BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-05-2009, 05:52 PM   #1
skim
Lieutenant
United_States
17
Rep
556
Posts

 
Drives: 07 Z4MC
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Can you program the community gate remote to the garage opener?

I did a search but couldn't find the answer.
I tried programming my community gate opener to the garage opener, but I just could not get it to register. Does our garage opener in the mirror only works for garage doors?
My community gate opener is the little 1 button square thing on the keychain. I hate having to always pull it out of my pocket when I have CA so keys stay in my pocket most of time...
__________________
Future mod consideration: exhaust, pulley
otherwise, very happy with how the m3 was born
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2009, 05:56 PM   #2
Blake
Banned
No_Country
177
Rep
4,651
Posts

 
Drives: Chevy Aveo
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parent's Basement

iTrader: (7)

i've had it work for community gates
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2009, 06:03 PM   #3
MyKmYk
BMW Individual Junkie.
MyKmYk's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
437
Posts

 
Drives: E36/46/90 M3, E82M, R60
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Greater NYC Area

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to MyKmYk
I had a TON of trouble with this same issue on my sis' 2007 e90. Although mine would register the remote. It just has TERRIBLE range.
__________________

ATLANTIS & MORA
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2009, 06:19 PM   #4
Big Windy
Major General
Big Windy's Avatar
United_States
71
Rep
5,118
Posts

 
Drives: audi s4
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: seatac, wa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by skim View Post
I did a search but couldn't find the answer.
I tried programming my community gate opener to the garage opener, but I just could not get it to register. Does our garage opener in the mirror only works for garage doors?
My community gate opener is the little 1 button square thing on the keychain. I hate having to always pull it out of my pocket when I have CA so keys stay in my pocket most of time...
i was just researching this a few days ago, because i park in a community garage as well. the answer is: possibly. for my situation, it cannot be done. my garage uses a DKS microplus transmitter which has a rolling code that cannot be copied. The microplus transmitter is directly linked to the receiver, and there is no way to replicate it. You'll need to look up the literature on your actual transmitter in order to know whether it is possible. Homelink is pretty capable, but you're SOL if you have a system like mine.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2009, 06:46 PM   #5
von_zoom
Captain
von_zoom's Avatar
10
Rep
915
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 Z06
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Carolina

iTrader: (0)

I tried with out success on my 550i, my 750i, and have not even considered trying to program the M3. In fact, there is also a stick - on thing for the windshield which is supposed to make the gate recognize the car, and open. BMW's windshield have some kind of coating which prevents this from working also. Apparently the same problem with glass exists on Mercedes and some Lexus.
vz
__________________


Previous Track Toy
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2009, 06:50 PM   #6
foosh
Major
foosh's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
1,314
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3 E93
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Annapolis, MD

iTrader: (0)

If your community gate has a rolling code, which it almost certainly does, you'll need to follow the programming sequence in the manual for rolling codes. In order to do that you'll need access to the "learn" or "program" button on the actual gate opening control panel, which you'll likely have to arrange with the community, and your car must be next to it when the button is pressed. Everything must be done in the correct sequence described in the manual.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2009, 07:47 PM   #7
skim
Lieutenant
United_States
17
Rep
556
Posts

 
Drives: 07 Z4MC
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

lol dang.. i guess it's more trouble than it's worth
thanks for the responses. i thought about leaving the gate remote in the car, but what happened was that when my car was dropped off for the 1200 mile service, i forgot to take it out and i had to go back to the dealer to get it. good thing i remembered it relatively quick.. it's PITA... sigh...
__________________
Future mod consideration: exhaust, pulley
otherwise, very happy with how the m3 was born
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2009, 10:46 PM   #8
rzm3
Moderator
rzm3's Avatar
224
Rep
4,603
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA

iTrader: (14)

Take it to your dealer, if it is programmable then they will program it for you. That's what I did after trying dozens of times myself.
__________________
E92 M3 DCT - AiM EVO4 Data Logger / AiM SmartyCam HD / KW Competition 2-Way / OMP ARS Racing Seats / Brembo GT 365 / Pagid Yellow RS-29 / Rear Seats Delete
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2009, 02:39 AM   #9
sayemthree
Brigadier General
sayemthree's Avatar
127
Rep
4,845
Posts

 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa

iTrader: (0)

mine works
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2009, 09:09 AM   #10
John@BMW
I can't belive this car is a 4 door family sedan.
John@BMW's Avatar
17
Rep
385
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3 sedan, '96 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Windy View Post
i was just researching this a few days ago, because i park in a community garage as well. the answer is: possibly. for my situation, it cannot be done. my garage uses a DKS microplus transmitter which has a rolling code that cannot be copied. The microplus transmitter is directly linked to the receiver, and there is no way to replicate it. You'll need to look up the literature on your actual transmitter in order to know whether it is possible. Homelink is pretty capable, but you're SOL if you have a system like mine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by foosh View Post
If your community gate has a rolling code, which it almost certainly does, you'll need to follow the programming sequence in the manual for rolling codes. In order to do that you'll need access to the "learn" or "program" button on the actual gate opening control panel, which you'll likely have to arrange with the community, and your car must be next to it when the button is pressed. Everything must be done in the correct sequence described in the manual.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2009, 10:01 AM   #11
Big Windy
Major General
Big Windy's Avatar
United_States
71
Rep
5,118
Posts

 
Drives: audi s4
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: seatac, wa

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by John@BMW View Post
i wonder what that is supposed to mean?
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST