5 and M6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: India

Posts: 142
iTrader: (0)

AA ECU tune problem

So I got the ECU back today after a weeks wait. The install went fine . I am having a bit of a problem . Although the car is not throwing any codes , I can't rev over 4k rpm when the car is stationery , even when it is fully warmed up .
When the car is moving , it revs all the way to the red line , and when moving , if I put it into neutral , it revs to the red line . When I stop the car to 0 speed , it won't rev past 4 k rpm . We tried turning the car on and off ,
but that does not help . The fuel in the car was full . I have contacted Ilia @ IND as he got this done for me from AA , but I wanted to know if any one else faced this problem .
__________________
08 JB M3 | 6sp| S/C'd and lots of mods |
2013 MCB M5 | Executive and Driver Package | 20" M rims | B&O System | Planning an exhaust setup
2013 Blk Sapphire M6 | Executive and Driver Package | 20" M rims | B&O System | Planning an exhaust setup
ecksreturns is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2009, 09:18 AM   #2
TUNEDM3
Stay Ripping
 
Drives: 1M
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New York

Posts: 422
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ecksreturns View Post
So I got the ECU back today after a weeks wait. The install went fine . I am having a bit of a problem . Although the car is not throwing any codes , I can't rev over 4k rpm when the car is stationery , even when it is fully warmed up .
When the car is moving , it revs all the way to the red line , and when moving , if I put it into neutral , it revs to the red line . When I stop the car to 0 speed , it won't rev past 4 k rpm . We tried turning the car on and off ,
but that does not help . The fuel in the car was full . I have contacted Ilia @ IND as he got this done for me from AA , but I wanted to know if any one else faced this problem .
Nothing is wrong with the software...thats one of the features it offers. Its some sort of launch control. I am not sure if you have the option when ordering it.
TUNEDM3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2009, 09:21 AM   #3
ecksreturns
Commander-in-Chief
 
ecksreturns's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E92 M3,2013 M5 and M6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: India

Posts: 142
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TUNEDM3 View Post
Nothing is wrong with the software...thats one of the features it offers. Its some sort of launch control. I am not sure if you have the option when ordering it.
So you mean that I just can't rev all the way to the red line now , when the car is stationery ? And this is normal?
__________________
08 JB M3 | 6sp| S/C'd and lots of mods |
2013 MCB M5 | Executive and Driver Package | 20" M rims | B&O System | Planning an exhaust setup
2013 Blk Sapphire M6 | Executive and Driver Package | 20" M rims | B&O System | Planning an exhaust setup
ecksreturns is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2009, 09:22 AM   #4
SlammedR8
Brigadier General
 
SlammedR8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Audi R8 V10 +2013 Audi S4
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto

Posts: 4,936
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to SlammedR8
haha, its not a problem.

its launch control, thats how it works!

Its one of the features of the AA Software Upgrade, it allows you hold the clutch in, floor the gas pedal (the car will rev and stay around thr 4000rpm range) and then you simply release clutch and off you go!

Its Launch Control for us 6MT guys who dont have Launch Control like the DCT guys
__________________
SlammedR8 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2009, 10:21 AM   #5
FStop7
I like cars
 
FStop7's Avatar
 
Drives: M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newbury Park, CA

Posts: 5,059
iTrader: (3)

You're not supposed to rev to the redline with the clutch depressed, anyway. That's going to ruin your throwout bearing.
__________________
FStop7 is offline   Vatican City State
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2009, 12:13 PM   #6
elp_jc
Brigadier General
 
Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

Posts: 4,910
iTrader: (0)

It's never good to redline your engine unloaded buddy. In fact, you can't do it on a stock car either; it only goes to 7K, I believe. Having said that, maybe 4K is a bit low for maximum off-the-line acceleration . Talk to them.
elp_jc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2009, 12:36 PM   #7
hvd.kevin
Lieutenant Colonel
 
hvd.kevin's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NorCal/SoCal

Posts: 1,923
iTrader: (4)

somebody didn't read the product info before purchasing. lol.....
__________________
hvd.kevin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2009, 12:42 PM   #8
ecksreturns
Commander-in-Chief
 
ecksreturns's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E92 M3,2013 M5 and M6
Join Date: May 2009
Location: India

Posts: 142
iTrader: (0)

Lol , sorry guys , I genuinely missed that fact about the ECU flash . Thanks to everyone for their prompt and helpful replies !
__________________
08 JB M3 | 6sp| S/C'd and lots of mods |
2013 MCB M5 | Executive and Driver Package | 20" M rims | B&O System | Planning an exhaust setup
2013 Blk Sapphire M6 | Executive and Driver Package | 20" M rims | B&O System | Planning an exhaust setup
ecksreturns is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2009, 02:35 PM   #9
sg///M3
Lieutenant
 
sg///M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M3 DCT
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC

Posts: 437
iTrader: (0)

It's normal function for the DCT. Mine did that even before the AA flash.
sg///M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2009, 11:40 AM   #10
niqui
Brigadier General
 
niqui's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada

Posts: 3,100
iTrader: (7)

just curious, why would u wanna rev it up so much if u are not moving>
niqui is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2009, 12:20 PM   #11
DevJ
Colonel
 
DevJ's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 Cayman S/IS350/RRS
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK

Posts: 2,706
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by niqui View Post
just curious, why would u wanna rev it up so much if u are not moving>
Ricer revs with the clutch in while driving

wait wat. I just read his sig and he's dct?
__________________
E92 M3. SOLD
New: '14 Cayman S PDK
Incoming: GT-R Black Edition
DevJ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2009, 03:08 PM   #12
duk
///M
 
Drives: 2011 AW/FR 6MT E92
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Jose, CA

Posts: 2,951
iTrader: (0)

loading the engine while not moving ftl!
__________________
2011 AW/FR 6MT E92 | Powered by Premier | Alekshop | ESS |
Rok n Peace Clothing: www.roknpeace.com

duk is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST