BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-22-2009, 02:23 PM   #1
dogears
My master volume goes to 11
dogears's Avatar
8
Rep
424
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Space Gray M3 Sedan M-DCT
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ

iTrader: (0)

I found a high power LOC for sub replacement!

http://cacheaudio.com/cloc+d.html

Wayne at Cache Audio guarantees it will handle the power without breaking a sweat. What do you guys think?

If it works, I may go to 10 inch under seat subs with a seperate amp.

Only 50 or 60 bucks as well....
__________________
2009 Space Gray Carbon Leather E90 with DCT, Tech package, and EPS. Mods: Fabspeed 200 cell cats, Xpipe w/resonators and no secondary cats, BPM tune, Euro DCT software, Eisenmann Sport Mufflers, Vorsteiner Rear Diffuser II, SWS8 subs, JL Audio XD400 bridged 2X200W, built in radar
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2009, 05:00 PM   #2
808MGuy
Colonel
808MGuy's Avatar
49
Rep
2,287
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dogears View Post
http://cacheaudio.com/cloc+d.html

Wayne at Cache Audio guarantees it will handle the power without breaking a sweat. What do you guys think?

If it works, I may go to 10 inch under seat subs with a seperate amp.

Only 50 or 60 bucks as well....
You have enhanced premium sound right? The LOC is only rated for 20V max. I recall Technic had problems with his BitOne getting overloaded and it was rated for more than that. I don't recall what the exact number was since the original spec changed.
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

Appreciate 0
      04-22-2009, 06:11 PM   #3
dogears
My master volume goes to 11
dogears's Avatar
8
Rep
424
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Space Gray M3 Sedan M-DCT
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ

iTrader: (0)

I spoke to the designer and he says no problem. He said that you only need to get the signal off of one speaker and then that feeds a mono amp. Question is are the stock subs mono? Maybe not if the crossovers are in the midbass.

If so then two of these units would be needed. I think the printed spec is low. Builder claims they will handle 150 watts with no issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 808MGuy View Post
You have enhanced premium sound right? The LOC is only rated for 20V max. I recall Technic had problems with his BitOne getting overloaded and it was rated for more than that. I don't recall what the exact number was since the original spec changed.
__________________
2009 Space Gray Carbon Leather E90 with DCT, Tech package, and EPS. Mods: Fabspeed 200 cell cats, Xpipe w/resonators and no secondary cats, BPM tune, Euro DCT software, Eisenmann Sport Mufflers, Vorsteiner Rear Diffuser II, SWS8 subs, JL Audio XD400 bridged 2X200W, built in radar
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2009, 09:20 PM   #4
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
171
Rep
11,181
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
The OEM woofers are wired in stereo.

20V at 4 ohms will give you a max power input of 100W, which could work for awhile with the Premium OEM amp 200W peak per woofer at 7 ohms (37V) as long as you do not push the volume to more than half.

I think that you should get a Navone custom LOC (40V max input) to be on the safe side if the only thing that you are looking for is to add an aftermarket amp to a pair of 10" (if they can fit under the seats). Or just wait for this mObridge MOST to RCA preamp converter to be available and just remove completely the OEM amp from your system.
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2009, 10:36 PM   #5
dogears
My master volume goes to 11
dogears's Avatar
8
Rep
424
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 Space Gray M3 Sedan M-DCT
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ

iTrader: (0)

Thanks! Wouldn't it be easier to just get one Audio Control LC6i? That handles plenty of juice....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
The OEM woofers are wired in stereo.

20V at 4 ohms will give you a max power input of 100W, which could work for awhile with the Premium OEM amp 200W peak per woofer at 7 ohms (37V) as long as you do not push the volume to more than half.

I think that you should get a Navone custom LOC (40V max input) to be on the safe side if the only thing that you are looking for is to add an aftermarket amp to a pair of 10" (if they can fit under the seats). Or just wait for this mObridge MOST to RCA preamp converter to be available and just remove completely the OEM amp from your system.
__________________
2009 Space Gray Carbon Leather E90 with DCT, Tech package, and EPS. Mods: Fabspeed 200 cell cats, Xpipe w/resonators and no secondary cats, BPM tune, Euro DCT software, Eisenmann Sport Mufflers, Vorsteiner Rear Diffuser II, SWS8 subs, JL Audio XD400 bridged 2X200W, built in radar
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2009, 07:51 AM   #6
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
171
Rep
11,181
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogears View Post
Thanks! Wouldn't it be easier to just get one Audio Control LC6i? That handles plenty of juice....
Yes, it can accept up to 400W per channel, has gain and bass control and signal sensing.
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2009, 06:18 PM   #7
Gemcoska
Sleepy Member, wishing I was on the road.
Gemcoska's Avatar
10
Rep
277
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, CA

iTrader: (0)

I had Dave Navone make me one for my sub. Pretty easy
__________________
2003 Ducati '996
2008 M3: Sparking Graphite, Red Fox Standard, 19s, Premium pkg, Tech pkg, Premium Enhanced Sound, HD Radio, Heated Front Seats.
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2009, 01:33 AM   #8
Gelsenpower
Private
Gelsenpower's Avatar
Germany
1
Rep
90
Posts

 
Drives: M3 E93 DCT AW
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gelsenkirchen, Germany

iTrader: (1)

what will happen if LOC is getting overloaded ?
Appreciate 0
      05-08-2009, 08:40 AM   #9
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
171
Rep
11,181
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gelsenpower View Post
what will happen if LOC is getting overloaded ?
It will eventually fail due to excessive heat. What that failure could do downstream is uncertain. To really avoid any issues/overloading just get a LOC with more capacity than what you need.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST