BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-12-2009, 01:50 PM   #1
808MGuy
Colonel
808MGuy's Avatar
49
Rep
2,287
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

iTrader: (3)

Nav cannot find most street addresses

I've noticed the few times that I've used the nav system that it won't get me to the exact address. I'll input all the info including state, city, and street name but it usually doesn't give me an option to input an exact number for the address so the best it will do is get me to the street and then I just have to search for the address myself. This is typically in residential areas. My guess is because the maps were made a few years ago and are not updated for newly developed areas. Does anyone else have this problem? Has there been any updates to the nav maps? How do you get updated nav maps?
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

Appreciate 0
      06-12-2009, 02:22 PM   #2
elp_jc
Brigadier General
United_States
80
Rep
4,910
Posts

 
Drives: .
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .

iTrader: (0)

I just got nav because wanted iDrive, but they suck compared to a $200 widescreen Nuvi750. It's hard to justify alone, but BMW cleverly bundled it with iDrive to force most people into it. If you want to use it, I'd make sure the newest version has the streets you want, before plunking big bucks for a newer disc. At least it's a simple DVD swap once you buy it. Take care.
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2009, 02:22 PM   #3
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
If the address number that you are looking for cannot be input is probably due to the way Navteq set the house numbers ranges database to specific zones within the same street based on the city/town location.

Even if the Post Office is saying that, for example 1234 NW 1st Street is in Ft. Lauderdale, Navteq insists in saying that it is not in that city because it only accepts house numbers up to 1000 for Ft Lauderdale for 1st Street. The 1234 number in 1st Street is only available in Lauderlakes because the allowed range of numbers of the same 1st Street is above 1000 for that city.

Pretty messed up, if you ask me.

Sometimes it helps some to enter the street and number first and then the city. At least this way it is going to give you the "correct" city.
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2009, 02:32 PM   #4
808MGuy
Colonel
808MGuy's Avatar
49
Rep
2,287
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elp_jc View Post
I just got nav because wanted iDrive, but they suck compared to a $200 widescreen Nuvi750. It's hard to justify alone, but BMW cleverly bundled it with iDrive to force most people into it. If you want to use it, I'd make sure the newest version has the streets you want, before plunking big bucks for a newer disc. At least it's a simple DVD swap once you buy it. Take care.
I have an 09 so its a HDD based nav not DVD. It would probably have to be loaded to the HDD by the dealer.
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

Appreciate 0
      06-12-2009, 02:39 PM   #5
schadenfreude
Lieutenant
schadenfreude's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
424
Posts

 
Drives: '09 E90 M-DCT M3
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 E90 M3  [0.00]
I always try to send the address to iDrive with google maps, input on the nav is tedious.
__________________
AiB LEDs///MS Filter///Hardwired V1///VentureShield///F1 Pinnacle 35%///IND Reflectors///BMW Performance Grills
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2009, 03:00 PM   #6
Kev
Resident Anesthesiologist
Kev's Avatar
Hong Kong
180
Rep
8,815
Posts

 
Drives: VW bug with a misplaced engine
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (24)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
If the address number that you are looking for cannot be input is probably due to the way Navteq set the house numbers ranges database to specific zones within the same street based on the city/town location.

Even if the Post Office is saying that, for example 1234 NW 1st Street is in Ft. Lauderdale, Navteq insists in saying that it is not in that city because it only accepts house numbers up to 1000 for Ft Lauderdale for 1st Street. The 1234 number in 1st Street is only available in Lauderlakes because the allowed range of numbers of the same 1st Street is above 1000 for that city.

Pretty messed up, if you ask me.

Sometimes it helps some to enter the street and number first and then the city. At least this way it is going to give you the "correct" city.
+1, I noticed that problem as well with my '09 iDrive nav. It would happen even with inputting the Zip code in place of the city.
__________________
kev { divinum est sedate dolorem }
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST