BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
GT Haus
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-04-2009, 11:34 PM   #1
Blake
Banned
No_Country
272

 
Drives: Chevy Aveo
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parent's Basement


Posts: 4,651
iTrader: (7)

Linksys WRT310N with DD-WRT issues

ever since i moved to my new house, my wireless signal quality has gone to the shitter. the router is only about 10 feet from where i'm sitting with no wall, but in DD-WRT signal quality stays between 30%-50%. i'm only getting about 8mbit tx/rx. i've tried nearly everything...adjusting the transfer rate +/- mW, restoring defaults, etc. i'm getting really frustrated. any suggestions?
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2009, 11:36 PM   #2
Rick
Stackin' Chips
No_Country
39

 
Rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 AW M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Monica, CA


Posts: 607
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake View Post
ever since i moved to my new house, my wireless signal quality has gone to the shitter. the router is only about 10 feet from where i'm sitting with no wall, but in DD-WRT signal quality stays between 30%-50%. i'm only getting about 8mbit tx/rx. i've tried nearly everything...adjusting the transfer rate +/- mW, restoring defaults, etc. i'm getting really frustrated. any suggestions?
Yo Blake.. have you tried changing channels? Your neighbor's wireless equipment channel may interfere with your default wireless channel.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2009, 11:37 PM   #3
radix
there's something different about him
Philippines
119

 
radix's Avatar
 
Drives: -
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: -


Posts: 896
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake View Post
ever since i moved to my new house, my wireless signal quality has gone to the shitter. the router is only about 10 feet from where i'm sitting with no wall, but in DD-WRT signal quality stays between 30%-50%. i'm only getting about 8mbit tx/rx. i've tried nearly everything...adjusting the transfer rate +/- mW, restoring defaults, etc. i'm getting really frustrated. any suggestions?

Interference? Try switching channels. Several household items operate at the 2.4GHz freq, make sure none of those items are in close proximity to the router.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2009, 11:38 PM   #4
Blake
Banned
No_Country
272

 
Drives: Chevy Aveo
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parent's Basement


Posts: 4,651
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick View Post
Yo Blake.. have you tried changing channels? Your neighbor's wireless equipment channel may interfere with your default wireless channel.
Quote:
Originally Posted by anmcguire View Post
Interference? Try switching channels. Several household items operate at the 2.4GHz freq, make sure none of those items are in close proximity to the router.
did site survey, i'm on a channel to myself.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2009, 11:40 PM   #5
Rick
Stackin' Chips
No_Country
39

 
Rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 AW M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Monica, CA


Posts: 607
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake View Post
did site survey, i'm on a channel to myself.
try changing anyways, site survey will not bring up 2.4 ghz cordless phone info.

edit: you might want to reset the router if all else fails (little button in the back)
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2009, 11:43 PM   #6
Blake
Banned
No_Country
272

 
Drives: Chevy Aveo
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parent's Basement


Posts: 4,651
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by anmcguire View Post
Then I'd start looking at interference from household devices. I'd also make sure all firmware and drivers for the router and all wireless N cards on the network is as up to date as possible. Also, are you sure your SSID is unique?
get on aim
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2009, 11:45 PM   #7
radix
there's something different about him
Philippines
119

 
radix's Avatar
 
Drives: -
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: -


Posts: 896
iTrader: (0)

Jinx.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2009, 11:52 PM   #8
jhv
Lieutenant General
No_Country
731

 
jhv's Avatar
 
Drives: Every Day
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles


Posts: 17,307
iTrader: (1)

homos
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2009, 12:46 AM   #9
Blake
Banned
No_Country
272

 
Drives: Chevy Aveo
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parent's Basement


Posts: 4,651
iTrader: (7)

stock firmware runs fast

strange...
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST