BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
ESS Tuning
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-26-2009, 06:09 PM   #1
skim
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 07 Z4MC
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA

Posts: 556
iTrader: (0)

Can 09 idrive be installed on 08?

Does anyone know if 09 idrive module can be installed on 08?
I think 09 idrive module is easier to use, but the functionality is pretty much the same?
skim is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2009, 06:12 PM   #2
JIO
Captain
 
Drives: '09 Space Gray E92 M3 w/DCT
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eugene, Oregon

Posts: 626
iTrader: (0)

The interface will fit but you'll also have to buy the console parts. You still will not have the software driving it though...you will still have your 2008 software.
JIO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2009, 06:37 PM   #3
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,787
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by skim View Post
Does anyone know if 09 idrive module can be installed on 08?
I think 09 idrive module is easier to use, but the functionality is pretty much the same?
The main issue for me to try a swap of my 2008 iDrive components with 2009's parts is cost. I'm pretty sure that the swap will be almost plug 'n play, as the current CCC iDrive supports 100% the new CIC iDrive controller. But the cost of the parts new (some $3200 including a $1000 of core charges; there are no used parts available yet for a full swap) can be easily used in addition to trade in my 2008 M3 for a 2009 M3 with the new iDrive already installed most probably by the end of his year/early next year if the prices continue to plummet. That cost doesn't include any dealer programming that definitely will be required to integrate all the components into the M3 other audio components.

Unless there is a sudden supply of used CIC iDrive parts for considerably less than $2000 this year, I don't see the fiscal sense -or any sense whatsoever- in swapping components right now. It will be simply better to get a low mileage, left over 2009 M3 by 2010.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2009, 07:01 PM   #4
skim
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 07 Z4MC
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA

Posts: 556
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
The main issue for me to try a swap of my 2008 iDrive components with 2009's parts is cost. I'm pretty sure that the swap will be almost plug 'n play, as the current CCC iDrive supports 100% the new CIC iDrive controller. But the cost of the parts new (some $3200 including a $1000 of core charges; there are no used parts available yet for a full swap) can be easily used in addition to trade in my 2008 M3 for a 2009 M3 with the new iDrive already installed most probably by the end of his year/early next year if the prices continue to plummet. That cost doesn't include any dealer programming that definitely will be required to integrate all the components into the M3 other audio components.

Unless there is a sudden supply of used CIC iDrive parts for considerably less than $2000 this year, I don't see the fiscal sense -or any sense whatsoever- in swapping components right now. It will be simply better to get a low mileage, left over 2009 M3 by 2010.
wow.. thanks for the info.. another thing to keep in mind i guess.. i didn't think it'd cost that much to swap it out.. i was estimating 200-300.. 1/10 of the price you mentioned. =)
thanks..
skim is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2009, 07:34 PM   #5
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,787
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by skim View Post
wow.. thanks for the info.. another thing to keep in mind i guess.. i didn't think it'd cost that much to swap it out.. i was estimating 200-300.. 1/10 of the price you mentioned. =)
thanks..
You must be extremely new to the BMW crowd, my friend...

You cannot buy even the new controller and the trim for that amount of money.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2009, 07:36 PM   #6
FStop7
I like cars
 
FStop7's Avatar
 
Drives: M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newbury Park, CA

Posts: 5,059
iTrader: (3)

the screen is much larger and higher resolution. to do it you're going to need to replace thousands of dollars in parts.
__________________
FStop7 is offline   Vatican City State
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2009, 07:42 PM   #7
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,787
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by FStop7 View Post
the screen is much larger and higher resolution. to do it you're going to need to replace thousands of dollars in parts.
The P/N of the dash has not changed between 2008 and 2009, so the new screen -and the CIC- fits in the same dash mounts.
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2009, 08:32 PM   #8
niqui
Brigadier General
 
niqui's Avatar
 
Drives: Jet Black E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada

Posts: 3,100
iTrader: (7)

easily a couple of k. no doubt in my mind.
niqui is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2009, 11:20 PM   #9
JIO
Captain
 
Drives: '09 Space Gray E92 M3 w/DCT
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eugene, Oregon

Posts: 626
iTrader: (0)

BMW = Break My Wallet
JIO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2009, 12:59 AM   #10
Genro757
///M-Flight VP
 
Genro757's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 Frozen Red Edition E92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NOVA/Virginia Beach, VA

Posts: 659
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 E92 M3  [0.00]
Nice..I like that one JIO
Genro757 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2009, 01:11 AM   #11
youyou
Colonel
 
youyou's Avatar
 
Drives: Porsche 997 C4S
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal

Posts: 2,446
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FStop7 View Post
the screen is much larger and higher resolution. to do it you're going to need to replace thousands of dollars in parts.
The screen is the same size. It's just the resolution that is higher.
Only the 7 series has a bigger screen which is 10.2 inches if i'm not mistaken.
__________________
Retired-1996 Porsche C4S Polar Silver
Retired-2006 Porsche 911 Carrera 4S Cab Basalt Black
Retired - 2010 S5 Cabriolet Ibis White
Retired - 2008 M3 E93 Alpine White
Retired - 2007 335 E92 Alpine White
youyou is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2009, 08:46 AM   #12
baarii
Major
 
baarii's Avatar
 
Drives: ..
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: I-66

Posts: 1,117
iTrader: (8)

its def 3-4k job
baarii is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2009, 01:42 PM   #13
JetBlack5OC
Major
 
Drives: E60&E92
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: west

Posts: 1,068
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by skim View Post
Does anyone know if 09 idrive module can be installed on 08?
I think 09 idrive module is easier to use, but the functionality is pretty much the same?
It isn't worth the time or money. Yes it is better, but didn't live up to the hype. There are still better navi systems out there, from other makes. They still have room to grow.
JetBlack5OC is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2009, 01:43 PM   #14
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,864
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
The main issue for me to try a swap of my 2008 iDrive components with 2009's parts is cost. I'm pretty sure that the swap will be almost plug 'n play, as the current CCC iDrive supports 100% the new CIC iDrive controller. But the cost of the parts new (some $3200 including a $1000 of core charges; there are no used parts available yet for a full swap) can be easily used in addition to trade in my 2008 M3 for a 2009 M3 with the new iDrive already installed most probably by the end of his year/early next year if the prices continue to plummet. That cost doesn't include any dealer programming that definitely will be required to integrate all the components into the M3 other audio components.

Unless there is a sudden supply of used CIC iDrive parts for considerably less than $2000 this year, I don't see the fiscal sense -or any sense whatsoever- in swapping components right now. It will be simply better to get a low mileage, left over 2009 M3 by 2010.
Add coding to the mix, it's not available as of yet. We know the following items have been upgraded in MY09+ models:

iDrive Monitor (MY09 monitor is now HD)
CIC Computer
iDrive controller

HD Radio equipment has changed a bit in the new models, so we can assume the harness is also different. We're going to have a bench system here soon for other testing and are looking to see what can be used for a possible retrofit.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2009, 02:04 PM   #15
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,787
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Add coding to the mix, it's not available as of yet. We know the following items have been upgraded in MY09+ models:

iDrive Monitor (MY09 monitor is now HD)
CIC Computer
iDrive controller

HD Radio equipment has changed a bit in the new models, so we can assume the harness is also different. We're going to have a bench system here soon for other testing and are looking to see what can be used for a possible retrofit.
The cable from the new screen to the CIC has been simplified, so it is also different.

HD Radio is built-in into the CIC, so for those cars with the separate HD Radio module I would assume that it will be as simple as unplugging the module and removing it from the Vehicle Order as a separate entry.

I noticed that you have the "Autologic" system... can be possible to use that system and bench-program a CIC for audio options, separate from the car? I ask because another possible way of swapping this unit into a 2008 is programming the CIC itself -no M3 needed- exactly the same audio-wise as the one being replaced.

For example, use Autologic in a CIC and program it for Individual Audio (Logic7 might work as well, as the processing is actually done in the OEM amp; this is to make the CIC to output digital), Sirius, Assist and 6FL. If a CIC unit is programmed like that it should work plug 'n play into my M3, as long as those audio modules are still the same P/N as the ones the CIC "expects" to "see". This is the way is done in Europe with the Autologic with the Business/Profesional OEM HU and Nav swaps.

Let me know what you think...
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2009, 05:45 PM   #16
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,864
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
The cable from the new screen to the CIC has been simplified, so it is also different.

HD Radio is built-in into the CIC, so for those cars with the separate HD Radio module I would assume that it will be as simple as unplugging the module and removing it from the Vehicle Order as a separate entry.

I noticed that you have the "Autologic" system... can be possible to use that system and bench-program a CIC for audio options, separate from the car? I ask because another possible way of swapping this unit into a 2008 is programming the CIC itself -no M3 needed- exactly the same audio-wise as the one being replaced.

For example, use Autologic in a CIC and program it for Individual Audio (Logic7 might work as well, as the processing is actually done in the OEM amp; this is to make the CIC to output digital), Sirius, Assist and 6FL. If a CIC unit is programmed like that it should work plug 'n play into my M3, as long as those audio modules are still the same P/N as the ones the CIC "expects" to "see". This is the way is done in Europe with the Autologic with the Business/Profesional OEM HU and Nav swaps.

Let me know what you think...
Possibly, the programmer will look for the specific components to take a tally before the programming session takes place.

Coding is already avaialble for 6FL, when (or if) it is finally released. For some reason, the retrofit kits have not hit US shores yet. Sirius and Assist/Bluetooth are pretty simple, we've performed retrofits/coding before on a few 1 and 3-series models in the past.

If we can find a suitable volunteer close to our facility, I'd be happy to test and report back for you.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2009, 07:04 PM   #17
youyou
Colonel
 
youyou's Avatar
 
Drives: Porsche 997 C4S
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal

Posts: 2,446
iTrader: (0)

As i said previously in other threads i would be willing to drop anything up to say 2000$ to get this done.
I mean lots of people easily drop that kind of dough on exhausts,wheels etc.
To me those things don't mean much but the 09' Idrive definitely means alot to me.
__________________
Retired-1996 Porsche C4S Polar Silver
Retired-2006 Porsche 911 Carrera 4S Cab Basalt Black
Retired - 2010 S5 Cabriolet Ibis White
Retired - 2008 M3 E93 Alpine White
Retired - 2007 335 E92 Alpine White
youyou is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-27-2009, 07:20 PM   #18
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,864
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by youyou View Post
As i said previously in other threads i would be willing to drop anything up to say 2000$ to get this done.
I mean lots of people easily drop that kind of dough on exhausts,wheels etc.
To me those things don't mean much but the 09' Idrive definitely means alot to me.
Coding's not avaialble yet, but we'll be reporting when it is as a MY09 update is one of the top items of our priority list.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-29-2009, 01:13 PM   #19
youyou
Colonel
 
youyou's Avatar
 
Drives: Porsche 997 C4S
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Montreal

Posts: 2,446
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Coding's not avaialble yet, but we'll be reporting when it is as a MY09 update is one of the top items of our priority list.
Can't wait to see what happens... Please keep us updated.
__________________
Retired-1996 Porsche C4S Polar Silver
Retired-2006 Porsche 911 Carrera 4S Cab Basalt Black
Retired - 2010 S5 Cabriolet Ibis White
Retired - 2008 M3 E93 Alpine White
Retired - 2007 335 E92 Alpine White
youyou is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-04-2009, 04:28 AM   #20
2008e93M3lease
Private First Class
 
Drives: m3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: miami, fl

Posts: 120
iTrader: (0)

Idrive 3.0 to 4.0 upgrade

Is it physically possible to swap out the 2008 idrive 3.0 for 2009 idrive 4.0? I realize I would have to purchase the new CPU, the hard drive, etc and this kind of an upgrade would run in the thousands. The idrive knob and the entire center console actually would have to be upgraded as well.

I really hate idrive 3.0. It's slow and ugly. It's dumb.

Before you attack me, remember that I'm the one who asked if a manual to DCT upgrade was possible. So compared to that question (for which I was lambasted), this one is genius!
2008e93M3lease is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-04-2009, 08:45 AM   #21
hlmiii
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: '11 1M '10 M5 '05 M3 '10 670SV
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Houston

Posts: 393
iTrader: (0)

The answer to your iDrive upgrade question is basically the standard, "most anything can be added/upgraded with sufficient money." A few people on various forums and my dealer have found the same conclusion: Doable, but it would run into thousands of dollars with the hardware, software, and then the installation. The more sane step would be to buy a new car!!

Really liked this - "remember that I'm the one who asked if a manual to DCT upgrade was possible. So compared to that question (for which I was lambasted), this one is genius!"
I liked the question!!
I suspect several have thought about it, with no courage or energy to ask.
Seeing the humor is refreshing compared to the dry seriousness that sometimes manifests itself here ...
hlmiii is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-04-2009, 08:52 AM   #22
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,787
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2008e93M3lease View Post
Is it physically possible to swap out the 2008 idrive 3.0 for 2009 idrive 4.0? I realize I would have to purchase the new CPU, the hard drive, etc and this kind of an upgrade would run in the thousands. The idrive knob and the entire center console actually would have to be upgraded as well.

I really hate idrive 3.0. It's slow and ugly. It's dumb.

Before you attack me, remember that I'm the one who asked if a manual to DCT upgrade was possible. So compared to that question (for which I was lambasted), this one is genius!
http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=245353
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST