BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > General Automotive (non-BMW) Talk + Photos/Videos
 
Evolve Automotive
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-24-2008, 09:23 AM   #1
malves85
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives:
Join Date: Feb 2008

Posts: 255
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to malves85
Swapping Trannies

Just a random question out of sheer curiousity. Ive tried looking on google and here but nothing found satisfied my curiousity.
OK
Is it possible to swap transmissions?
from automatic to manual
from manual to automatic
from 5spd manual to 6spd manual

I just read a few articles and how-to's on switching from an auto to manual but that was on a car from the 60's that was completely gutted. Im curious if it can be done on modern cars. How long would it take if possible and how much would it cost?
malves85 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2008, 09:42 AM   #2
Doolab
Private
 
Drives: '96 Maxima SE 5MT, '04 MB E500
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Behind the wheel

Posts: 77
iTrader: (0)

It's generally cheaper to sell your car and buy the one you want rather than try to do a swap.
However, swaps are possible, just expensive. And often times, the change entails many other subsystems that need to be modified/replaced (depending on make/model) such as ECU replacement or reprogramming, clutch pedal addition/deletion, flywheel replacement (again depends on make/model), tranny oil cooler addition, plus other things that just surprise you that you never thought about before...
Doolab is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2008, 10:00 AM   #3
atr_hugo
No longer moderate
 
atr_hugo's Avatar
 
Drives: SWB 335i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: -

Posts: 4,247
iTrader: (0)

It's much harder to do on modern cars with the coupled software between automatic trannies and the engine ECUs. Can it be done? Yes. What will it cost? Ha!! ; -)
atr_hugo is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2008, 10:10 AM   #4
ScottyGams
Uber-Lee7 Member
 
ScottyGams's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NYC

Posts: 1,440
iTrader: (2)

i was waiting for this thread...

next one im waiting for...

"is it possible to just add 2 turbos to a 128 and get a 135?"
ScottyGams is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2008, 10:40 AM   #5
rdkind62
Second Lieutenant
 
rdkind62's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335is
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Colorado Springs, CO.

Posts: 203
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottyGams View Post
i was waiting for this thread...

next one im waiting for...

"is it possible to just add 2 turbos to a 128 and get a 135?"
You can, right?
__________________
BMW 335is, Le Mans blue with Black Dakota leather, Convenience and Premium packages, 19" wheels, 7 speed DCT, heated seats, Nav., Harmon Kardon Logic 7 stereo w/ Satellite radio.
rdkind62 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2008, 06:21 PM   #6
malves85
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives:
Join Date: Feb 2008

Posts: 255
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to malves85
rdkind you should create another post with that question and dedicate it to scottygams :-P

So swapping a tranny will cost a shit load. how much about? 10k, 20k, 50k?
How about you get a manual with 5 gears and want to throw another gear on there. that 5spd just makes you deaf when cruising at 4k or 5k rpm and you want to make it a 6spd. can you throw on another clutch, flywheel etc.. or you have to get a whole new tranny?
malves85 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2008, 06:24 PM   #7
atr_hugo
No longer moderate
 
atr_hugo's Avatar
 
Drives: SWB 335i
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: -

Posts: 4,247
iTrader: (0)

Generally a whole new tranny - but you're dealing with serious hot-rod/racing stuff here, custom bell housings, plumbing and if you're dealing with computer controlled tranny's and engines you've got a whole 'nother layer of complications.

It woudln't be pretty, but given enough cubic dollars you can do dam near anything!!
atr_hugo is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2008, 07:12 PM   #8
kevintran
Enlisted Member
 
Drives:
Join Date: Mar 2008

Posts: 45
iTrader: (0)

It really depends on the car and the compatibility of the engines/trannys from the manufacture. With my car, Honda removed a gear from their 6 speed tranny so I just have to add the 6 gear in the casing, designed as a 6 speed, and swap out a couple other things like final drive. However if the transmission was designed as a 5 speed, you need to swap the tranny itself.

From auto to manual: I know a guy who had an auto 318i (e36) and swapped in an e36 m3 engine and transmission. As for linkages, i think he used a 318 manual for parts. Do'nt think the cost for a 135 to do that is would be affordable among most.
kevintran is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-26-2008, 11:44 PM   #9
Mad Dragon
.
 
Mad Dragon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 GTI
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MD

Posts: 932
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdkind62 View Post
You can, right?
No.
Mad Dragon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST