BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > DIY Guides/ Discussions
 
Evolve Automotive
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-23-2009, 10:39 PM   #67
bigsky
New Member
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: usa

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

How do you reset the oil change computer if you are at the scheduled oil change?
bigsky is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2009, 11:08 PM   #68
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,566
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigsky View Post
How do you reset the oil change computer if you are at the scheduled oil change?
I takes special equipment. Not sure if there are owner-usable devices out yet. Presumably you are getting your oil changed at a dealer for the first 4/50 since it's free.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2009, 11:27 AM   #69
elp_jc
Brigadier General
 
Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

Posts: 4,910
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
I takes special equipment.
More like special knowledge. There's a thread somewhere how to reset every maintenance item. It wasn't an M3, but it's reportedly the same procedure. It's with the OBC buttons, by the way, and that was confirmed by an M3 owner watching a tech reset his computer on the dash. We just need to learn how . Good day.
elp_jc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-25-2009, 01:05 AM   #70
KrazyM3
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2008 AW M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 38
iTrader: (1)

Here you guys go!

PROCEDURE TO VIEW OR RESET SERVICE ITEMS IN THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER E90, E91, E92, E60, E61, E63 AND E64 Includes M Cars


Turn ignition to Terminal 15.
Press and hold the Instrument Cluster Set/Reset button for 10 seconds.
The upper display in the Instrument Cluster will be illuminated with a Service Item (example: An oil can is the designation for Oil Service). The lower display in the Instrument Cluster will indicate the remaining time or mileage left for that Service Item (example: 14000). Pressing the button repeatedly will allow the display to scroll through all of the Condition Based Service Items.
Press and hold the Instrument Cluster Set/Reset button again and the lower display screen will indicate "OK" or "DUE".
Pressing the Instrument Cluster Set/Reset button again will allow the "RESET" to appear in the lower window for that service. Releasing and reapplying the button one more time will reset the service displayed in the upper window only. Repeat the procedure for any additional service reset needs.
Note: The CBS service items for both State Vehicle Safety Inspection and State Emissions Inspection cannot be viewed in the Instrument Cluster. These State Inspections can be viewed on the CBS Menu in the Control Display or by DISplus / GT1.
KrazyM3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-25-2009, 01:59 PM   #71
elp_jc
Brigadier General
 
Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

Posts: 4,910
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KrazyM3 View Post
Press and hold the Instrument Cluster Set/Reset button for 10 seconds.
Is this button the trip-meter one or the stalk's OBC (on-board computer) one?

Quote:
Note: The CBS service items for both State Vehicle Safety Inspection and State Emissions Inspection cannot be viewed in the Instrument Cluster. These State Inspections can be viewed on the CBS Menu in the Control Display or by DISplus / GT1.
Could you clarify? Does 'control display' means iDrive? Many states don't have emissions testing, plus you can get it done wherever you want, so it'd seem stupid not being able to reset it yourself, iDrive or not. Thx.
elp_jc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-25-2009, 08:13 PM   #72
KrazyM3
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2008 AW M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 38
iTrader: (1)

Correct it is the trip reset button.

Everything is done in front of you, you will not need iDrive to to this.
KrazyM3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-26-2009, 12:54 AM   #73
bigsky
New Member
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: usa

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Thanks!
bigsky is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-26-2009, 03:56 AM   #74
McLuVan
Lieutenant General
 
McLuVan's Avatar
 
Drives: ///M3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Socal~818~

Posts: 13,120
iTrader: (1)

which is m6 and which is m8
__________________
McLuVan is offline   Vietnam
0
Reply With Quote
      07-28-2009, 10:34 AM   #75
JonM
Private First Class
 
Drives: E90 M3 Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charleston, SC

Posts: 172
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by McLuVan View Post
which is m6 and which is m8

You will have to measure the threads. On my car, both plugs are the same size.
__________________
Jon Maddux
14 S1000R | 09 F650GS | 08 M3 Sedan | 06 M Coupe | 01 M coupe

Last edited by JonM; 06-04-2010 at 09:59 AM.
JonM is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-01-2009, 02:59 PM   #76
FrenchBoy
Major
 
FrenchBoy's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 E90 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, WA

Posts: 1,376
iTrader: (0)

Changed my oil yesterday. Process is pretty straight forward. Here are a couple of comments:

1. Both drain plugs required a 6mm Allen wrench. It initially confused me because the DIY mentions 2 different plugs (6mm and 8mm). I did not take thread measurements but both plugs look pretty similar to me.

2. In addition to the large filter housing o-ring, remember to replace the copper crush washers with new ones; they are provided with the filter.

3. I emptied the oil left in the oil filter reservoir (with a syringe). I added about 8.3L of oil and the reading is now right in the middle. I will monitor in the next few days to see if that changes

4. Greg, you mention that you used the front center jack point after the rear is up on ramps. I tried that but there was no way my jack (which is somewhat low profile) would fit under the car once the rear is up on ramps. Do you have a special jack or technique? I ended up using a jack on each side to lift the front. Worked well.

Thanks for this DIY.
__________________

2009 E90 M3 | SG | FR | 6Speed | Akrapovic Evo | JRZ RS1 | StopTech Trophy | Cantrell Brake Ducts
FrenchBoy is offline   France
0
Reply With Quote
      08-01-2009, 05:25 PM   #77
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,566
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrenchBoy View Post
4. Greg, you mention that you used the front center jack point after the rear is up on ramps. I tried that but there was no way my jack (which is somewhat low profile) would fit under the car once the rear is up on ramps. Do you have a special jack or technique? I ended up using a jack on each side to lift the front. Worked well.
If you slide the jack in at an angle from behind the front wheel, rather than the front of the car, there is plenty of height.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-01-2009, 05:53 PM   #78
FrenchBoy
Major
 
FrenchBoy's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 E90 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, WA

Posts: 1,376
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
If you slide the jack in at an angle from behind the front wheel, rather than the front of the car, there is plenty of height.
Thanks for the reply Greg. I tried that and my jack hit the bottom of the car half way to the jack point. And that's with the stock suspension. I guess my jack is too big ;-(
The 2-jacks method worked fine though. Especially since Dawgdog was there manning one of them while I was on the other.

Thanks!
__________________

2009 E90 M3 | SG | FR | 6Speed | Akrapovic Evo | JRZ RS1 | StopTech Trophy | Cantrell Brake Ducts
FrenchBoy is offline   France
0
Reply With Quote
      08-01-2009, 10:48 PM   #79
dawgdog
Colonel
 
dawgdog's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Porsche GT3RS
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Seattle, Wa.

Posts: 2,167
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrenchBoy View Post
Thanks for the reply Greg. I tried that and my jack hit the bottom of the car half way to the jack point. And that's with the stock suspension. I guess my jack is too big ;-(
The 2-jacks method worked fine though. Especially since Dawgdog was there manning one of them while I was on the other.

Thanks!
Was an interesting process. I would do much better working at my job and paying to have it done, but there is a real sense of satisfaction in doing it oneself.
__________________
2015 f80 M3, 2010 GR3RS
dawgdog is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2009, 04:14 PM   #80
Silvertige
Lieutenant
 
Silvertige's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 e92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Carlsbad, CA

Posts: 432
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
1988 BMW 535i  [5.00]
Thanks for all the info. I'll be doing this soon...
__________________
Silvertige is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-03-2009, 12:57 PM   #81
JonM
Private First Class
 
Drives: E90 M3 Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charleston, SC

Posts: 172
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrenchBoy View Post
1. Both drain plugs required a 6mm Allen wrench. It initially confused me because the DIY mentions 2 different plugs (6mm and 8mm). I did not take thread measurements but both plugs look pretty similar to me.
I think some cars were made with M6 and some were made with M8.
__________________
Jon Maddux
14 S1000R | 09 F650GS | 08 M3 Sedan | 06 M Coupe | 01 M coupe

Last edited by JonM; 06-04-2010 at 09:51 AM.
JonM is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-04-2009, 11:59 AM   #82
FrenchBoy
Major
 
FrenchBoy's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 E90 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, WA

Posts: 1,376
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrenchBoy View Post
3. I emptied the oil left in the oil filter reservoir (with a syringe). I added about 8.3L of oil and the reading is now right in the middle. I will monitor in the next few days to see if that changes
Update. After getting the initial ready in the middle of the range on my first drive after the oil change, it took a few more drives (my commute is short) before I got another reading. Which was last night. And it said "+1qt". I added a bit of oil (a couple of times) and eventually got the marker in the middle. Total oil added was about 8.8L.

The "+1qt" reading is pretty misleading. If I had added an actual quart, I think I would have overfilled the engine with oil.

As others have said, the process is quite annoying. A dip stick is clearly an easier approach. However, since there are 2 reservoirs, it may not be a viable option. Unless you have 2 dip sticks of course...
__________________

2009 E90 M3 | SG | FR | 6Speed | Akrapovic Evo | JRZ RS1 | StopTech Trophy | Cantrell Brake Ducts
FrenchBoy is offline   France
0
Reply With Quote
      08-04-2009, 12:05 PM   #83
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,566
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrenchBoy View Post
Update. After getting the initial ready in the middle of the range on my first drive after the oil change, it took a few more drives (my commute is short) before I got another reading. Which was last night. And it said "+1qt". I added a bit of oil (a couple of times) and eventually got the marker in the middle. Total oil added was about 8.8L.

The "+1qt" reading is pretty misleading. If I had added an actual quart, I think I would have overfilled the engine with oil.

As others have said, the process is quite annoying. A dip stick is clearly an easier approach. However, since there are 2 reservoirs, it may not be a viable option. Unless you have 2 dip sticks of course...
Did you do a "reset" on the oil level by holding in the stalk for a few seconds after you first changed it?
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-04-2009, 03:26 PM   #84
FrenchBoy
Major
 
FrenchBoy's Avatar
 
Drives: '09 E90 M3
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, WA

Posts: 1,376
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
Did you do a "reset" on the oil level by holding in the stalk for a few seconds after you first changed it?
No. I guess that explains why it was still showing up in the middle right after the oil change. Must have missed that part of the DIY.

Thanks Greg!

EDIT: Now that I think about it, why do I have to "reset" the oil level?
Isn't that what the car does when it spends 10 mins trying to figure out the level? which it did after I changed the oil, and then gave me a reading
__________________

2009 E90 M3 | SG | FR | 6Speed | Akrapovic Evo | JRZ RS1 | StopTech Trophy | Cantrell Brake Ducts

Last edited by FrenchBoy; 08-04-2009 at 04:24 PM.
FrenchBoy is offline   France
0
Reply With Quote
      09-12-2009, 04:40 PM   #85
4u3
Private First Class
 
Drives: 09 E92
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pasadena MD

Posts: 105
iTrader: (0)

I have to do it myself the next time, I track my car 2-3 weekends a month. Had my oil changed at 6000 miles was charged one hour time at 100 per hour plus cost of oil and filter. Do not have the receipt in front of me but I bet it was close to $200.00. Never again. Oh well keeps the economy going. Thanks for the pics.
4u3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-12-2009, 05:16 PM   #86
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,566
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrenchBoy View Post
No. I guess that explains why it was still showing up in the middle right after the oil change. Must have missed that part of the DIY.

Thanks Greg!

EDIT: Now that I think about it, why do I have to "reset" the oil level?
Isn't that what the car does when it spends 10 mins trying to figure out the level? which it did after I changed the oil, and then gave me a reading
It will eventually correct itself. I am told this just speeds up the process. Don't get me going on the "no dipstick" rant again.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-13-2009, 01:19 PM   #87
elp_jc
Brigadier General
 
Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

Posts: 4,910
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrenchBoy View Post
EDIT: Now that I think about it, why do I have to "reset" the oil level?
Isn't that what the car does when it spends 10 mins trying to figure out the level? which it did after I changed the oil, and then gave me a reading
You need to 'reset' it at the right time to get a correct reading. Yes, ECU 'resets' level every time you turn the engine ON, but you don't know when it's going to take the reading (usually 5 to 10 miles into your trip), which most likely won't be on a flat surface while idling, which is the correct way to do it. Once engine oil is at full operating temperature, a 'reset' has the same effect as turning engine off and back on again, so it saves battery juice, starter wear and time . When you get home, use the same spot in your garage and do a 'reset' before turning engine off to check level accurately. And yes, always use the same spot and the same technique (idle with engine fully hot) for consistent readings. Hope this helps.
elp_jc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-02-2009, 09:01 PM   #88
sehrgut
Major
 
sehrgut's Avatar
 
Drives: emthree
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: socal

Posts: 1,033
iTrader: (1)

Amasing writeup, I will be doing my oilchange this weekend. I have always done all the oilchanges myself on my previous cars and this will be my first on a E92 M3 so I'm a bit thrilled but also kinda nervous because theres no dipstick and I'm a bit concerned about the service light after I've changed the oil.

Do I have to reset it manually or will the car automaticly pick up that I've changed the oil?
sehrgut is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST