BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > General BMW News and Cars Discussion
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-31-2009, 07:40 PM   #1
erock77
New Member
 
Drives: BMW 335Ci Cabrio
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ansbach, Germany

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

Question European chip for the Radio?

How can I get my American radio to receive all european radio channels?

I've got an American spec, 2008 335CI Cabrio in Germany with a stock BMW American Radio. As European radio signals use all the frequencies, and not just the odd ones like in the US, I only get a fraction of the radio stations and none of the traffic information while I'm cruising the autobahn here. Does anyone know if there is a chip I can buy/upgrade to that will allow me to receive European radio stations? Or do i need a whole new radio? Thanks for the help/advise.
erock77 is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      02-03-2009, 07:10 PM   #2
svtfast
Captain
 
svtfast's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Space/Coral
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ft. Gordon, GA

Posts: 825
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 335i Coupe  [0.00]
Dude post this in the audio/Idrive subforum.

I am heading back to Germany this summer so we will see if mine works. All of the good stations can be had with a US radio, trust me, I spent 4 years there 04-08.
svtfast is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2009, 02:41 PM   #3
erock77
New Member
 
Drives: BMW 335Ci Cabrio
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ansbach, Germany

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the advise. I've posted this in the electronics sub-section now. There are some good channels that I can't get here in Ansbach. Just one of those things that annoy me while I drive. I also believe that the lack of a european radio receiver kills the reception of the traffic info in my NAV system. I drove a Euro model the other day and the NAV traffic info was very useful. I don't receive any info now with my US radio.
erock77 is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2009, 09:32 AM   #4
allan
Private First Class
 
allan's Avatar
 
Drives: E93, barbera/cream
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: FRG

Posts: 132
iTrader: (0)

Have '08 E93 w/o Idrive but have the same problem here in Mannheim.
Dealer told me it is not possible to change. Hate not having TP (Travel Pilot / Traffic news). Also miss out on stations.
allan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2009, 11:04 AM   #5
svtfast
Captain
 
svtfast's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i Space/Coral
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ft. Gordon, GA

Posts: 825
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 335i Coupe  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by allan View Post
Have '08 E93 w/o Idrive but have the same problem here in Mannheim.
Dealer told me it is not possible to change. Hate not having TP (Travel Pilot / Traffic news). Also miss out on stations.

LOL I am heading to Mannheim this July. I wonder why US spec radios wont pick up euro frequencies.


Hmmmm.
svtfast is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2009, 11:07 AM   #6
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

IIRC you don't need any new hardware. The radio just needs to be recoded. Someone with a GT1 should be able to do this for you...you might have to change what's called the "Vehicle Order" but I believe the unit can already receive the signals, it just needs to be told to do so. Of course, I may be mistaken, but that is what I remember.
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2009, 05:41 AM   #7
allan
Private First Class
 
allan's Avatar
 
Drives: E93, barbera/cream
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: FRG

Posts: 132
iTrader: (0)

From the web:
http://www.epanorama.net/documents/r...fferences.html

Why my radio bought from USA does not work well in Europe ?.
Radio broadcasting have differences between USA and Europe. Because of that some radios bought form USA do not work well in Europe and in the other way. This document tries to clear out what are those differences.


FM broadcasts
North American FM broadcast channels are on the odd 200KHz frequencies: 99.5MHz, 100.1MHz, etc. In Europe, channels can be on any multiple of 100KHz, even or odd.

This means that a digital tuner from the USA will not tune European stations properly, resulting in distortion. Some tuner models are switchable between the two schemes, but these are rare. Frequency synthesizing tuners in Europe do their actual tuning in shorter steps (for example 25 kHz). With analogue tuners you have no such problem because they aren't stepped anyway.

Be aware that FM stations in Europe use a different pre-emphasis than those in North America, 75 and 50 microseconds respectively.


AM broadcasts
Same for AM, the difference is 10 kHz steps in the US vs. 9 kHz steps in Europe.



To "dmurray14":
what year is/were your car when is was recoded? I was told by the mechanic at the dealership it is not possible with the e93.

.
allan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2009, 09:04 AM   #8
dmurray14
The Stig
 
dmurray14's Avatar
 
Drives: Quickly
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: US

Posts: 1,231
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by allan View Post
From the web:
http://www.epanorama.net/documents/r...fferences.html

Why my radio bought from USA does not work well in Europe ?.
Radio broadcasting have differences between USA and Europe. Because of that some radios bought form USA do not work well in Europe and in the other way. This document tries to clear out what are those differences.


FM broadcasts
North American FM broadcast channels are on the odd 200KHz frequencies: 99.5MHz, 100.1MHz, etc. In Europe, channels can be on any multiple of 100KHz, even or odd.

This means that a digital tuner from the USA will not tune European stations properly, resulting in distortion. Some tuner models are switchable between the two schemes, but these are rare. Frequency synthesizing tuners in Europe do their actual tuning in shorter steps (for example 25 kHz). With analogue tuners you have no such problem because they aren't stepped anyway.

Be aware that FM stations in Europe use a different pre-emphasis than those in North America, 75 and 50 microseconds respectively.


AM broadcasts
Same for AM, the difference is 10 kHz steps in the US vs. 9 kHz steps in Europe.



To "dmurray14":
what year is/were your car when is was recoded? I was told by the mechanic at the dealership it is not possible with the e93.

.

Sorry if I wasn't clear - I was just speculating. Never had it done. It seems like it should be possible, though. If not you would need a euro-spec CCC and have that recoded to the car.

Dan
__________________
dmurray14 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2009, 11:30 AM   #9
allan
Private First Class
 
allan's Avatar
 
Drives: E93, barbera/cream
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: FRG

Posts: 132
iTrader: (0)

I had this done with my volvo a few years ago. I got an original Volvo European Radio and it was synchronized with the car.

I tried this with my 05/08 E93 and found out that it is not possible. The computer would identify my car as a US-spec car and therefore would not allow the technician to reprogram it.
allan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
europe, radio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST