BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-21-2009, 06:37 AM   #1
J08M3
Major General
 
J08M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 COUPE
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 6,012
iTrader: (8)

stereo head unit change ?

Has anyone changed out their stock stereo head unit? I have a non iDrive car with base stereo system and am considering changing out the head unit for a nice aftermarket one. Possibly one with a flip out screen with GPS. Anyway, the question is can you do this? How about all the cars computer info that is in the OEM stereo such as MPG and Date/Time and that info ties in to the instrument cluster display. What happens if you go aftermarket with the stereo?
__________________
J08M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 07:29 AM   #2
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 11,101
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by J08M3 View Post
Has anyone changed out their stock stereo head unit? I have a non iDrive car with base stereo system and am considering changing out the head unit for a nice aftermarket one. Possibly one with a flip out screen with GPS. Anyway, the question is can you do this? How about all the cars computer info that is in the OEM stereo such as MPG and Date/Time and that info ties in to the instrument cluster display. What happens if you go aftermarket with the stereo?
No chimes, no Bluetooth/Assist audio
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 08:14 AM   #3
J08M3
Major General
 
J08M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 COUPE
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 6,012
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
No chimes, no Bluetooth/Assist audio
is that the only loss? I don't have bluetooth anyway and the chime is annoying. What about the trip miles setting and the MPG settings? Or the clock?
__________________
J08M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 08:23 AM   #4
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 11,101
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by J08M3 View Post
is that the only loss? I don't have bluetooth anyway and the chime is annoying. What about the trip miles setting and the MPG settings? Or the clock?
That's independent from the radio...

If you want to be sure about the effects of replacing your OEM HU, just remove the sucker, drive around and see by yourself what you will be missing. That's the only way for you to find out if you can live with those missing features/functions.

If you do not have Assist then I don't think that you will be missing much -if anything- critical...
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 08:53 AM   #5
J08M3
Major General
 
J08M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 COUPE
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 6,012
iTrader: (8)

yea, my question is how do you reset your MPG without the OEM stereo? Cause that is how I do in now
__________________
J08M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 09:01 AM   #6
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 11,101
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by J08M3 View Post
yea, my question is how do you reset your MPG without the OEM stereo? Cause that is how I do in now
Press and hold the OBC stalk button on the left of the steering wheel.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 10:02 AM   #7
J08M3
Major General
 
J08M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 COUPE
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 6,012
iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Press and hold the OBC stalk button on the left of the steering wheel.
oh cool, thanks.

Anyone got any good suggestions on replacement head units, that have a flip out GPS and are Made for iPod?
__________________
J08M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 10:55 AM   #8
808MGuy
Colonel
 
808MGuy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

Posts: 2,282
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by J08M3 View Post
oh cool, thanks.

Anyone got any good suggestions on replacement head units, that have a flip out GPS and are Made for iPod?
Does it have to be flip out? Can you fit a double DIN instead. I'm sure you'd have to have something fabricated to fit around the double DIN but it seems like you would have enough space there to do it since you don't have iDrive. Most of the newest technology is being put into the double DIN head units so there aren't that many good single DIN flip out models. Kenwood uses Garmin for their nav units and parrot for their bluetooth. Alpine also uses parrot but I don't know who their nav is based off. Eclipse is also supposed to be known for their nav but I don't know who they base it off.
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

808MGuy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 11:17 AM   #9
J08M3
Major General
 
J08M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 COUPE
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 6,012
iTrader: (8)

Eclipse is great, I had a touch screen unit from them in my last car. So much easier to use than the iDrive controller. Problem is, I don't think I have room to fit one of those. My climate controls are right below the OEM stereo and I have less than 3.5" of height between those and the dash board vents.
__________________
J08M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 11:19 AM   #10
J08M3
Major General
 
J08M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 COUPE
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 6,012
iTrader: (8)

http://www.eclipse-web.com/us/avn/avn726eoverviews.html

^--that would be awesome except that it is 4" high
__________________
J08M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 12:51 PM   #11
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 11,101
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by J08M3 View Post
Eclipse is great, I had a touch screen unit from them in my last car. So much easier to use than the iDrive controller. Problem is, I don't think I have room to fit one of those. My climate controls are right below the OEM stereo and I have less than 3.5" of height between those and the dash board vents.
http://www.a-tack.net/products/e90_3...ack_0803_2.pdf ... brace yourself for the shocking price.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 01:19 PM   #12
J08M3
Major General
 
J08M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 COUPE
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 6,012
iTrader: (8)

^--- I don't speak that language so it means nothing to me
__________________
J08M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 01:28 PM   #13
808MGuy
Colonel
 
808MGuy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

Posts: 2,282
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by J08M3 View Post
^--- I don't speak that language so it means nothing to me
I don't know how many of those parts you actually need to get it to work but I see roughly $600 for the trim and $100 each for the other two parts. Technic, are those OEM parts or aftermarket kits?
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

808MGuy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 02:00 PM   #14
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 11,101
iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 808MGuy View Post
I don't know how many of those parts you actually need to get it to work but I see roughly $600 for the trim and $100 each for the other two parts. Technic, are those OEM parts or aftermarket kits?
Aftermarket...
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 02:27 PM   #15
J08M3
Major General
 
J08M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 COUPE
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 6,012
iTrader: (8)

what about this unit?
http://www.alpine-usa.com/US-en/prod...model=IVA-D106
__________________
J08M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 04:57 PM   #16
808MGuy
Colonel
 
808MGuy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

Posts: 2,282
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by J08M3 View Post
I don't see any nav built into that unit. You need to buy a separate nav drive which is another $450

http://www.alpine-usa.com/US-en/prod...model=NVE-M300
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

808MGuy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2009, 05:42 PM   #17
J08M3
Major General
 
J08M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 COUPE
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 6,012
iTrader: (8)

You're right. I think I'm going for the Eclipse unit. I pulled the lower climate controls out before and found enough room to move them down and fit the Eclipse unit above. I can make a custom plastic trim panel to cover everything, that's not too hard.

I just want to be sure I can disconnect my OEM stereo without causing any problems to the car? I want to be sure about what the computer is running through the OEM stereo first, or if I need some special connector to make it compatible with BMW.
__________________
J08M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2009, 02:01 PM   #18
lugnut
First Lieutenant
 
lugnut's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E92 M3 Space/Fox
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Springfield, NJ

Posts: 344
iTrader: (0)

I have a flip out Eclipse unit in my 2001 Z3. It is definitely one of the better after market units for the money IMO because the nav is hard drive based, not disc based, so if you want you can listen to a CD and use the Nav at the same time. Menu layout seems a tad odd sometimes, but other then that I like the Eclipse.

I would have gone w/ Alpine's Hard Drive based Navi, but if I recall it was nearly twice the price.
__________________
12 E70 X5d Black Saphire/ Tobacco
08 E92 M3 SG/Fox Red Gintani Race, RG63
09 E90 335xi Crimson/Saddle 02 E46 M3 Cab Imola/Black (Sold-RIP)97 E36 Z3 1.9 Atlanta Blue/Tan (Sold)
lugnut is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2009, 09:11 AM   #19
J08M3
Major General
 
J08M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 COUPE
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 6,012
iTrader: (8)

Has anyone disconnected their OEM head unit? Just want to be sure there are no problems with the car if it's disconnected.
__________________
J08M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2009, 10:34 AM   #20
808MGuy
Colonel
 
808MGuy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

Posts: 2,282
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by J08M3 View Post
Has anyone disconnected their OEM head unit? Just want to be sure there are no problems with the car if it's disconnected.
Just disconnect the harness and see what happens. That's the only way you'll know for sure.
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

808MGuy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2009, 10:38 AM   #21
ScottyGams
Uber-Lee7 Member
 
ScottyGams's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NYC

Posts: 1,440
iTrader: (2)

good luck, sounds like a challenge to make look clean
ScottyGams is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2009, 04:41 PM   #22
J08M3
Major General
 
J08M3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 COUPE
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NEW YORK

Posts: 6,012
iTrader: (8)

well I unplugged the OEM stereo today with no problems at all... Fitting the Eclipse in is going to be almost impossible due to it's size and the space still needed for the climate controls.....
__________________
J08M3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST